We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$112
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/07/22
Expedia.com
US$122
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/07/22
Priceline
US$109
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/07/22
Hotels.comUS$122
TravelocityUS$122
HurbUS$124
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,451)
Filter reviews
1,451 results
Traveller rating
726
406
179
95
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
726
406
179
95
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flying scotsman reading station large bathroom mini bar railway station cooked breakfast saturday night car park bar area town centre stayed for one night brasserie manu yvette gwr toiletries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,451 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2022

We recently stayed in the Malmaison hotel after a long flight into LHR, for two nights before continuing our journey. I initially booked the hotel because it was close to the train station (right across the street) and I'm glad I did. We really appreciated the efforts made to be as environmentally friendly as possible. Including a free drink in the bar in exchange for not having our room cleaned. The hotel restaurant and bar are relaxed and the food was great. The hotel is in a great location for exploring Reading. We really enjoyed our stay. The staff, service and cleanliness were all excellent. We would definitely stay again. One suggestion would be to have a recycling bin either in the room or nearby, although they do ask you to leave recycling on the desk and it will be collected. Great hotel!

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank P5324ISbobf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James Henesey, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2022

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
We really appreciate your comments and will be sure to pass these onto the relevant teams!
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2022 via mobile

My boyfriend booked a surprise night for us to stay and I was amazed by how lovely the hotel is and especially for its price! Definitely one of the best hotels in the Reading area (I’m local so have visited nearly all of them)!
Perfect for a couples stay if you fancy the night away and our room came with so many lovely perks - a nespresso machine with pods, a mini fridge, bath robes, a massage bar, etc..
Room was lovely, modern and very spacious- would really recommend!
Staff were kind and polite and I’ve read numerous other reviews complaining about noise from buses etc but I can confirm you can barely hear any outside noise at all ( we stayed in the room looking out to the station road directly above the entrance so I think we would know ). There was an argument and a bit of noise coming from the next door room at the time but the staff dealt with it efficiently and calmly which was great.
Would really recommend, couldnt be happier with our stay x

Room tip: Overnight parking is cheapest to my knowledge at Broad Street Mall car park and very close to the hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Inspire32105289604
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James Henesey, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2022

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
We really appreciate your comments, we will be sure to pass these comments onto the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2022

We have just got back from our stay at the Malmaison in Reading and have to say what a fantastic time we all had.
The staff are so friendly, very helpful & knowledgeable.
Me and my partner wanted my 60th birthday meal & drinks at this hotel as it is both such a beautiful hotel and has very easy access to the train station opposite for most of our guests.
The events manager Imogen was first class with organising & communication and made everything as stress free as possible.
Special thanks to staff members Manu Evette & the top man that is Paulo who had to put up with us more than anyone.
We enjoyed it so much we booked another night there and we will definitely be going back.
Very highly recommended

Date of stay: May 2022
Thank jabba62
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James Henesey, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2022

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your stay with us.
We will be sure to pass your comments onto the team!
Kind regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2022

We booked two rooms to attend a show at The Hexagon Reading. This is a lovely Hotel. Within walking distance of the Oracle and The Hexagon. We booked standard double rooms which were lovely. Very comfortable beds and very clean and modern.
The only thing we were not impressed with was the very loud music in the Bar area - we decided to have a drink before going to the Show. Lovely bar and seating but the music was extremely loud and we could barely hear ourselves speak. It would be nice to have background music but not this. It was early evening and the bar was not full so we could not understand the reason for having this loud music.
We had breakfast included and this was so very good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The cooked breakfast was presented so nicely and there was plenty of choice for continental breakfast.
We will definitely stay again.

Room tip: Rooms facing the street are noisy so take ear plugs
Date of stay: April 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James Henesey, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2022

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review with us.
We are very pleased you will stay again with us! We will also take on board your comments with regards to the bar music.
We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2022

This hotel is relatively small, but boutique. Myself and my partner stayed here for our wedding anniversary for 2 nights in January this year. The hotel is part of a chain, but still has a unique feel. The building is very modern and has a nice fashionable restaurant. The bar is a little small, but service and drink selection is good.
I would definitely recommend Malmaison, especially if your looking for something a little different to the usual run of the mill hotels on offer in Reading.

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank olivianT4396TD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James Henesey, General Manager at Malmaison Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2022

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
We are really please you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews