We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Butter Chicken”
Review of House of Flavours

House of Flavours
Ranked #56 of 687 Restaurants in Reading
Price range: US$13 - US$38
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: House of Flavours brings the ultimate, authentic Indian fine dining experience to the Reading. A company deeply committed to setting standards in excellence and quality, its innovative yet traditional cuisine and impeccable service delivers just that, by effortlessly combining the contemporary with traditional. Elegant surroundings and scrumptious cuisine which leaves you feeling like a royal is what you can expect. Come and enjoy the best of Indian Cuisine at House of Flavours!
Reviewed 8 October 2015

Good food in a nice place. Everything was good, but the butter chicken was exceptional, which is a personal favourite.

Date of visit: October 2015
1  Thank lllllllllllllllllll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

498 - 502 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2015 via mobile

Wow, trip advisor you did it again. Not sure where to go on this evening whilst away on business but your scoring hit this place right place in Reading...its a must if you like good food. Had the lamb chop curry..yumyum

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2015 via mobile

I have eaten here on several occasions and have never been disappointed. A great atmosphere, friendly engaged staff and exceptional food. I especially recommend the Punjabi style chicken on the bone - awesome!!!! Only problem is they serve more than I can eat and I hate leaving anything that's so nice.
If you enjoy Indian food it's a must if your looking for a good restaurant in the area - enjoy

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2015

Having eaten at 'House of Flavours' couple of times, I can say that the food is absolutely delicious and the flavors are 100% authentic! The ambiance is also very warm and the decor very tasteful. I'm north Indian and this is by far one of the best Indian restaurants I've visited in Europe and, believe me, I've been to a LOT of Indian restaurants across the world!
It does appear a bit expensive but considering what the average price levels of Indian restaurants in the UK and in Europe are, this is very much a value for money proposition.
My only disappointment is (if I can call it that)-their food tends to be quite hot and despite requesting the waitress and the Manager both the times we were there to make everything as mild as possible (since my European husband can't handle chillies), there wasn't any change and the Daal was served with large chunks of red chillies!
So if you're allergic to chillies or can't handle hot spices, this might not be the right place for you since the food has very strong flavors.
Having said that, if you want authentic north Indian cuisines, this is where you need to dine!

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fussy_virgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015

This was an amazing experience when it comes to Indian cuisine....we visited on a Monday evening and it was very busy. I think this just shows the restaurants popularity....if you love Indian food then this is a must if you visit Reading....
A very wide choice on the menu to suit everyone's taste.. We ordered onion Bhaji to start, with poppadoms and a chutney tray. Main course was a lamb Karahi, Zaffrani Jumbo Tiger Prawn & mushroom rice, and not forgetting the the best ever nan bread which was Dates & Ginger Naan.
I would highly recommend this restaurant and would love to return one day.

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed House of Flavours also viewed

 
Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to House of Flavours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing