We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,445)
Filter reviews
1,445 results
Traveller rating
708
475
170
51
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
708
475
170
51
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station cream tea wowcher deal travelling by train bath spa railway station ground coffee breakfast and dinner manvers street superior room spa package roman baths thermae spa biscuits restaurant staff excellent location lovely hotel eggs benedict
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,445 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018

The Royal stands opposite the station so is easily accessible for those travelling by rail and it is an easy walk to places of interest in Bath or to take a river trip.Considering its central position it is not a noisy hotel and is easily accessible with a lift. Breakfasts are cooked to order and unless you want to find alternative places to dine, then the Dinner menu is recommended

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

We visited on a leisure break for 2 nights dinner B&B which was good value. The staff were very welcoming and helpful throughout and the bedroom was comfortable and thought the tea/coffee/biscuits in the bedroom were excellent quality and much appreciated. Food was generally good, though always quite a long wait. However we were not impressed with the duck confit - dry and chewy. The hotel is very convenient for the station and there is a good bus service right outside should you need it. Our room was at the side and we were not disturbed by trains as we had feared!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sophage60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Thank you for your review following your stay at The Royal Hotel.

I am grateful to you for your kind compliments regarding our staff and your bedroom.

With reference to your comments regarding your meals, I apologise that you felt that the service was a little slow but our food is freshly prepared and served at a leisurely pace unless otherwise requested. With regards to the duck confit, I am sorry that it was not to your liking but I am glad you were offered a replacement.

We do hope that on your next visit to Bath that you will stay at The Royal again and we look forward to seeing you then.

Mike MacDermid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

Two night weekend stay end of August for three of our family. You literally fall out of Bath Spa station into the hotel, so not far to wheel your cases. The close proximity to transport (both bus and train stations on doorstep) and the central location close to all the major sites and tours of Bath must make this a strong selling point. Rooms were comfortable, if a bit dated (wallpaper looked like it had not been changed since Brunel designed the place), and we had a bit of a battle trying not to get scalded by boiling hot water due to a dodgy shower temperature lever. However the bed was more than comfortable, and the room had a decent telly and tea & coffee facilities. One just has to live with the rowdy outside noise from weekend revellers around the station area - and you will get this in any central city location in England on a Friday and Saturday night - so factor it in.
What makes this place stand out is the Brasserie Brunel restaurant - make sure you have at least one meal there. Our Friday evening dinner was superb (and good value) - my chicken came in an exquisite sauce, as did my wife's pork belly and son's steak - and all beautifully cooked and presented. The puddings were great too! Breakfasts were very good indeed - the full English grill will set you up for the day nicely. The bar area was very cosy and well stocked.
To top it all the staff were friendly, helpful, full of suggestions and tips, and had time for their customers. A great place for a Bath visit, and the customers shall keep coming I am sure.

Room Tip: Book the discounted meal deal the hotel offers to guests - well worth it.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 2Sweeties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Thank you for your review and your complimentary comments regarding your stay.

I am pleased to note that you found your room comfortable. Every room at The Royal is individually decorated in keeping with the age and character of the hotel and we do retain the services of a designer to this effect. However, we do appreciate that decor is a very personal choice and our style may not be to everyone’s liking.

With regards to the shower, I confirm our maintenance department have attended to this and thank you for bringing it to our attention.

I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your dinner in Brasserie Brunel and our award winning breakfast.

We very much look forward to seeing you again.

Mike MacDermid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Very convenient location, particularly for train travel and access to the city centre. Extremely lovely, helpful staff. Good sized, clean rooms. Great restaurant (breakfast and dinner taken on this visit for 5 adults with various dietary requirements). Highly recommended - will definitely visit again!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Tooflet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

We had a room on the first floor overlooking the street and opposite the station. When we raised our concerns about overlooking the street we were told it was near a dead end and shouldn’t be a problem. Well it was. While there are double glaze windows that can be opened or closed, we needed to open the outer windows to get some air, as there is no air-conditioning. When we asked if we could be moved, we were told no other room was available.

When we went down to have dinner in the dining room, we were advised we would have to wait for three quarters of an hour, even though the dining room was virtually empty. Thanks to the lady behind the bar outside, we discovered we couldhave a meal in the bar area, which we did. We ate elsewhere the next night.

To be fair, apart from the incididents referred to above, the staff were very good and helpful. The bathroom was great with plenty of room, towels and soap. We appreciated the chocolates and biscuits left in our room.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel.
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gesmi2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatronHandR, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Thank you for your review following your stay at The Royal Hotel.

I am grateful to you for your kind compliments regarding our staff and your bathroom together with the little extras that we offer.

The Royal Hotel is a Grade II listed building and, therefore, due to planning constraints we are unable to install air conditioning, however, we do supply fans for all rooms.

I am sorry that you were unable to eat in our restaurant. At the time of your visit a large number of tables were reserved for a group who were running late. However, I was delighted that you had your meal in our bar area as our restaurant menu is available in the bar. I apologise if the restaurant staff did not make this clear at the time.

Mike MacDermid
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews