We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Reading Centre(Reading)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$77/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

pentahotels Reading(Reading)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$206
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Reading(Reading)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Novotel Reading Centre(Reading)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Beech House Hotel(Reading)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$98
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$54
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$66/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$83
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel(Reading)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (618)
Filter reviews
618 results
Traveller rating
444
105
45
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
444
105
45
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsforbury hotelcerise restaurantsound systemmolton brown toiletriesbang and olufsenbeautiful hotelcocktail barthe penthousetwo bedroom apartmentunderfloor heatingforbury gardensdeep bathbreakfast in bednespresso machineboutique hotelthe main hotelfresh milk
Filter
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 618 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2016

I stayed at the Forbury for a friend's wedding. The hotel is beautiful and the room was great. The bed was massive and having a Nespresso machine was lovely and fresh milk was in the fridge for us in the morning and makes all the difference to the little plastic pots of UHT. The bathroom had Molton Brown toiletries and the floor was heated. Beautiful big bath and shower was so good I didn't want to come out. I am fussy, read my other reviews and you will see. The only tiny criticism was the coffee at breakfast was very weak and with milk it looked more like tea. The breakfast buffet was varied and the cooked breakfast scrummy. The scrambled egg was probably the best I have ever had. Really enjoyed our stay and the venue for a wedding was ideal as it was full of character and the food was tasty too. We were very appreciative of being allowed into our room early to get changed for the wedding.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank minkthemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForburyGM, Front Office Manager at The Roseate Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay with us at The Forbury Hotel.

I have passed your comments on to the team, in particular to our kitchen brigade. They were particularly delighted to hear that the cooked eggs were the best you have ever had.

On behalf of the entire team here at The Forbury Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Michael Kaminski
Front of House Manager

frontofhousemanager@theforburyhotel.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016

We were so disappointed to be placed in an appartment in a building next to the hotel instead of the superior room we had booked. The room was clean,but in no way romantic like the ones displayed on the website! When we asked for the possibility to change into a kingsize bedroom the receptionist gave nothing but a clearcut No!

Stayed: April 2016
3  Thank Swisstraveler53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForburyGM, Front Office Manager at The Roseate Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2016

Dear Guest,

As we had discussed previously on the telephone, the room type booked by you was in fact an apartment and the reason we could not move you to another room was simply because we did not have any other rooms available throughout your stay.

I have since tried calling you again and I have also sent you a private message. Please could you get in touch with me on the email address below at your earliest convenience.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours Sincerely,

Michael Kaminski
Front of House Manager

frontofhousemanager@theforburyhotel.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2016

We got married at the Forbury hotel in July 2015. The staff were amazing and extremely helpful!
The rooms are gorgeous and the food is delicious.
I would recommend anyone looking for a small wedding with a bit of character then to book this venue.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank clairebear1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForburyGM, Front Office Manager at The Roseate Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Dear Guest,

I was delighted to read that the team were all amazing and very helpful and that you were well looked after when you got married at The Forbury Hotel in July of last year.

Why not celebrate your first year anniversary with us this year? I would certainly be very happy to look after your reservation personally.

In the meantime, if there is anything I can be of assistance of, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Yours Sincerely,

Michael Kaminski
Front of House Manager

frontofhousemanager@theforburyhotel.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016

When looking for somewhere to stay in Reading, look no further. This is the place. Beautifully decorated rooms and public areas. Very friendly staff. We stayed there as friends and family the night before our daughter got married at a nearby venue. They could not have been more helpful. Treat yourself.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForburyGM, Front Office Manager at The Roseate Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your glowing review of your stay with us at The Forbury Hotel. We are indeed the place to be when in Reading, whether it be for an overnight stay or simply to enjoy a cocktail in our Cerise Bar.

I have shared your comments with the entire team, which has brought a smile to their faces knowing that they have exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Michael Kaminski
Front of House Manager

frontofhousemanager@theforburyhotel.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2016

One night stay on Friday 18th March, 4 people in the Penthouse.
Upon initial arrival the hotel gives a good first impression. Our cars were parked by the valet service and we were shown through the grand foyer to our room. To my surprise our room was not in the main building itself but instead in a block of flats to the rear of the site. It wasn’t clear if all rooms are in this unit or just the Penthouse. We were left at the lift and told to go to the ninth floor. On first glance the penthouse was fantastic. Our glee when we saw that we had a sauna! However you only have to scratch slightly below the surface for the façade to crumble. The dimly lit front room furniture was straight out of a doctor’s waiting room, cutlery was missing, and the sauna didn’t work. Pretty soon, we were on the phone to reception. Michael answered – we explained the issues in the room, we were told that the missing cutlery was because people steal it and that he’d send someone up to sort out the sauna that evening. He was helpful in organising some food despite the fact the kitchen was closing, and I must say the steak sandwich was one of the best I’ve had. Drinks were a let-down, had to wait about 20 minutes for each round, which was wrong on one occasion. I sympathised with the one girl behind the bar, it was fairly evident she didn’t know the menu and was doing the best she could, but getting the order wrong is never a good start. We left the hotel and return around 1am. We were unable to get in through the front entrance, and there was no answer on reception. I managed to get the attention of some staff smoking round the back, who directed me to a side entrance we hadn’t been previously told about. Up in the room there was no change despite the previous conversation with Michael. Again no answer when calling the front desk so ventured down nine floors to find out someone who could sort the sauna. Managed to get someone to come up, although he admitted he had no idea and it would be guess work. After 10 minutes of arbitrary button pushing, we realised we were getting nowhere. He apologised and left. Tried watching some TV but this didn’t work either, although the CD/DVD player was functional. Went to bed somewhat frustrated in our double (two singles pushed together). The morning was equally frustrating. There was no hot water to be had whatsoever. We were leaving by this point anyway so we both had cold showers and got our stuff together. Once we were down at reception checking out, we made our feelings clear regarding our stay. The lady on reception acknowledged our frustrations and explained that the sauna was currently out of order and she would look into the hot water issue (no good to us considering we were leaving). We were offered a refund on the frankly extortionate £60 overnight parking fee/valet service, and paid our equally unreasonably priced £140 bar bill (1 main & two drinks pp for four). She explained that Michael was new, and that the only person who knew how the sauna worked was Kevin who was on leave. We left the Forbury with a rather bitter taste in our mouth.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews