We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much improved since my last visit - excellent pizza and pasta dishes”

Ponti's Italian Kitchen - Fox Valley
Ranked #71 of 1,631 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$38
Restaurant details
Reviewed 29 May 2018

I visited this evening with my niece for her birthday. This time we opted for the full menu and I was surprised that the food was much better than previous visits at only a little extra cost.

I ordered the Emilia Pizza, really fresh dough with plenty of parma ham, mozzarella, rocket and tomatoes - delicious with plenty of flavour, My niece ordered the Spaghetti Pesto e Broccolini which was equally impressive.

For dessert I ordered Tenerina al Cioccolato (Warm chocolate brownie, salted caramel ice-cream, caramel sauce) which was also very good. My niece ordered Panna Cotta Al Timo. (thyme panna cotta, poached rhubarb, limoncello sauce) unusual but the thyme really works well.

We both ordered Cranberry and Mint Cooler (freshly squeezed lime juice, mint leaves and cranberry juice) to drink - very sharp and refreshing.

The bill including service was a reasonable £24 per head - excellent for the cuisine on offer.

My only slight criticism is the service although reasonably quick and efficient, can seem a little lacking in focus and attention to detail at times.

That said, this is such a lovely place for a meal treat - the decor is stylish and very comfortable and is of a quality that could win a design award given the opportunity.

May try the breakfast menu over the summer.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrewms14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 81 of 655 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2018

I took my mum for her 89th birthday. The staff especially Sarah were very helpful and friendly. The food was excellent. A little more expensive than a pub meal but soo much better. Plenty of choice for meat eaters and veggies. Only fault was hardly any fish dishes. This is authentic Italian food in a lovely restaurant that could be straight out of the Godfather. There was so much atmosphere. Very clean upmarket restaurant. Would definitely go again. Oh and forget the fries you won't need them!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank shirlgirlgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

Food choices to suit each of us - three generations - and very good food!
Very pleasant informal atmosphere for the whole family to chat and share news over pizza, etc.
Excellent service - friendly, efficient - just right!
This is our fourth visit and we'll be back.
Thank you!

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

I took my wife here on behalf of the kids and had an amazing time.

I suggest Laurence Complain to people directly whilst in the venue as opposed to using social media to get the best response.

Great venue in an unexpected town

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank cocktailsanddreamsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

Second visit to fox valley and really wanted to try here after seeing it last time but eating elsewhere. We managed to get a table outside (I was with my 16 year old daughter) as the weather was beautiful. We had soft drinks and I chose the burger and my daughter chose pizza. The burger was massive, very thick, and the chips were lovely. I’m not keen on brioche buns for the bread, and would have preferred a normal tea cake but that’s just my preference. The atmosphere was lovely, we felt like we were on holiday! The service was very good too. I will definitely be visiting again.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank janejb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ponti's Italian Kitchen - Fox Valley also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Ponti's Italian Kitchen - Fox Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing