We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,433)
Filter reviews
1,433 results
Traveller rating
1,200
200
20
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,200
200
20
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parking permit great pulteney street madeleines beaufort room top floor no lift black pudding city centre four poster georgian building flights of stairs box of chocolates street parking kippers charming hotel full english breakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,433 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights for a Uni reunion. Parking permit for the whole time meant the car could be parked safely just outside. Great Pulteney Street is so close to the City centre. Staff couldn't be more friendly, every one of them. Highly recommend a stay.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank wpowell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the ‘highly recommended’ commendation. We are ideally located for those visiting Bath University – in fact students walk past our front door on a daily basis. We have become the ‘overnight stay’ of choice for many students and Uni visitors alike. As you note we offer all our guests a complimentary parking permit for the duration of their stay with us. Not only does our permit offer a considerable saving over municipal fees we also find our guests tend to ‘park up’ with ease normally in very close proximity to Dukes (bar Uni open day, start day and Bath rugby matches!!) Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

My wife and I are currently staying here and love it. It is quite a beautiful historical house and although a few stairs not as many as our Welsh accomodation and Luke at reception is quite helpful and willing to carry up bags if needed.
An excellent location enables us to walk everywhere but it is still quiet enough for us to enjoy peace at night. All of the staff are helpful and breakfast is delicious.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Our location, a 5minute level stroll along arguably the finest Georgian boulevard is ideal. Whether an early morning walk or a late night return from dinner Great Pulteney Street offers an uplifting vista that embraces much of all that makes Bath a World Heritage Site. We take enormous pride in our cooked to order breakfast, recognising it as the most enjoyable meal of the day. An ideal ‘set up for the day’ experience. As you note we are supported by a superb team of personable, welcoming people who enjoy Bath as their home and have a natural eagerness to share their enthusiasm with all who visit. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here in September having never visited Bath before. The woman at the front desk was very helpful in pointing us in the right direction and offering to stow our bags until we checked in later that day. When we returned we found our bags had already been carried up to our room. The room itself was large and beautiful and the bed was quite comfortable. The continental breakfast offered many options and would have been ample by itself, but the fact that there were hot options as well made it a real value. The location is a short walk from the train station, Abbey, Baths, and Pump House as well. I can’t say enough complimentary things about this place and I thank them for helping make our first trip to Bath unforgettable.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Conor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Delighted that we were able to help enhance your visit to Bath. As a small independent with only 17 bedrooms we like to attend to each and every one of our guests. Our location a 5 minute level stroll from the heart of the city is ideal offering easy access and a peaceful night sleep undisturbed by late night revellers. Many thanks for a kind and generous review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

Just a short stroll from the centre of Bath with lots of restaurants close by. Staff were amazing, very friendly and helpful. We had one of the smaller rooms at the top of the hotel and had been warned in advance of the stairs and the size of the room but both were absolutely fine for a 2 night stay. The only slight negative was that wi-fi in the room was impossible to get (but it was fine in other parts of the hotel, including the reception).

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonandVib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Wow! We set out to offer our guests a clutch of happy and fulfilling memories – to be up there among the ‘stars of the show’ for a trip to the UK is applause indeed. With Bath as a back drop and Dukes as an iconic Grade 1 listed property we simply add a little care and attention! We are supported by a wonderful team who take enormous pride in enhancing the stay of each of our guests, So whether an anniversary, celebration, UK tour or simply an overnight away we will look to add value and ensure you leave with a warm glow and a smile. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

We stayed here for three nights in August 2018. The staff are just the friendliest and most helpful people - they can give you lots of good advice, and keep your room key when you go out for added security. The hotel is old school, so you do have to walk up stairs to your room, which does not have AC, but ours had two huge windows we could open for fresh air - fine even during some warm days. Seemed like 20 ft ceilings in our room, which was super comfortable.

Just off Great Pulteney Street, in a quiet section of Bath across the bridge within easy walking distance of the bustling central district. Nice and quiet all day. Easy walking distance to The Pulteney Arms, a local pub that is not touristy at all, and plenty of restaurants near the Pulteney Bridge on either side.

The included breakfast was terrific, including both a very nice buffet and a selection of made to order dishes, featuring eggs, smoked salmon, porridge, etc. Plus they keep coming around with freshly baked treats during breakfast. The breakfast room is downstairs next to the hotel bar and lounge, and is surprisingly light and airy.

A great place to enjoy the slower and more relaxed quality of life of past days, while still having almost all the modern conveniences.

I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Bath - Dukes Hotel was one of the highlights of our trip to the UK.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, ask for a lower floor.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherCameron, Owner at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago


Thank you for a comprehensive and balanced review. As you note ‘we are what we are’!! Standing within 2 Georgian Grade 1 listed townhouses we offer 17 unique rooms across a range of budgets. All our guests are looked after by an attentive team and offered a ‘best in class’ breakfast; cooked with passion using a superb range of highest quality ingredients. Our award winning black pudding from the Isle of Lewis is only challenged by our lightly smoked haddock from Paignton in Devon! Many thanks and we welcome your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews