We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
49
38
14
13
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
38
14
13
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pie four poster bed giant yorkshire pudding mixed grill on bank holiday monday traditional pub wonderfull location busy pub cotton buds friendly bar staff panini peak district little extras stayed one night car park peacocks moorland
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

We went for Saturday lunch. The place was absolutely heaving, people waiting for tables. The whole pub needs a good clean and sympathetic refurb. Nothing to change it’s immense character but just some loving attention. Never enough bar staff at lunchtime but those present work hard and are very good at what they do. Food is ordinary but plentiful and served quickly. A pretty pub in a beautiful spot.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Mickey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

We chose this pub to meet friends from S. Manchester for lunch because it's roughly half way. Another table was doing the same. Being in such a glorious location, on a scenic winding road over the moors recently beautifully resurfaced for the Tour de France, we thought this longstanding pub would be capitalising on its unique attraction. What a disappointment when we walked through the door into shabby dingy surroundings that looked as though the place hadn't changed since the '50s.
The two lads behind the bar ignored us. There was only one other customer in the place. A bad first sign. Despite two fires burning and a lukewarm radiator, the bar and 'restaurant' area were so cold we nearly went back for our coats.
We'd made a reservation but they claimed we hadn't. Probably hadn't got a 2018 diary when we phoned. Bad second sign.
The lunch menu is headed up as Sunday 'Dinner'. Oh dear.
Two of us ordered the ribeye steak - medium/rare. One of these was impossible to cut and three quarters was therefore inedible and had to be left.
On the plus side, the vegetables and steak & ale pie was tasty and wholesome.
The lads really weren't cut out to serve the growing number of customers and the two girls were not in touch with the needs of the various tables, resulting in queues back and forth to the bar to order things that would normally be sorted by the waitress.
This place could benefit from a seriously overdue facelift inside and out. Yes, it's obviously a brilliant watering hole for walkers and cyclists and they have to cope with dogs and muddy boots. However, it's so tatty and unwelcoming (the loos are a disgrace) just some investment in decor, heating and staff training could turn it into a desirable destination. Sorry but we'll have to find somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Rabelro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

We had originally booked our lunch for 1.45(after an 8 mile walk)but unfortunately,it took longer than anticipated,so we gave them a call to say we would be an extra hour and they said it wouldn,t be an issue.Once we eventually arrived,we apologised for our lateness,but were still met by a smile,which continued throughout service.The food was well worth waiting for....hot & of generous portions.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 1951LindyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We'd been for a walk and decided a drink and some food would be a good idea an called in at the pub. It was late afternoon and the staff were not very welcoming. We asked about food and the bar staff just pointed to the menus on a nearby table. When the food came it was delicious, but we felt we were putting the bar staff to a lot of trouble. There was a lovely open fire, but the welcome was not warm.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Lovely room in a lovely pub. Really nice little touches in the room. Cosy bar with open fire. Very friendly staff. James’s advice on local walks led us to the spectacular Derwent Edge. Great breakfast served in our room. Good choice of home cooking in the evening (particularly if you like Yorkshire Puddings!)

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sept_2010_john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews