We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother”
Review of Redcar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Redcar Hotel
Ranked #32 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Dreadful place. The location is really good but that's it folks. Very run down, curtains hanging off rails, holes in walls walls all marked and threadbare carpet. Staff slovenly and not interested. Although there is a restaurant offered for breakfast it's cereal and nothing more. Even staff don't recommend it.
The bedding was clean as well as the bath towels although bathroom was under par.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

597 - 601 of 826 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

Came to Bath to watch the rugby with my wife - Hotel had the location and parking- (that is about it) - very poor state - cracked floor tiles- damaged walls - Hotel needs to be sold and developed ASAP - Avoid this so called hotel !

Room Tip: Noisey rooms facing the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mankx m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We came to this hotel as a group of girls for one night, we knew it wouldn't be great but didn't think it would be that bad. There was no electricity when we got there, not the hotels fault but still not great.
It's dated, broken, (literally everything in the hotel is broken or wonky) very tired and very smelly. There was no breakfast in January and February?? The guy in reception was rude and unprofessional he was wandering around reception swearing to himself! Only good thing to say was location is great and it was cheap! stay here with caution, it is as bad as people say!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biancaahudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Having read the reviews of previous travellers I was apprehensive about our 1 night stay at this hotel, this was part of my wife's birthday treat along with the panto and meal.
The fact that it was in a good location and had car parking let 'my heart rule my head' in ignoring the previous reviews and making the booking. The receptionist was also helpful and friendly, end of the good points.
I can confirm that the room was small despite having a four poster (wedged up), a mismatch of bedroom furniture 'set' all at different angles, tepid water for shower or bath, creeky floorboards and uncomfortable bed decor generally poor and a musty snmell thoughout the hotel.
I was advised that there was no breakfast available January and February and no draught beers at the bar.

The owners need to decide if they are happy to keep getting negative reviews or allow
someone else to take over this hotel and spend the money to turn this hotel into a good business opportunity (as previously stated in a previous review).
We will not being staying here again unless there is a major refurbishment!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IvanR321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Thank god was only staying for one night, the bed was hard and lumpy, the carpet was stained. The room was in need of a major update and clean.
In such a great location, could be a little gem.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 km away
Travelodge Bath Central
12.0 km away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 34 in Bath
191 reviews
0.8 km away
Travelodge Bath Waterside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
2.9 km away
Old Mill Hotel
Old Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Batheaston
1,177 reviews
0.7 km away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redcar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redcar Hotel

Address: 27-29 Henrietta Street, Bath BA2 6LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Price Range: €69 - €117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Redcar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Redcar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redcar Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing