We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be 6 star!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Roseate Villa Bath
Ranked #12 of 159 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2013

My wife and I had the immense pleasure of staying at the Villa Magdala last weekend. Kim and her team are outstanding. From the very warm welcome on arrival accompanied by tea and cake to the moment we left, nothing was too much trouble. Our room (22) was superb in all respects. There is nothing that they can do to improve this gem. They should be 6 star! They are head and shoulders above any comparable place that we have stayed. Despite the fact that this recommendation will potentially hinder future visits for us the truth must out. Too often these days accommodation can be lack lustre, not the Villa Magdala. The owners can take pride in a great place, well run and beautifully presented. Thanks to all concerned for a wonderful weekend in Bath.

Room Tip: If all the rooms are of equal standard to 22 then any one will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wellsman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Bath, myself and the staff appreciate your comments, it makes the world of difference, they will be thrilled when I show them your review. You must come and stay when the weather is a bit warmer next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,761)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,458 - 1,462 of 1,761 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2013

I came to Bath to unwind and relax after a few exhausting months. I selected Villa Magdala based on the rave reviews on Trip Advisor and its location. I was not disappointed. The welcome is warm and friendly. They are truly accommodating and make it clear from the start of your stay that if you have any queries or concerns then you are to let them know. I was upgraded to Room 18 which was gorgeous. The colour scheme was vey relaxing and it was tastefully decorated. I was also left a small box of chocolates which I must say I enjoyed, even more so as I didn't have to share them ;o). (If you are a huge fan of Jane Austen or Georgette Heyer the landing has some wonderful Regency portraits!) The bathroom was immaculate and the power shower easy to operate. The towels were lovely and fluffy and there was an option to be provided with a bathrobe and slippers at an extra charge of £5.00. I was staying for two nights and had every intention of relaxing during my stay so I opted for the bathrobe and slippers and am very glad I did. I slept well and when I went down to breakfast was offered an incredible selection from Porridge with scented Honey to Kippers or a Full English. I opted for Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon and it was delicious. I was also offered a glass of Bucks Fizz but declined due to January Detox and opted for a pot of tea instead. All in all I loved it at Villa Magdala and have every intention of returning again.

Room Tip: I honestly think that you could be happy in any room here and am confident that if there was an issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleepymummyoftwoboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Manager at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Thank you so much for your review! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your detox couple of days away without the children, and I do hope you book to come and stay for your Birthday next year with your family and friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

My wife and I booked this hotel at short notice, through the ‘Visit Bath’ website as our flight and trip to Rome were cancelled due to snow. We are now glad our trip to Rome was cancelled! Upon arrival at the Vila Magdala we knew that we had landed on our feet. Met by the lovely Katerina in reception, we were given a friendly, warm welcome and served tea and cake - much appreciated after a snowy drive.

Our room was large, very comfortable and we could not fault it. On the first night our radiator valve started to malfunction and we could not turn the heating down. Rather than report it that night (it was late when we got back in) and have to change rooms, we opened the windows and then reported it the next morning and it was fixed immediately.

Breakfast was a joy, with a really tasty and varied menu on offer - complete with complimentary Bucks Fizz - a nice touch. You could easily last from breakfast till dinner without having to eat in-between, even if you were walking around all day, as we were. Also we were served hands on by John - the joint owner of the hotel, giving a personal touch, often lacking in many hotels. That said; all of the staff were attentive, friendly and helpful throughout. I personally do not normally remember the names of people well on first encounter, but the fact that I still recall quite clearly the names of most of the staff (The owners – John and Amanda and the ladies that waited on us in the morning (Kim, Agnes and Chrissie) tells you something about the friendliness of this hotel.

To walk into the centre of Bath takes less than a 5 minute leisurely stroll. But although the hotel is in a very central location, it is also quiet and we were never disturbed by noise at all during our 3 night stay.

The Hotel has a lovely ambiance and was decorated and furnished to a very high standard throughout (I even saw a painter routinely touching up the white bits whilst we were there to ensure it stays immaculate) .

The staff were the best we have encountered in UK - service with a smile indeed. If you needed a recommendation for a restaurant they were happy to oblige and also willing to contact the restaurants and make reservations on your behalf if you so wished. The best restaurant we went to 'Soto Soto' was recommended by the hotel staff and we are very grateful for their recommendation.

We would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending the Villa Magdala to anyone looking to stay in Bath. However I would say it would not be the best place for Hens or Stag groups to stay - it is in a quiet location and that is a big part of the attraction. For families, couples, and solo travellers, it is ideal. Oh - by the way - if you are a dog lover make sure you get to meet the hotel dog 'Billy. He is just like the hotel - adorable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mac3561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Wow! What can I say to this review except a huge thank you for taking the time to write at such length. All the staff are so delighted that you remembered their names too. We are all pleased that your flight was cancelled too! Please do come back when the weather is better and see Bath at its best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

This is a friendly and smart hotel which is warm and comfortable. The selection of food at breakfast was excellent, and everything was well cooked and promptly served. Not many hotels include Bucks Fizz for breakfast! The location is very convenient and there is easy parking. I am reluctant to post this review in case I can't get a booking next time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontpellierOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Thank you for this! Don't worry - we always try to find rooms for such lovely guests! If we can't help at weekends then mid-week is a great time to visit Bath when everything is just a little bit quieter. Do come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Villa Magdala is a beautiful hotel (boutique B@B) located very near to the centre of Bath. The city and all the points of interest are in easy walking distance. Just opposite of Villa Magdala is the Henrietta Park.
Although very near in the centre of Bath Villa Magdala is in a very quiet location.
The rooms are very clean and spacious . The refurbishment of the house is doen with an eye for every detail.
Very friendly and helpfull staff and owners.
Excelent breakfast (cooked to order ) even with champagne!

Room Tip: most rooms have double beds : only the best rooms have twin beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnJohn28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. It is always so helpful for other guests to re-assured that we are very close to the centre of the city - yet in a quiet spot opposite Henrietta Park. Glad you enjoyed the Buck's Fizz too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2.7 km away
Apsley House Hotel
0.8 km away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 32 in Bath
1,312 reviews
2.3 km away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.8 km away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#10 of 32 in Bath
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roseate Villa Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roseate Villa Bath

Address: Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LX, England (Formerly Villa at Henrietta Park)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: €124 - €329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Roseate Villa Bath 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute level stroll to the centre of Bath with all its attractions, The Roseate Villa Bath is a handsome Victorian townhouse, set within its own gardens with an off-street car-park. So close to the heart of the city, yet the hotel is in a quiet road, opposite leafy Henrietta Park, so none of the usual late night city noise to disturb a blissful night's sleep. 21 stylishly refurbished bedrooms offer a 5 star rated boutique experience, with heavenly Hypnos beds, double or superking size, with feather light goose down duvets and crisp cotton bed linen. Well-equipped bathrooms include fluffy bath sheets, and luxury toiletries. Gourmet breakfasts are served in a light, airy ground floor dining room, overlooking the park, all freshly cooked to order from a range of quality locally-sourced ingredients. Marry all this with a team of friendly, quietly efficient staff, ready to recommend and book all kinds of entertainment for you - a truly charming and characterful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Roseate Villa Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Magdala Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing