We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Diplomat's Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$112
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Sheffield Centre(Sheffield)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$43
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$89
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$80
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Leopold Hotel(Sheffield)
US$137
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$82
US$77
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Sheffield City(Sheffield)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
2
6
5
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
6
5
7
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

If your looking for the ritz then this place is not for you. Was in room 8 which was huge yes the bed was low and a bit lumpy a few stains on the pillows but there were spare ones in the cupboard. Bathroom was huge and very clean.
Didn't do breakfast as we left early. For the money paid was ok.

Room Tip: Cheap and cheerful.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weesav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We, my mother and I, informed the manager that we would be an hour late due to heavy traffic on the M1. We were greeted warmly and shown to our room. Initially everything appeared to be fine, we stayed in room 5 on the 21/02/2014, it was a spacious room with a large double bed with clean white sheets. However, this is where the praise ends.

After spending some time in the room and bathroom, we began to notice that everything in the room was either broken or missing and certainly not clean. The wardrobe was so dirty it was not fit for purpose as it was too dusty to put clothes on the shelf. The desk that was in the corridor or our 'suite' was full of stale tobacco that smelt even with the draw closed.There was ample storage as there are two chests of draws in the room, however, a draw on each unit was missing.

The bathroom was also a great disappointment as the toilet seat was totally detached from the toilet and the shower had very little power to it. Even finer details had been missed like the fact that the shower curtain was on backwards and not longer enough to enclose the shower probably meaning that the bathroom floor flooded. Furthermore, the lack of toiletries was also quite shocking as for the both of us, we were given a thumb size bar of soap. When we asked the man on the desk for another bar and 3 more pillows, as they had only provided one for a king size bed, it felt like we were being a nuisance.

When we left for dinner we asked if he was the owner and stayed at the lodge too, he merely laughed and was quick to say no which felt very ominous indeed.

I slept awfully, the sheets were polyester and the duvet was too thick, lumpy and made of nylon which made it an extremely hot sleeping experience. We woke up to the sound of car alarms and violent swearing down the hall, it lasted for 15 minutes before someone intervened.

The breakfast was more than disappointing and exactly how previous visitors described. The food was poor quality and the yoghurts had been out for some time unrefrigerated so we did not eat it. There was also no one helped you or clear the room whilst at breakfast but they lingered and watched you eat making for a very uncomfortable dining experience.

However, undeniably the worst part of staying was that whilst we were at breakfast during the one hour time gap that they enforce, our room was opened (we don't know why or by whom) and on leaving, the door was left wide open waiting for our possessions to be stolen. Luckily nothing was taken however we found this very unsettling and an invasion of our privacy and therefore left quickly after. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I booked the continental suite and it was shocking there was no kettle no fridge and the bed sheet was stained and there was dust everywhere and the previous guests bronzing pearls all over the floor the staff were pleasant and the breakfast was satisfactory but the actual room was over priced and dirty and cold I will never stay there again or recommend it to anybody

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daniel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed there for one night while visiting Sheffield to see The Who in concert. The room was spotless with free Wi-Fi and a good modern TV. The staff were friendly and helpful. Would have no qualms about staying there again for longer.

Room Tip: Just go for it.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Runningvicar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Spacious, clean room. Great big television. Short taxi ride to city centre where I was working. The pizza place at the bottom of the lane has a huge selection of curries, wish I had discovered that earlier. Lebaneses restaurant also handy. Prefer sheets to duvets and would have liked a Gideons bible.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews