We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Jury's Inn, good staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2012

I stayed here at the Jury's Inn solely based on it's proximity to the Sheffield train station. I was hoping that it would be good, and indeed it was just fine. Pretty much cookie cutter hotel stuff.

The staff are professional enough and are efficient and friendly. It was fairly quiet, but I did use my earplugs on a weekend night due to the loud noise in the hallway and the doors slamming.
The room was good...had all the stuff, but you have to pay for the internet connection. No wifi in the rooms. I found the price tag of £10 per day too much. I'm used to free wifi, so this can be a real deal breaker.
The other small issues were that there was there was some black mould forming in the bathtub and the quality of the pillows. The bed was comfy enough but those darn pillows were really bad. Super thin and nothing to them. It was like resting your head on a brick!
Breakfast buffet is £10, a little overpriced. I don't eat that much so it wasn't worth it. However, the chicken burger and chips that I had in the pub/bar was excellent and the bar staff were very friendly.
I found that I had to walk a way to find the shops, but it's not really far at all. 10 minutes and you're in a pedestrian zone with lots of shops. This particular area of Sheffield just seems a bit worn down and needs a big positive design hug. The hotel looks good though, and is welcoming.

As a solo traveller I felt safe here, and that is key. I will likely stay here again when I'm in Sheffield.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pixie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam C, Front Office Manager at Jurys Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience of Jurys Inn Sheffield. I hope I have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel soon again.

Kind regards
Sam Connolly
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,309 - 2,313 of 2,614 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2012

Writing this at 04:45 as I can't sleep due to wind howling thru window. Have tried opening window but it won't lock open. Have tried closing window further - but not possible. Avoid room 530 like the plague if the wind is blowing outside. This seems to be a problem in more than one room - did nobody check this before hotel was handed over by the builders ? As soon as I can get a train home I'll be leaving. By the way if you stay when a disco is on in the restaurant in the evening, it's open plan - the only quiet area is your bedroom. All this for £64....

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worksoptom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam C, Front Office Manager at Jurys Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience of Jurys Inn Sheffield. I hope I have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel soon again.

Kind regards
Sam Connolly
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at Friday & Sat whilst visinting son at uni. The room was a family room so was a reasonable size & adequatelyl equipped. Excellent location, spotlessly clean & the reception staff were really pleasant. Like the previous reviewer & on the same weekend we also were near the lifts but were not disturbed at all so perhaps we were lucky with the floor we were on. Got 2 nts for £117 so really good value & will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pipnjools222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam C, Front Office Manager at Jurys Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience of Jurys Inn Sheffield. I hope I have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel soon again.

Kind regards
Sam Connolly
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

was in sheffield for the football, stayed to nights .
both nights got in around between 2 - 3 am in the morning.
got in bed then it all went pairshaped,are room was opposite the lift on the first floor.
you could here everyone who came out the lift,crashing and banging into walls,knocking on doors and running away or trying to,trying to get into wrong rooms and kicking the door when they couldnt get in.
the night security was on his own and had no chance of controling anything as arguing couple began fighting.this went on til about 5 in the morning( saturday).
the same happened again the next night but twice as bad as the police were called this time to evict the drunken brawlers.
we are no party pooppers as the group we were with like a drink and a laugh but when its time for bed we are always respectful to other people staying in the hotel.
complain to reception on checking out and got promised compensation to be put bacl on the payers card(at time of writing this no refund has been made yet and may take 28 days)but for me a good weekend was ruined by lack of sleep and poorsecurity arrangements by the hotel.

Room Tip: dont accept a room outside the lift doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slug_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle M, General Manager at Jurys Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear Slug_11,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I would like to sincerely apologise for the lack of sleep you had experienced on your stay at Jurys Inn Sheffield.

We do have security, a night manager and night staff on all evening to ensure all issues is dealt with immediately if they arise, it seems this did not happen in your case and I am sorry.

Your feedback has been investigated and discussed with the team to prevent this happening again in the future.

I do hope we have the opportunity to restore your faith in Jurys Inn Sheffield and as a goodwill gesture I would like to offer you a discounted rate on a future stay.

I do hope this matter is resolved to your satisfaction and if I can be any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me by the email address below.

Kindest Regards
Michelle Minshull
Michelle_minshull@jurysinns.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Ive been looking for a hotel to stay in with nice conferance rooms and frendly staff. Ive stayed at alot of hotels in sheffield but this hotel does it for me. The staff and the food is amazing and you can eat in the resturant or sit on a comfy sofa in the bar witch i did, it made me feel like a home away from home. I meet the GM there and she is lovly she showed me around and was on hand with any questions I had. she didnt now that i was there for businees but still went out of her was to show me around and tell me what they have to offer. I run a fashion company and its hard to find a hotel to stay in with good size rooms, I have to much stuff to move around but the rooms are grate plenty of space, I stayed in room 429 and I would recommmend you stayed in that room if your a bussiness man looking for a home away from home. I couldnt find anything wrong with the place it was clean, the staff are on hand and the hotel has a nice vibe no problem at all except one I had to leave to go home. well be returning and using there conferance rooms soon. alye i didnt say anything about them, there down stairs and you have a nice private waiting area and seating area for people to wait, conferance rooms are a nice size and love the layouts- going to using them for interviews, meetings and events.

Room Tip: 429 is a really nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philvclothing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam C, Front Office Manager at Jurys Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience of Jurys Inn Sheffield. I hope I have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel soon again.

Kind regards
Sam Connolly
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.3 km away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.3 km away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,608 reviews
0.9 km away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#14 of 53 in Sheffield
1,360 reviews
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Sheffield

Address: 119 Eyre Street, Sheffield S1 4QW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: €58 - €137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Sheffield 3*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Sheffield is ideally located in the heart of Sheffield, just a short 10 minute walk from Sheffield train station and a short 5 minute walk to the Devonshire Quarter featuring a plethora of bars, restaurants and galleries. The hotel is also within a short walking distance from Sheffield's many hidden gems - stop by the famous Granelli's Sweet shop, marvel the beautiful architecture of Sheffield Town Hall or relax at the Peace Gardens - all within an easy reach of the hotel. For those exploring the stunning Peak District countryside - the hotel is only a 20 minute car ride. If you are attending an event at the famous Crucible Theatre or the thriving O2 Academy Sheffield - both venues are within 10 minutes walk of Jurys Inn Sheffield. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. You can also catch up on some workout time in our onsite cardio gym. If you are arriving by car, parking is available at the nearby APCOA Moor Car Park on Eyre Street. Our comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us enjoy free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Sheffield with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jurys Inn Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Jurys Hotel Sheffield
Sheffield Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing