We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,298)
Filter reviews
1,299 results
Traveller rating
329
486
297
114
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
486
297
114
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hop pole inn wedding coordinator lovely old building wedding venue buffet style minute drive bit dated lovely hotel water pressure local pub kippers stayed for one night two night stay tea and coffee short break lovely room visit bath
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 1,299 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

It's a little bit difficult to find but it's well worth it. I believe that this hotel was built in the late 1700's so it's not without its quirks, the room was okay, the bathroom good the shower worked well, amenities adequate, lots of tea and coffee available in the room and the breakfast had a good selection and was pleasant. What we loved were the grounds and gardens, we enjoyed a drink outside and we're thrilled that we got to watch the hot air balloons go by just on dusk and it was absolutely delightful, it is a three star hotel so we were very pleasantly surprised at how good it was. We took this hotel for what it was and we would gladly stay again. Everything was in our favour, the weather was perfect, the scenery was perfect, it was peak season so the price was good compared to other hotels in the Bath area. The staff were pleasant, it was easy to park, in short we had a great time and it was a very pleasant stay in a charming location.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank princessPaddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Dear PrincessPaddington,
Thank you for your review following your stay at the Limpley Stoke Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the charm of our gorgeous Georgian premises and your experience with us was very pleasant. It is our priority to offer high quality services and facilities in order to provide our guests a fantastic experience and I am happy to read this had been the case. Overlooking the Limpley Stoke Valley, our Hotel is only at four miles from the centre of Bath, and is ideal for a calm vacation near the city. We offer a vast selection of well-equipped and comfortable accommodation, with comfortable rooms kept to excellent standards of cleanliness. Also, we offer a variety of choices in our Breakfast, Bar and Restaurant menus, made with fresh, locally sourced ingredients.
Your feedback is important to us and I will pass your review to our friendly and commended team. Once again, thanks for choosing us. Should you visit the area again (we’re located at four miles from the city centre), we will be glad to welcome you back at the Hotel. Please don’t forget to book direct for the best rate.

Best regards,
Laura
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

Nice place, but remote location. It seemed to take ages to get to, through winding single track roads. The bed was very comfortable and the food pretty good, with the option of either the bar menu or restaurant menu, wherever you dined.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank mikeleigh2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Dear Mikeleigh2018,

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at the Limpley stoke Hotel. I am glad to read you found the facilities and our highly praised Bar and Restaurant menus (made with fresh and locally sourced ingredients) to your liking. At the Limpley Stoke Hotel we offer a selection of well-equipped, comfortable rooms, kept to excellent standards of cleanliness by our commended housekeeping staff in order to provide our guests a pleasant experience. Ideal for a countryside getaway near the city, the Hotel is located at only four miles from the centre of Bath, accessible by car and bus (the D1 First Bus services are at only five minutes from our premises). Besides this, we offer free car parking spaces for our guests.
Your feedback is important to us as it helps us to improve and I will pass your review to our friendly team.
Once again, thanks for choosing us. Should you visit the area again (we’re located at four miles from the city centre), we will be glad to welcome you back at the Hotel. Please don’t forget to book direct for the best rate.

Best regards,
Laura
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

Only stayed one night, but I was impressed with with the facade and internal cleanliness, the staff were pleasant and helpful. Had Hake and chips in our room, very well cooked, proper chips not these frozen rubbish, breakfast was also very good, mixture of English and continental. My wife left her earrings in the bathroom, contacted by manager from hotel, arranged to send them by post, by recorded delivery.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank keithjoyce2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Dear Keithjoyce2,
Thank you for your review following your stay at the Limpley Stoke Hotel. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay at our gorgeous Georgian building located near Bath and that you found our premises and the food from our highly praised menu (made with fresh and locally sourced ingredients) to your liking. I will pass your compliments to our friendly and commended staff at the kitchen. It is our priority all our guests have a pleasant experience and this is why we make sure we provide high quality products and services. Also, I am happy to read that your wife’s earrings have been found and securely delivered to your home.

Once again, thanks for choosing us. Should you visit the area again (we’re located at four miles from the city centre), we will be glad to welcome you back at the Hotel. Please don’t forget to book direct for the best rate.

Best regards,
Laura
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

Traditional country house experience, a large old mansion style of hotel, probably seen better days, but still has a great atmosphere. The rooms were very well maintained and comfortable, some looked as though recently renovated. Good space in some rooms, easy walk in shower, plenty of hot water.

The breakfast was good, particularly the cooked food which was tasty and kept warm.
I did think the choice of fruit, grapefruit and little oranges plus prunes, a little old fashioned. Would like to see pineapple, pears, melons, peaches etc.

Evening meals were good quality with reasonable prices and choices.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful, particularly at reception and in restaurant.
Did find it disappointing that bar could not offer coffees after the restaurant had closed.

I would rate this hotel as a good 3 star standard.

The location is quiet and peaceful in country setting in centre of attractive village of Limpley Stoke only a few miles outside of Bath. Good half hourly bus service into Bath city centre from bus stop located only five minutes from the hotel, it's not worth using the car.

Room tip: Room with king bed, our room number 61 was quite spacious with two windows for good ventilation
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Davidfrost63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Dear Davidfrost63,

Thank you for your review following your stay at the Limpley Stoke Hotel. I am glad to read you enjoyed the location of our gorgeous 17th century building, overlooking the stunning Limpley Stoke Valley. Indeed, the Hotel is situated only four miles from the centre of Bath and is ideal for a countryside getaway near the city. Should our guests visit Bath or other locations in Wiltshire it is possible to either book a taxi or access the D1 First bus services at only a five-minutes’ walking distance from our premises. We also offer a free car parking service at the hotels.

It is our priority to make sure our guests have a pleasant experience with us by providing them high quality services and facilities. This includes our selection of our comfortable and well-equipped bedrooms and our highly praised bar and restaurant and breakfast menus, made with fresh, locally sourced ingredients (which I am happy to read it was to your liking). Also, should our guests need assistant our friendly team at reception is willing to go the extra mile and assist where possible.

Your feedback is important to us as it helps us to improve. I will pass your review to our staff who will take note of it and will inspect in more detail the issues noted in your comment.
Once again, thank you for choosing us. Should you visit the area again, we will be more than pleased to welcome you back at the Limpley Stoke Hotel. Please don’t forget to book direct for the best rates.

Best regards,
Laura
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Escape to the countryside, beautiful location. Great for a 3 star hotel. Beautiful views. Bus isn't very reliable to the city centre of Bath but a taxi is around £13. Nearby pub does a great lunch. Stayed for my birthday and it was very relaxing. Bath is a great city, I will be returning for sure

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LatonaLeisureGroup, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear Julie F,
Thanks for your feedback following your stay at the Limpley Stoke Hotel. I am glad to read you enjoyed your vacation with us and I would like to thank you for choosing us for such a special occasion as it is your birthday. It is our priority to make sure our guests have a pleasant, relaxing experience with us and I am happy this had been the case.
Indeed, our charming 17th century building overlooking the stunning Limpley Stoke Valley is ideal for a calm getaway in the countryside. Should our visitors want to visit Bath (only four miles from our hotel) or any other stunning locations in Wiltshire such as Bradford on Avon or Salisbury they could use the D1 First Bus services at only five minutes from our premises, or booking a taxi (which costs approx. £13).

Once again, thanks for choosing us and I will pass your review along to our team. Should you visit the area again, we will be more than pleased to welcome you back. Please don’t forget to book direct for the best rates.

Best regards,
Laura
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews