We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“better out than inn?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Feathers at Ludlow
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“better out than inn?”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Really handsome and evocative building exterior, friendly and obliging staff, but the facilities didn't match the hopes raised by the facade. I guess it's not easy to upgrade a listed building so wasn't surprised or bothered when wi-fi access was restricted to an area of the lounge (upgrade in process apparently - the signals were strong in our room but no connectivity). But the decor in our standard room was really tired - clean enough but looking uncared-for. Cracked bathroom mirror, sad looking tiling and paintwork, a shower that grudgingly dripped water if you were patient. I can't help wishing it was trapped in the 17th century rather than 1970. There are two fabulous public rooms on the first floor, but when we went in chilly weather those two rooms looked abandoned and unheated. Surely a hotel can't survive for ever on it's unique facade - someone should be investing in a bit of tlc.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    333
    150
    69
    38
See reviews for
94
640
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Stayed on a 2 for 3 deal with 3rd night free if you ate in the restaurant that night. Even then, at £180 per night it ain't cheap although in fairness that was for a large room with 4 poster bed and whirlpool bath.

Starting with the room then; aforementioned features were fine, room was large and comfortable although not much by way of a view. There were just a few signs of ageing however - light pull missing, general air of tiredness. Bathroom was big (scalding hot towel rails - beware!) however the space-age looking shower promised more than it delivered with not much by way of water pressure although plenty of hot water.

The public areas of the hotel are starting to look very tired, corridors more those of a suburban b&b than a high quality hotel. Part of the problem is that it can't decide whether to stick with the heritage feel of the exterior or go for the more up market look which the price tags demand. There is a nice area with an open fire in reception but this is generally used for meals, the bar is in a newer extension area and quite bland & soulless.

Turning to dining, on arrival my partner and I both ordered steaks from the bar menu but whilst mine was cooked rare as ordered, my partner's came well done rather than medium rare. Now, any kitchen can make a mistake, the key is how they deal with it. Too often when you send food back you just get the offending article replaced on the original plate. Here, the whole meal was re-done and re-plated from scratch - and this time cooked perfectly.

Our last night meal was OK - having eaten at a michelin-starred place the night before comparisons are odious and you have to bear in mind price (£16 for 2 courses or £19.50 for 3). A pre-starter (most unexpected at this price) of cauliflower cheese veloute was good but the scallops in my starter had clearly been frozen and were hence watery and tasteless despite being nicely cooked. Both mains were fine, and better than the price would lead you to expect without being outstanding.

Breakfasts are cooked to order, with eggs cooked very nicely (both poached and scrambled, good quality bacon & sausage. However, toast made from very cheap sliced bread is brought to table at the start of the meal and is thus cold by the time you want to eat it - far better to put good quality bread out alongside a toaster.

My final gripe would be with the quality of the tableware - cutlery is cheap and the coffee/tea/milk/water pots & jugs are very cheap stainless steel of the sort you might find in a greasy spoon - not good enough for a hotel of this quality.

Overall we had a very enjoyable stay - room very comfortable and hotel ideally located but you just feel that the place needs £100k or so spending on it sooner rather than later to bring it more up to scratch, and for the owners to decide exactly what they want the hotel to be.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband and I joined a number of "old frineds" for a reunion on the 13th & 14th January. The rooms we booked by the organiser and were allocated we understand on a pot luck basis. Boy oh boy did we strike lucky, what a wonderful room, the largest i have ever had at any hotel (we spend about 90 nights a yr away on business) the bathroom was hugh, with a lovely large jacuzzi. The hotel was wonderful, the staff fell over themselves to be of assistance and every one of the other 20 couples all commented on how wonderful their rooms were. I do not know, in words, how to describe the wonderful, olde world features there were whereve you went within the hotel. It was our first time in Ludlow and thought the town was great, but because we did not have a full opportunity to view the town in its entirity we shall certainly be going back in the very near future - and would not stay anywhere else that The Feathers, what an experience"" Well done to all the staff and private owners

Room Tip: Any room has it's own features - they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fourwinds123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The Feathers is bigger than you might imagine and our room a bit on the small side. However the staff were wonderfully helpful and we were promised a larger room next time. The upstairs sitting room is one of the most amazing I have had the privilege of spending time in.

We only dined in the Bar but this was very nice and the dining room for breakfast was super.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillie270361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Feathers on Sunday, 4th December for just one night. It was our first time in Ludlow and we arrived at the hotel around 11:15, having booked a standard double room. The Receptionist was very welcoming and upgraded us to a superior room which was probably the largest hotel room we have ever stayed in and we have stayed in a lot of hotels over the years. The facilities were superb and we could find no fault with anything. Ludlow is great for a pre Christmas stay as it feels very traditional and olde worldy. The only shortcomings were the pubs we visited. Firstly we went to the Church Inn for a drink and hopefully a sandwich as we planned to have dinner in the evening. The guy behind the bar had a Basil Fawlty type approach and looked as if he had lost a fiver and found a quid. I asked about getting something to eat and he grunted something about the menus and the blackboards on the wall. When we asked for sandwiches, we were told they didn't do them Sunday lunchtime, despite them being on the menu. We moved on to another pub which was called something like the Bull ring Tavern. This looked more promising from the outside with a blackboard that suggested a full menu. We sat down with a drink and then asked could we get some sandwiches but were told they only did Sunday Lunch and also announced to a couple on another table that there was no vegetarian option available for lunch. We went back to the Feathers and were served with delicious plates of sandwiches by a very obliging young lady behind the bar. Dinner in the evening was at an Indian restaurant called the Golden something (sorry - should have taken more notice of the name). The meal and service were both superb and we will definitely go back to Ludlow for the delightful combination of a stay at the Feathers and a meal at this restaurant

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobsCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
1.6 km away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.8 km away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.4 km away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Overton Grange Country Hotel
23.7 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.2 km away
The Townhouse Ludlow
The Townhouse Ludlow
#8 of 47 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers at Ludlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers at Ludlow

Property: The Feathers at Ludlow
Address: Bull Ring, Ludlow SY8 1AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — The Feathers at Ludlow 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, LateRooms, HRS, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Feathers at Ludlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Feathers At Ludlow Hotel Ludlow
Feathers Hotel Ludlow
The Feathers Hotel Ludlow
The Feathers At Ludlow England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing