We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Roseate Villa Bath
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2012

My wife and I stayed last weekend, arriving very wet and windswept but the warm welcome by Agnes with the offer of a cup of tea and a slice of cake set the scene for a lovely stay.
We stayed in a 'good' room (excellent by other standards) - decor was fresh and light, bed was lovely, ensuite was immaculately clean.
All the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly, breakfast was excellent - fresh and good portions (fresh salmon on scrambled eggs a notable favourite of my wife!)

Location is excellent - max 5 minute walk to the city centre/Abbey.

Only 'downside', we didn't see Billy the Dog, but it was cold and wet outside so he was probably tucked up somewhere nice and warm inside, don't blame him!

Thank you everyone at Villa Magdala for a lovely stay, hopefully see you soon - hope Agnes didn't eat all the chocolates:)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Chocolates? What chocolates? The culprit was either Agnes or Billy! No, only joking - what a lovely kind gesture of you - we all enjoyed them with our morning coffee! Come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,575 - 1,579 of 1,755 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

An outstanding 5 star experience in a 5 star city. Set in a perfect location opposite a park and 5 minutes to city centre. Breakfast, service, rooms and decor were perfect. A must for visitors to Bath to complete the perfect stay. Cosy guest house but with all the trimmings. No pool but who needs a pool in Bath, go to the local spa and soak in 8,000 year old warm water. Probably more suited for couples / business rather than kids because there is no playground. Car parking on the grounds. Very friendly and helpful staff. I will definately come to this beautiful city and hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dude6988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

We'll look forward to welcoming you again! Thank you for the positive feed-back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We have had three visits over the past five years. Not sure what to expect when we heard they had new owners, but still worth it's five stars. Can't wait to see our favourite room after its spring refurbishment! Just park the car and walk everywhere. Couldn't be a better location.

Stayed: October 2011
Thank Ros G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Hope you make it four soon! We'd love to hear your views on the new decor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I spent two nights in the Villa Magdela this weekend with my girlfriend and a few other couples (late twenties/early thirties). Between us we booked a mixture of the Best rooms and the Good rooms. The decor was very chic and tasteful and every room had its own unique style and layout. The Best rooms were also very spacious, which was particularly good for our friends who brought their young baby. We had breakfast both days and it was lovely - good size portions of full english and the eggs benedict was also lovely. Throughout the weekend the staff were really helpful and friendly, even when we lost our room key, and they also allowed us to book out the dining room for a few hours in the early evening for a quick celebratory toast (for a joint birthday). Overall, it was an excellent B&B and for a price equivalent to the Hilton and other generic chains it's in a different league. I wouldn't hesistate to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tyar82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

So glad you all had a good time despite the rain! But the Thermae Spa is great whatever the weather. Please come back again and bring that gorgeous little baby too! Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for a two night break in one of the 'best' rooms. We absolutely loved it! Location is excellent- so close to the city centre yet on a lovely quiet street overlooking Henrietta Park. Villa Magdala is beautifully decorated and AMAZINGLY clean! It's absolutely spotless. The owners and staff are ever so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good and plenty of choice.
We weren't leaving Bath until the afternoon and you have to check out by 11 but they very kindly kept our luggage until we left. They also kept our luggage on arrival as well as we arrived earlier than the check-in time. They also very kindly offered us tea or coffee both times. They are more than accommodating.
Well done to all of you at Villa Magdala and we will definitely be returning! Thank you ever so much for a wonderful stay :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaisieD1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheVM, Owner at The Roseate Villa Bath, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Our housekeeping team were thrilled with this review! Thank you so much - the dusting and vacuuming was done with renewed vigour after they had read this. So nice that their hard work was appreciated! Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2.7 km away
Apsley House Hotel
0.8 km away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,313 reviews
2.3 km away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.8 km away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 34 in Bath
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roseate Villa Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roseate Villa Bath

Address: Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LX, England (Formerly Villa at Henrietta Park)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: €128 - €336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Roseate Villa Bath 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 5 minute level stroll to the centre of Bath with all its attractions, The Roseate Villa Bath is a handsome Victorian townhouse, set within its own gardens with an off-street car-park. So close to the heart of the city, yet the hotel is in a quiet road, opposite leafy Henrietta Park, so none of the usual late night city noise to disturb a blissful night's sleep. 21 stylishly refurbished bedrooms offer a 5 star rated boutique experience, with heavenly Hypnos beds, double or superking size, with feather light goose down duvets and crisp cotton bed linen. Well-equipped bathrooms include fluffy bath sheets, and luxury toiletries. Gourmet breakfasts are served in a light, airy ground floor dining room, overlooking the park, all freshly cooked to order from a range of quality locally-sourced ingredients. Marry all this with a team of friendly, quietly efficient staff, ready to recommend and book all kinds of entertainment for you - a truly charming and characterful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Roseate Villa Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Magdala Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing