We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect base for visiting daughter at uni in...”
other travellers have booked this property
Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Kitchen Area Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Living Room
Kitchen Area
Bedroom
Disabled Wet room
Oak Kitchen with Granite worktops and Belfast sink
A Short Walk from the property
Rock climbing just a short walk away
Less than 2 miles from the peak district Moors
Bring your horse for a holiday too
Or hire one of ours for lessons or trekking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sheffield, South Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elaine T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect base for visiting daughter at uni in Sheffield”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Beautiful cottage in a great location. Welcome pack was a lovely touch on arrival.

Amanda answered all our questions promptly ensuring a stress free break.

Would certainly stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Being able to take our dog to a good quality cottage.
Liked least: Lack of tea towels!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithaG
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautifully converted cart shed!”
Reviewed 11 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is the first of several buildings that the owner is converting to rental accommodation. It was done to avery high standard and provided everything we needed for a weekend stay. Situated in a farmyard (be careful where you stand), surrounded by stunning countryside but close to the city of Sheffield.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B
1 review
“Lovely and relaxing get away”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We booked to stay at the cottage for three nights in august to explore the Peak District with our dogs and were not disappointed. Lovely welcome from the owners who left milk, cakes and even a bottle of wine for us! We braved the rain and got some lovely walks in- very useful walking books in the cottage with great suggestions. The cottage was a welcome retreat after long days of walking for both us and the dogs. Everywhere very clean and well equipped. Thank you for a lovely get away.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pink7616
Highbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We were really looking forward to staying at this property as it's advertised as accessible for disabled people. There is a wet room and a ramp into the property through the front door but that is the only part that is accessible.
The taps in the bathroom were loose and there wasn't a shower stool or chair which is bit strange in a wet room for disabled people. The toilet kept making a very loud noise for a few mins after flushing. The owner came over fairly quickly to sort it but only did a temporary fix that lasted a day.
All of the counters in the kitchen are standard height so a disabled person can't use the kitchen to cook or wash up so wouldn't be able to go there alone.
The lounge/ kitchen area is a good size when the sofa bed isn't out but as it was needed during the day as well as at night so I could have my rest after taking meds, it made the lounge area very small.
The bedroom is nice, there is a wardrobe with quite a few hangers plus a good sized dressing table with mirror, there isn't enough room to take a wheelchair in there so our daughter had that room and we had the sofa bed.
There is a back door to what is supposed to be the garden but it has a step, about 2 foot space after that then almost a 5 foot wall up to the grass area that is supposed to be a garden, this grass area is just a big slope and was very over grown. My partner did find an old plastic garden chair out there so cleaned it and I used it in the shower. There is no safety rails in the shower and the floor is slippery so there was no way I could transfer alone.
In front of the property there is a patio area with a small round barbecue and some garden furniture. This had a low wall around it but it wasn't enclosed. Because of this, there was chicken and dog poo all over the place as the property is literally in the yard of the farm. I love animals but being woken up at 5am by a cockerel wasn't funny especially as my daughter was there to compete in swimming national champs.
The drive up to the property is very steep and very poorly maintained so has to be driven very careful to ensure the disabled person doesn't get hurt. I found it very painful.
Parking is the other side of the low wall around the patio and it's very steep and poorly maintained. I have an electric wheelchair so we have a vehicle with a lift. It was just scary getting out of our vehicle being of the steep slope and camber of the drive.
The wifi is limited wifi. When we got a message on our devices saying we had run out of data we told the owners and they got it working in a couple of days, that lasted a day. Because I had to have a couple of hours rest in the afternoons and my daughter had to come straight home from finals in the evening, we did use the internet to watch films so running out of data was a real pain. If it's limited data wifi they should put that in the advertisement.
The lady who is the contact point for the property is actually quite nice but I feel the advertisement mis-lead us into believing we were using a safe place for wheelchairs that would be quiet and private. Not somewhere that isn't really safe for wheelchairs, right in the middle of a dirty farmyard where we were constantly being disturbed by animals and the owners. One evening I was trying to sit quietly outside to get some fresh air and was taking some photos of how bad the yard is when one of the women who lived at the farm opened her window 10m across from us and started talking about ducks. I feel the advert should say where exactly the property is located and that it isn't private from the daily workings of the farm. I also feel that it needs a lot more work outside before it is safe for wheelchair users.
There was bits of wood srewn all over the place, broke plastic chair, general building rubble and a couple of brick barns for the animals that were very poorly maintained.
This was the only place around Sheffield we found that was supposed to be quiet, wheelchair friendly and private. It was none of those things, I'm disappointed as it was somewhere we were planning on booking whilst there for next years nationals.
I feel unless there are major works done it won't be possible for us to do that and I can't recommend it as somewhere safe for disabled people.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay, our assessment was done by visit Britain for disabled access and we have advertised it within there guide lines. We are developing all the barns you mentioned next door but due to planning consent for the disabled access accommodation we had to complete this one first before starting work on the others. The lady that popped her head out of the window is one of the property owners who was just trying to be polite I'm sorry you found this intrusive, not to speak would have seemed rude? Our chickens and ducks are loved by our hundreds of guests and we have disabled people that visit us year after year and love our accommodation and its location. Our property is not suitable for loan disabled as we do not have hoists, it is not advertised for them either and never has been. To check the terminology for disabled access i suggest you go online at visit Britain, this will help you when booking properties in the future, or look at the Photographs of the kitchen as worktops would be visibly lower. We did have trouble with the internet as BT were unable to connect us up so we worked off the three mobile phone network, this has now been solved by super high speed unlimited satellite broadband. As we said we are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay and we wish you luck in finding the perfect property
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunnart
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Homely”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Myself, Hubby and Dog had a wonderful restful Christmas in this well equipped "Cartshed" The surroundings were relaxing the owners very friendly and the ducks hens and other dogs were very welcoming. The location is a dream with many great walks and pubs to enjoy (many dog friendly this suited us as our elderly Labrador expects to be attached to us at all times so this local hospitality gave us a great amount of freedom that only enhanced our stay. I would recommend this "Cartshed" and would love to return in the summer....
Amanda was a delight to deal with and I would like to express my thanks to her. IT IS A GREAT PLACE TO STAY SO DON'T HESITATE BOOK IT YOU WILL LOVE IT!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing