We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic stay, beautiful house, great location, lovely hosts!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rivers Street Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rivers Street Rooms
Ranked #99 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay, beautiful house, great location, lovely hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a night in March 2012 for my birthday and had not been to bath before. We pulled up to a stunning georgian town house and were shown to a lovely room with brilliant views and a luxurious bathroom by our fantastic host Sharon. We arrived slightly earlier than anticipated but Sharon was very accomodating and flexible.

The house was within short walking distance of the town and also the royal crescent so location was perfect.

Breakfast consisted of home baked tartlets, cakes, biscuits and scones, it was absolutely delicious and a really unusual treat!

Really recommend staying here, my boyfriend and I were both very impressed - we definitely hope to stay there again!

Room Tip: City view room had lovely views over bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessmh20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    21
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We went to Bath in 2011 and we were offered the daughters room as the other both rooms were not available anymore. From the beginning I thought that 110 pounds for one night is quite expensive (for the daughters room), but I read all the nice comments here and thought it will be worth it. But it was not. First of all, we had the feeling to disturb the family life, so they did not give us the feeling to be really welcome. The room of the daughter was OK (not more), but the bed sheets smelled bad (so did the bathrobes) and the family bathroom we were sharing with the family could not be locked. A no-go. And also the additional toilet we could use was not as clean and prepared as it should when you expect guests. The breakfast was OK, but the whole pastries were quite oily so I could not eat more than one.
If we would have paid 50 pounds, I would not say a word, but since we went there and paid 110 pounds for what we got, I am still thinking from time to time what a waste of money it was.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cita80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiversStreetRooms, Owner at Rivers Street Rooms, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear guest,

Whilst it has been several months since you stayed with us, we remember your visit with us well as it is very rarely that we let out any of our personal accommodation. Whilst we are genuinely very disappointed and sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, we are equally disappointed that you have written such a review without providing us with direct feedback either during or after your stay.

As you will hopefully recall, we accommodated you in our daughter's room during the first week of the Christmas Market (the busiest time in Bath all year where occupancy rates are near 100% across the city). This was because there was no accommodation left in Bath at the time of your last-minute enquiry, and you wanted a single Saturday night stay (most b&bs operate a two night minimum weekend stay, especially in peak times). In order to try to provide you with someplace to stay, we moved all of our daughter's possessions out of her room, and stayed in all day on Saturday to give you an early check-in allowing you to make the most of the weekend. The price you paid reflected that it was a one night stay, and was a lower price than you would have paid elsewhere had rooms been available. A quick check of our rates at any time will confirm that we offer very good value for money.

As for your specific complaints, you were "warned" that the toilet in the middle of the house was also used by our children (unlike our family bathroom that we gave you private use of during your stay), and so there could have been occasions when it wasn't as clean as we would have liked it to be (an unfortunate inevitability with small children - hence we banned them from the family bathroom)! However, as for the robes and linens, these are all cleaned by a laundry service and changed each visit, so I really find it hard to understand why you thought these did not smell fresh. Most importantly, we wish you would have raised this with us so we could have remedied the situation at the time.

We aim to provide a comfortable balance between a traditional B&B in a family home and a modern inn in one of the most central locations available in Bath. As such, we understand that certain elements of our offering may not appeal to someone looking for other types of accomodation such as budget or boutique hotels. We aim to make this clear on our website - setting expectations correctly is the most important thing a successful B&B owner can do - followed by fulfilling that promise with excellent service. We do not understand why you did not speak to us at the time of your stay to allow us to address any concerns you may have had rather than wait four months to post a review on an international website, and one which we feel does not in any way reflect the service or accommodation that we offer (especially as you stayed in a room we only ever let out as a favour to guests who, like yourselves, find themselves without accommodation when attempting to book a room at the last minute during a busy time).

We would very much welcome you to stay again in one of our normal guest rooms to allow you to see what so many others have commented on so positively.

Sincerely,

Sharon & Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Picturesque, peaceful, pleasent. Warm whilst unimposing hosts, helpful from restaurant recommendations to selotape! Cosy room, lovely roll- top bath and very cute cat. Would visit again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mypennethworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

I recently booked this Guest house for my Fiancee' birthday for a one night stay.

On arrival we were greeted by a warm welcoming family and shown to our room at the top of a very beautiful town house!!!!

The city view room was wonderful and the bright red roll top bath was a must try!!!
Beautiful views over the city. The city is a 5 min walk if that!!!! Walking down two roads takes you the the top of the city and gives you the whole street to explore. Lovely quaint shops as well as high street shops.

Breakfast was lovely. Beautiful handmade pastries and fruit salad as well as tea and coffee.

Nothing was too much trouble. They let you come and go as you please and if you needed anything you just need to ask.

Sharon can give you directions to a small area which is avaliable for free parking however it is always very busy so do not count on there being a space when you want it. You may have to pay outside the house and return later to move it to the free parking section. Best time to ensure you get a space is after 5pm. For parking at the meter be aware that it is £1.30 per 30 minute stay, so have some change and the maximum staying time is 2 hours.

All in all a wonderful stay and would diffinately return!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prudence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

I have to say this is one of the best B&B's I have stayed in. My sister and I get together once a year, without children and husbands, to spend some quality time together. Sharon and her husband made our weekend extra special, they are very helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are wonderful, clean and comfortable, and the bathrooms spectacular! The breakfast is delicious with Sharon's home-made wares. Thank-you, will see you next year! Sarah & Susan.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 km away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
0.4 km away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 34 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,606 reviews
0.2 km away
Brocks Guest House
Brocks Guest House
#54 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
St Christopher's Inn Bath
0.3 km away
Loch Fyne Milsoms Hotel
0.6 km away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivers Street Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivers Street Rooms

Property: Rivers Street Rooms
Address: 39 Rivers Street, Bath BA1 2QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We aim to offer our guests a true b&b experience by inviting you to stay with us in our family home. We are a friendly couple with three, mostly well behaved children, and two very friendly cats (please note if you suffer allergies). We only employ one member of staff so it will be us that takes your call, greets you at the door and serves you breakfast in the morning. We want you to enjoy your stay and will do all that we can to make that happen : providing local knowledge and advice and bringing you the things that you need to make your stay fun packed, comfortable, relaxing. Our home is on a quiet residential road that is only a few minutes walk from the centre of town and just around the corner from the famous Circus, Crescent and Assembly rooms. The house typifies Bath architecture, a five storey town house which we recently renovated with an aim to make it modern but with a sympathy to it's original style. There is also a lovely gastro pub at the end of the road that serves delicious food and local ales. Free on-road parking is located within a very short drive and only a five to ten minute walk. This is typically available at all but the busiest times. Otherwise, we recommend Charlotte Street Car Park or the Park and Ride. Check-in time is after 4pm. We can sometimes accommodate earlier check-ins so please call us if you require an earlier time. Unfortunately Monday - Friday we are unable to accommodate check-ins between 2.45 and 3.45 as we are collecting children from school. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rivers Street Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivers Street Rooms Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing