We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in Ludlow”
Review of Dinham Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dinham Hall Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for one night in Nov, also ate at Elliot’s restaurant attached to hotel.

Suite was large, great views and bed comfy, didn’t want to move out of the comfortable snug bed in the morning. Elliot’s French based restaurant was excellent with friendly helpful staff.
Breakfast when we did drag ourselves out of the room was top notch cooked fresh and presented to a high standard.

Would recommend and wish we had stayed longer, as lots to see in Ludlow too.

Room Tip: Ask for rm 15 has best views of castle and other aspects
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at Dinham Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for your glowing review, we are so please that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit to Ludlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely period hotel in a great location. Situated in the very picturesque town of Ludlow, the hotel is very close to the castle and town/market square. Decor very much kn keeoi gwith age of buokdobg but brought up to modern day standards. Elegant and borderline regal in parts but also rather cosy and homely. Staff were efficient and friendly at all levels in hotel. Breakfast was a great start to the day. This must be the best place to stay in Ludlow ?

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paulsmithcasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at Dinham Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for your great review and I agree that Dinham Hall is probably the best place to stay in Ludlow but I am biased, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Room was clean and comfortable. Very old fashioned in keeping with the quaint traditional town.

Close to the town so location is a plus. Right over the road from the castle and we were allowed to leave cars after we had checked out, which was good.

Stayed in the flower room and garden room which are in a separate cottage. Rooms were spacious and quiet.
The garden room smelt of dogs but we did tell the reception who apologised and said they would look into this for future guests.

Breakfast nice and good choice. My poached egg wasn’t cooked but I didn’t complain as I didn’t want to ruin my family breakfast, I just left it.

Staff ok but not overly friendly. Expect more service but not much provided

Ludlow is a lovely British quaint town. Highly recommend a visit.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Bex221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at Dinham Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I am sorry that you had a few issues and we do take all comments on board so that we can continually improve on the service that we provide, we are often praised for the friendliness of the staff and the service that we provide so I can only offer my apologies if you found this lacking on this occasion. I do hope that we see you again on your next visit to Ludlow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

We stayed at this quaint hotel for 3nights and chose it for its position close to Ludlow Castle and the Market Square. The view from our window was simply lovely. We had a suite (it was a special occasion). The room was located at the top of the building so it meant a couple of flights of stairs (there isn’t a lift) but our case was willingly taken up for us by the reception clerk. The room was comfortably appointed -lots of space and the bedroom had folding doors to separate it from the lounge area. A tv in each room, comfy sofa, tea and coffee making facilities and a decent size bathroom (with bath and shower). However, for the money (& I’ve paid similar in London) I was surprised there were few “frills” like bathrobes, tissues, biscuits - as we’ve had in other hotels for less cost.
The bathroom had bare minimum supplies - tiny bottles of shampoo & shower gel, no sanitary disposal bags, no flannels or cotton wool (just an empty container) but lots of large towels. And everywhere was spotlessly clean.
We were there as the weather turned colder this week (early November) and it was clear that the central heating struggled to reach these rooms so that we were cold. I mentioned this to the duty manager on the first evening of our stay. He said he’d look into it (I’d have expected a couple of electric heaters to be supplied at least) but it didn’t improve throughout our stay. Plenty of extra bedding was in the cupboard but sitting in the lounge was a chilly affair!
The breakfast here is superb and the dining room has lovely views across the gardens. Altogether, a place of great charm but the temperature in our suite rather spoiled our stay.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TKandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at Dinham Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you for your excellent review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your room and your stay, I do applogise regards the issue with the room being cold and would like to confirm that electric heaters are provided in all rooms and can be found in the wardrobe/cupboard, I am sorry that this was not pointed out to you. Thank you for the feed back, this will be allow us to improve on our service in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Not a very big hotel but room was lovely, comfortable and clean. Right next to the castle. Had view of it from bedroom window. Hotel has its own car park at rear of hotel.
Staff were very polite and friendly.
Breakfast had plenty of choice and was tasty.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, Manager at Dinham Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thank you for your great review I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly and polite, we do pride ourselves on our breakfast offering.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ludlow hotels
0.6 km away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#2 of 8 in Ludlow
477 reviews
1.9 km away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
926 reviews
0.4 km away
The Feathers at Ludlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
1.8 km away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
6.1 km away
Travelodge Ludlow Woofferton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dinham Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dinham Hall Hotel

Address: Dinham | Dinham, Ludlow SY8 1EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range: €130 - €186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dinham Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgeous Georgian Property, overlooking Ludlow Market Square and Medieval Castle, with secluded gardens and private car park. All rooms with Antiques, stylish and eclectic, charming reception room withlog fire, and excellent Brasseri Style Dining Room with proper dining with carefully selected wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dinham Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dinham Hall Hotel Ludlow, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing