We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend of Luxury and Excess”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Forbury Roseate
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2016

We spent two nights at this well appointed hotel in the heart of Reading. The room was fantastic - copper two-man bathtub in the bedroom itself! We recommend that room for sure. Me and my wife have stayed at a lot of 5 star hotels around the world, and The Forbury is up there amongst the best. The rooms are more than well appointed - clean, and well designed, with some nice finishing touches like a B&O sound system, nice toiletries, and all the usual luxuries. The room also had some nice touches like tasteful books, and magazines, and more importantly hardly any of that crappy hotel junk - branded leaflets, cardboard ads, and 'selly' stuff you usually get. I hate that stuff. It felt very boutique, but in a more 'establishment' kind of way. Which we liked - timeless, well thought out, and unique. We hate to use the word 'classy', but our room kind of was. Lols.

The staff were pretty good too - courteous, polite, and extremely accommodating to our needs - endless room service, running quite late one night. The concierge was particularly helpful - answering all our questions and recommending some great places in the local area.

The building itself is well designed, with a stunning central staircase which kind of makes you want to walk up and down it endlessly. Maybe they could do more with that part of the building? The garden at the rear looks like it would be delightful in warmer weather, but was too cold for our stay. The hotel is situated in the heart of reading, but is tucked away enough to avoid any of the weekend hurly burly.

We ate in the restaurant on our first night, and the food was excellent - beautifully presented, and delicious. The Chef, I think he said his name was Michael(?), popped out to see how everyone was doing, which was a nice touch we thought. The selection of wine was surprisingly good too.

In short we had a fantastically decedent stay. We didn't leave the room that much, and why would you, when it was so nice? Plus the champagne wasn't too expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AdamTvw54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForburyGM, Front Office Manager at The Forbury Roseate, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2016

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team at The Forbury Hotel I would like to thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent two night stay with us in April. I certainly cannot thank you enough and I have passed your comments on to the entire team.

Our motto ‘We stay with you’ drives everything we do. It makes every moment of your stay a memorable one. It’s in the smile that greets you as you enter through our doors, the warmth and friendliness whilst you are here and the attention to detail that shows our passion in what we do.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Forbury Hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Michael Kaminski
Front of House Manager

frontofhousemanager@theforburyhotel.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 215 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2016

I stayed at the Forbury for a friend's wedding. The hotel is beautiful and the room was great. The bed was massive and having a Nespresso machine was lovely and fresh milk was in the fridge for us in the morning and makes all the difference to the little plastic pots of UHT. The bathroom had Molton Brown toiletries and the floor was heated. Beautiful big bath and shower was so good I didn't want to come out. I am fussy, read my other reviews and you will see. The only tiny criticism was the coffee at breakfast was very weak and with milk it looked more like tea. The breakfast buffet was varied and the cooked breakfast scrummy. The scrambled egg was probably the best I have ever had. Really enjoyed our stay and the venue for a wedding was ideal as it was full of character and the food was tasty too. We were very appreciative of being allowed into our room early to get changed for the wedding.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank minkthemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForburyGM, Front Office Manager at The Forbury Roseate, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay with us at The Forbury Hotel.

I have passed your comments on to the team, in particular to our kitchen brigade. They were particularly delighted to hear that the cooked eggs were the best you have ever had.

On behalf of the entire team here at The Forbury Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Michael Kaminski
Front of House Manager

frontofhousemanager@theforburyhotel.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016

We were so disappointed to be placed in an appartment in a building next to the hotel instead of the superior room we had booked. The room was clean,but in no way romantic like the ones displayed on the website! When we asked for the possibility to change into a kingsize bedroom the receptionist gave nothing but a clearcut No!

Stayed: April 2016
3  Thank Swisstraveler53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForburyGM, Front Office Manager at The Forbury Roseate, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2016

Dear Guest,

As we had discussed previously on the telephone, the room type booked by you was in fact an apartment and the reason we could not move you to another room was simply because we did not have any other rooms available throughout your stay.

I have since tried calling you again and I have also sent you a private message. Please could you get in touch with me on the email address below at your earliest convenience.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours Sincerely,

Michael Kaminski
Front of House Manager

frontofhousemanager@theforburyhotel.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2016

We got married at the Forbury hotel in July 2015. The staff were amazing and extremely helpful!
The rooms are gorgeous and the food is delicious.
I would recommend anyone looking for a small wedding with a bit of character then to book this venue.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank clairebear1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForburyGM, Front Office Manager at The Forbury Roseate, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Dear Guest,

I was delighted to read that the team were all amazing and very helpful and that you were well looked after when you got married at The Forbury Hotel in July of last year.

Why not celebrate your first year anniversary with us this year? I would certainly be very happy to look after your reservation personally.

In the meantime, if there is anything I can be of assistance of, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Yours Sincerely,

Michael Kaminski
Front of House Manager

frontofhousemanager@theforburyhotel.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016

When looking for somewhere to stay in Reading, look no further. This is the place. Beautifully decorated rooms and public areas. Very friendly staff. We stayed there as friends and family the night before our daughter got married at a nearby venue. They could not have been more helpful. Treat yourself.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ForburyGM, Front Office Manager at The Forbury Roseate, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your glowing review of your stay with us at The Forbury Hotel. We are indeed the place to be when in Reading, whether it be for an overnight stay or simply to enjoy a cocktail in our Cerise Bar.

I have shared your comments with the entire team, which has brought a smile to their faces knowing that they have exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Michael Kaminski
Front of House Manager

frontofhousemanager@theforburyhotel.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reading
0.3 km away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,079 reviews
2.9 km away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 31 in Reading
1,957 reviews
1.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.7 km away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#8 of 31 in Reading
2,590 reviews
28.1 km away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forbury Roseate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forbury Roseate

Address: 26 The Forbury, Reading RG1 3EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Reading
#1 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#2 Luxury Hotel in Reading
Price Range: €119 - €316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Forbury Roseate 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury hotel with a private house feel, The Forbury has been designed to meet the needs of the single business person or couple seeking refuge from the “rat race”. The bedrooms and suites provide a sumptuous and stimulating environment. Every feature has been designed with comfort in mind. From huge beds with the finest Egyptian cotton sheets to American walnut floors with underfloor heating and fine Italian chrome bath fittings, nothing has been overlooked. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Forbury Roseate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forbury Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing