We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Helpful and friendly”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sheffield, South Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wendy L
1 review
“Helpful and friendly”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We chose to stay here as our son was getting married in the next village. On arrival we discovered a wonderful welcome pack,containing fresh bread, eggs, milk, real butter and selection of jams along with tea/coffee etc. Sara was very friendly and apologetic for the building works happening in their courtyard next door, which she had pre-warned me about. We enjoyed watching their chickens (super friendly) and their 2 young cats meandering about. This is a great place to stay to travel into the Peaks or Sheffield, if preferred. We were so grateful to Joe who picked us up from the wedding at midnight, allowing us to relax and drink a little throughout the day. Sara took us back to collect the car the next day. Nothing was too much trouble. We had not asked for this service it was offered automatically and it meant a lot to us. The cottage was cosy and very clean, just what we wanted. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone. If we need to be in the area in the future, we shall head straight there. Thank you Sara and Joe

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sara and Joe
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert T
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Ideal cottage for 2 adults”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Small but comfortable. Ideal for a couple. Felt like you are deep in the Peak district, but actually 4 or 5 miles from outskirts of Sheffield. Very friendly owners & polite children. Well stocked with a good choice of books. Only down side was that there were builders on site who were sometimes noisy, but most days we were out and about so missed them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: clean & comfortable
Liked least: Having builders next to site
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith F
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We have just had a lovely stay at Peat Pit Cottage. The facilities are excellent and very comfortable. On our arrival there was a welcome pack which was very handy. We took our granddaughters with us so we visited Chatsworth House and Blue John Mines both of which were excellent value. A visit to the Plough Inn at Low Bradfield is also a must!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane W
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend break”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

It was lovely !

Arrived in the dark, but the corttage was cosy & inviting.
Sara was waiting with Fresh Baked Bread.... still warm fresh from the oven. no need to go out for an evening when you have a welcome like that.
The cottage was spotllesly clean & fully equiped.
We had a lovely short break, & cant wait untill we can book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAT876
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely short stay”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We enjoyed a couple of nights at this excellent cottage.
The cottage was spotlessly clean and very comfortable.

The welcome tray was a nice touch and the owners were extremely nice and couldn't do too much for you. They even drove us down in to the village for an evening

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$94
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing