We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friday Night Drink”
Review of The Ale House

The Ale House
Ranked #3 of 4 Bars & Pubs in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Pub was very small and not particularly friendly, no atmosphere, barmaid was pleasant enough, seemed a pub more for locals rather than visitors. Beer was ok but probably would visit again

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Service
Thank Colette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2018

Called at lunchtime a few days ago, for a couple of drinks - the beer and wine were both OK. However my wife reported that the toilets were disgusting even though this was the start of the day! Consequently food was not considered.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Owner at The Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

Hi Trevor. Thank you for your feedback. Our toilet is something we are aware of and currently waiting for a date for it to be refurbished. Also we are installing a separate ladies cubicle upstairs. Thank you for baring with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Always came here, now Craft Ales and expensive. Lost its appeal for a traditional beer drinker. For example some beers £5.50 a pint

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank pierreleg2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Owner at The Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2018

We are sorry you found it this way. Chieftain is a premium IPA and is our only pint at £5.50. All of our remaining ales and lagers are around the £4.10. We do hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

Located on York Street is The Ale House that has a good selection of beers and ales. Just had a pint. Very nice beer. Seating outside. Would come back.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank rayrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

The place is really in the center and has nice atmosphere but the ale which I bought as it is a local one was poor in quality as if something like water mixed with it.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Cansu Ö
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ale House also viewed

 

Been to The Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing