We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Gyros and friendly service”
Review of Jars Meze

Jars Meze
Ranked #9 of 628 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Description: A lovely, Cozy, family-run restaurant close to town center. Warm Atmosphere, with breath-taking smell coming from our kitchen. We choose the freshest of ingredients and our food is as fresh as it can be. With a variety of options from meat, fish to vegetarian and vegan. Always keep an eye out for the specials of the day that are inspiration of mama. Our staff will give you the most warm welcome and make you feel like home, they will always be there to cover your needs and answer any questions you have. They are knowledgeable regarding our menu, and can provide options for anyone. We will try our very best to make your experience unique. See you all there.
Restaurant details
Description: A lovely, Cozy, family-run restaurant close to town center. Warm Atmosphere, with breath-taking smell coming from our kitchen. We choose the freshest of ingredients and our food is as fresh as it can be. With a variety of options from meat, fish to vegetarian and vegan. Always keep an eye out for the specials of the day that are inspiration of mama. Our staff will give you the most warm welcome and make you feel like home, they will always be there to cover your needs and answer any questions you have. They are knowledgeable regarding our menu, and can provide options for anyone. We will try our very best to make your experience unique. See you all there.
Reviewed 13 August 2016

After reading the good reviews, we tried to go for lunch on one of the days we were visiting Bath. After seeing that it was closed during the lunch period, we went elsewhere and returned for dinner service, only to find that it still wasn't open. We ended up messaging them on facebook and were told that they weren't open that day at all.

We returned the next day for lunch and were really glad that we did. The food was excellent, particularly the gyros and the Tigania, which were both recommended by the waitress. We also tried the Gigantes with seasoned pork that my wife really enjoyed. The only dish that didn't live up to expectations was the keftedakia (meatballs). These were okay, just a little dry and under-seasoned compared with the quality of the other dishes we had. They would have passed muster in another restaurant, but didn't compare well against the deliciously seasoned Gyros.

The outdoor seating was nice and comfortable in the sunshine and the waitresses were friendly with smiles throughout. We sat next to a table of young Greek men who got up and went a way away from the restaurant when smoking before coming back. I don't know if the staff asked them to do this, but it was very considerate and meant that we enjoyed our meal fully. Overall, the meal was great and it was reasonably priced as well. We would definitely recommend for anyone visiting Bath - just check that they are open first to avoid being disappointed. You might need to do this by phone because there was no sign telling us that they were closed for the day. They did answer very quickly on facebook messenger though, so that might be an option.

Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 September 2017

Thank you for your review. We are looking forward to see you soon.
On behalf of Jars Meze family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

608 - 612 of 704 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2016

A very well presented small Greek restaurant over two floors, clean and well mantained. Very efficient staff. Food was typical meze, well cooked and attractively presented. We drank an excellent Greek red wine which was well priced and delicious. The Greek coffee to end the meal was authentic.
A good find. We will be back, next time we are in Bath.

Thank Jac E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 September 2017

Thank you for your review. We are looking forward to see you soon.
On behalf of Jars Meze family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Our lunch at Jars was quite unexpected. After a visit to the Roman baths we need a nice, quiet place and we found this little restaurant with tablets outside in a narrow street, almost an alley, near in the city centre. The service was efficient and good and the food, well, they had a lovely moussaka and excellent hummus. We also had mushrooms, marrows and meatballs in meze style. The food was exquisite and at the end we were offered a drink on the house. Pity this little gem is drowned by the bustle of very touristy town. A definite choice for the discerning patron.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ednitram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 September 2017

Thank you for your review. We are looking forward to see you soon.
On behalf of Jars Meze family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

Visited on a Wednesday lunch time and were greeted by very friendly staff. They managed to find a table for the five of us, even though the restaurant is very small. The waitress who served us was very helpful and knowledgeable, recommended some very nice Greek wine. Four of us decided to share a selection of meze, and one went for a main from the specials board. The waitress suggested three meze per person would be enough, and she was right. The choice of meze was very good, and contained a good selection vegetarian dishes, there were vegetarian mains as well. The food was brought out as it was ready, so came to the table nice and fresh. We thoroughly enjoyed everything that we ordered, almost managed to clear every plate. We decided to finish with coffee and pastries, we had noticed them on the way in, they to were lovely. I will definitely be re-visting, and have already recommended it to friends, as both the food and service were excellent.

Thank ZtheVeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 September 2017

Thank you for your review. We are looking forward to see you soon.
On behalf of Jars Meze family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

The tourist centre of Bath has long since been in danger of tipping into a kind of cutesy self parody and the food on offer tends to be on the safe and predictable side. So finding this place turned out to be a total godsend. I can only vouch for the vegetarian dishes but to find food this fresh and this good was unexpected to say the least. My meat-eating daughter was equally enthusiastic. Some excellent mid range wines are on offer without them milking the customer in terms of price. Attentive, helpful and friendly service. Exactly what a family restaurant should be and yet is all too rare in tourist areas where repeat business isn't the norm, however good what you have to offer might be.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 September 2017

Thank you for your review. We are looking forward to see you soon.
On behalf of Jars Meze family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jars Meze also viewed

 

Been to Jars Meze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing