We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend!”
Review of Tasburgh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tasburgh House
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic weekend!”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

What a find! Tasburgh House is just beautiful. Attention to detail within is superb both in decor and service, the staff friendly and helpful and the setting and views are wonderful! It seemed like nothing was too much trouble.
We had a twin room with a bath and separate shower in the ensuite. I had two of the best night's sleep I've had in a long time - rather unusual when staying away from home! The room had everything you could want and the breakfast was superb. We chose to have the continental breakfast and there was more than enough to keep us filled throughout the day and an excellent selection too!
This was a fantastic girlie weekend but a romantic weekend with my husband at Tasburgh House would be lovely too!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    121
    37
    15
    10
See reviews for
191
459
40
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upper Caldecote
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We recently arrived in Bath and having had no luck in finding somewhere in the centre to stay decided to drive a little way out of the city. It was our luck to come across Tasburgh House where we were met by Sue and given a choice of rooms. We chose Tennyson on the top floor as it has a bath and ashower cubicle and a view and booked for 3 nights. It was by now quite late and Sue immediately arranged to find us somewhere to eat. After a most comfortable night and delicious breakfast we asked if we could stay for 6 nights and we spent a wonderful week exploring the area.
Sue and Antonia were always on hand to help with ideas for our stay and restaurants.
We loved every minute of our time at Tasburgh and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alfred111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan K, Owner at Tasburgh House, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for going to the trouble of writing this lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to offer you what you were looking for. Thank you so much.

Sue Keeling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

The Tasburgh House Hotel caught me by surprise because it is so good. I arrived tired after a long journey focusing on my work. The welcome by Sue and Antonia was genuinely warm and friendly. The wine and breakfasts were just superb and at a standard I haven't seen in 5* hotels. I stayed during a business trip and just felt at home. The building and fabric are a delight. Great care has been taken with the details and it was lovely to find another surprise around each corner to intrigue and enjoy. Everything is quality. The Hotel is ideally suited to couples taking time away together and to enjoy Bath. The hotel is elegant, comfortable and relaxing. The Tasburgh House Hotel is a fine example of an English, independently run hotel. Booking was easy and the price was good value. One of the few hotels I will look forward to returning to and just enjoying. I will take my wife there in Spring to enjoy the hotel and Bath. Sue clearly knew which pubs and restaurants to recommend.

Room Tip: Ask Sue, though all the rooms are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I would have liked to be able to give this guest house a higher rating, but despite a wonderful welcome and excellent service, there were niggles. The main issue I have is that for what is essentially a guest house offering bed and breakfast, it is overpriced. For that reason it seemed a little mean to be charging extra for a cooked breakfast and even 60 pence (+cost) to provide a newspaper. The location is perfect and the centre of Bath is an easy walk alongside the canal. It is important to realise that although the grounds reach down to the canal, accessing the towpath is only feasible when the grass is completely dry; unless you don't mind going into the city in wellies! The views from the rear of the house are panoramic and there is ample seating on the terrace and gardens to enjoy the location - the website could be updated to show this off and perhaps after 5 years it may be time to drop the story of the 'Hotel Inspector'!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mrsorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

This is a special place to stay if you seek quality accommodation and a warm welcome. I stayed in the single and very compact Dickens room for one night only and would stay here again if I have the opportunity. The only criticism of this gorgeous room is that there is little space for your suitcase. If you enjoy photography you'll love the home's history. I thoroughly enjoyed seeing Bath at sunset from the vantage points near Tasburgh and the Tasburgh's extensive garden and terrace. The walk into town is downhill and only took 15 very scenic minutes.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pv_3181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.6 km away
The Roseate Villa Bath
2.2 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.5 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Bailbrook House Hotel
3.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
2.3 km away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tasburgh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tasburgh House

Property: Tasburgh House
Address: Warminster Road, Bath BA2 6SH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#3 Family Hotel in Bath
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#6 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:5 star — Tasburgh House 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated on the doorstep of Bath, Tasburgh House offers affordable luxury and idyllic tranquility. The five star Victorian Boutique Hotel boasts stunning accommodation and the views over the rolling Somerset hills are equally as magnificent. Guests can walk through the seven acres of beautiful gardens and terraces and access the canal tow path, leading into the Heritage City of Bath. A light and seasonal supper menu is served Tuesday-Saturday evenings. The hotel offers free WiFi, and has a fully licensed bar for drinks to be enjoyed anywhere on the premises. Your stay at Tasburgh House is guaranteed to be a peaceful and memorable one. All rooms host extremely comfortable beds, powerful showers and luxurious towels. Staff are always on hand to offer advice, book taxis or recommend restaurants. Call direct for the best available rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Tasburgh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tasburgh House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing