We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking”
Review of Crescent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crescent Hotel
Ranked #30 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Dirty hotel, dirty rooms, dirty bathroom, flannels not towels, old, tired looking. Looks nothing like it did in on booking.com. Update your pics, fix the mould and damp, make sure room are warm before you enter and not -1c and reduce your price £68 is bloody expensive for this hole (and to most that's cheap) Believe me you would rather sleep on the streets then stay there. STAY AWAY FOLKS.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Deev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

Booked this hotel in an error so decided to bear with it entered the room and it was a bad start floor board are moving, toilet flush not working beds are moving apart. Quilt and pillows stinks like hell. The people upstairs were jumping all night could not sleep there was no staff to complaint about. Then when went for breakfast at 8:30 they said it just finished we only server 7:00 till 8:30 am so we then complaint about all issues the owner said you booked a cheap hotel thats what you get. What else can you expect we are like that if you like it ? and went in his room.
Its a big no no !! For this horrible place..

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank abhishek-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed here when going on a night out with friends in Reading. The room cost me £50 and was easily worth that.

The hotel is not fancy but the room was easily as quality as some of the travelodges I've stayed at.

Sure I wouldn't take the girlfriend there, but you get what you pay for and for £50 I will gladly stay there again.

The other reviewers clearly do so research on their hotels and were for some reason imaginging 5* for 2* price.

If you want some central and cheap for a quick overnighter, book this.

If you want luxury. Pay more elsewhere

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

This is a very poorly run hotel! No hotel at all, more like a hostel! A total rip off, you pay a lot of money for the poor standard of rooms. There is no lounge or communal area such as a bar. I had to be at my training course nearby at 9am but breakfast wasn't ready until 8:30. the taxi I asked to book the night before was booked for the correct time but wrong destination. The hotel owner was very reserved and didn't really enquire at all if everything was satisfactory - it left us feeling that he runs the place solely for the money not for his guests. If you get decent service you don't mind paying the high London rates but it was truly awful! So awful that we started reading other reviews on here and couldn't stop laughing at the outrageous reviews! We booked on booking.com where the reviews were very good and photos of the place looked lovely and of a comfortable place. In reality this place has been neglected for many years and is not worth the money. Be aware there are no refunds!
Strongly recommend to stay away until it is run to an acceptable standard!
Just a couple of photos that look very different to their website and to booking.com listing.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
2  Thank Kathrin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016

Having read what the majority of fellow reviewers here have been through at this hotel, I can only say I must have been one of the few relatively lucky ones.
The entire building is shabby and run down and gives the thorough impression that the owners don't give a toss. And as at least one other person here has pointed out, they make you pay when you arrive, before seeing your room, rather than on check-out as most hotels do — which I also suspect is likely because they've had too many people leave without paying.
That said, I must say my room (single with shared bathroom) was actually quite good, in contrast to what many others have had. The door lock worked, there were no bad smells, the bedding was clean, the bed was really quite comfortable, and the room was overall in better condition than I'd expected from the rest of the building. So it really wasn't too bad for just one night.
The shared bathroom (downstairs) was pretty grotty and there was no soap and no paper towels for the basin by the loo. The shower was only moderately hot even on the highest setting and didn't have much water pressure despite being a power shower, but at least it worked.
Cooked breakfast was OK. Well, the scrambled eggs were spongy and tasteless and obviously made in a microwave, but the toast and baked beans and hash brown were all right (well, it would be harder to ruin those). I wouldn't have felt safe ordering sausages or bacon, though, with the overall quality (or lack thereof) of the place...
In summary, for someone looking for a cheap no-frills place to stay near the M4 for only one night, it was just tolerable — about the standard of some of the crummiest youth hostels I've stayed in. But I wouldn't go back again, and having read so many other reviewers' experiences that were far worse — including some very recent ones — it's pretty obvious that this hotel is very hit-and-miss, and with far more misses than hits. Don't risk it, guys and girls. If a hotel leaves so many guests appalled, fed up and outright disgusted as this one obviously does, it doesn't deserve to remain in business. Don't give them your money — go for somewhere that actually has some standards. I certainly will next time.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Courtenay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaz121, Front Office Manager at Crescent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Thank you for feedback. It proves our point that if the hotel is on low ranking,Even you could not find any fault during your stay, you still need to give low score to follow the pattern. I am sure if you were staying in high rating hotel you must have given them 10 out of 10.
So as per your comments you are disappointed why you had good stay.We agree with you there are so many hotels around to choose from.But the main factor is budget.If you have limited budget like you had, we are right choice.We offer as per your comments, comfy bed, clean bedding,nice and clean room with hot shower.We offer very good quality breakfast ( you are reluctant to appreciate) with 4 star hygiene rating.
Please bear in mind Fiat and BMW are both cars,serve the same purpose.Are they can be same? answer is no.The big difference between them is price.Fiat person can not ask for all the luxury of BMW.
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.9 km away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#13 of 31 in Reading
144 reviews
1.6 km away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#14 of 31 in Reading
981 reviews
1.1 km away
Great Expectations Hotel & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Bath Hotel
Bath Hotel
#28 of 31 in Reading
104 reviews
2 km away
Ibis Styles Reading Oxford Rd
1.1 km away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Hotel

Address: 35 Coley Avenue, Reading RG1 6LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Price Range: €53 - €119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Crescent Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing