We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$86
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/10/22
Expedia.com
US$87
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$82
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/10/22
Hotels.comUS$87
PricelineUS$86
TravelocityUS$86
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveller rating
234
104
19
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
234
104
19
4
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 365 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2019

I've stayed here a couple of times in June and will be returning in July. The rooms are very comfortable, and the staff very friendly and helpful. There is no lift, but that's not a problem as without asking the staff carry all your bags to your room. Breakfast is very good, and again the service is excellent. I often visit Reading, and this will be my place to stay of choice.

Room tip: I like room 11
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Alan_D_Hudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BeechHouseReading, Manager at Beech House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2019

Dear Mr Hudson,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you were happy with all aspects of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2019

This hotel has a lot to commend it. It is spacious, very peaceful and friendly. The staff are very polite and make a point of greeting guests on arrival and checking they have what they need. The pleasant atmosphere is such that guests chat to each other.
Some details let it down slightly e.g. the scratchy blanket on the bed was very uncomfortable and there was a lack of information about amenities e.g. I didn't know there was a garden until I was leaving and although there was an area marked 'bar' (and one guest in the lounge had a drink in his hand), there didn't seem to be one. Some of the fixtures are a bit loose e.g. taps, a window blind. This is a shame because otherwise, the hotel is very well appointed, with nice furniture etc. and lots of thoughtful touches. Also, the eccentric layout of my room could bother some people because it feels less private to have the bathroom and loo across a small landing. Plus you have to remember to either wedge the door open or take your room key with you when you go to the bathroom.
I would definitely stay there again. If you want anonymous chain where every room is absolutely identical, everyone ignores you and you know exactly what to expect without any frills, this hotel is not for you. If you appreciate the personal touch, value peace and quiet, like plenty of space, appreciate good manners and don't mind the occasional quirk, then you should book this hotel.

Date of stay: June 2019
1  Thank PuffPastry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BeechHouseReading, Manager at Beech House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2019

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are delighted that overall you were happy with most aspects of your stay. We have taken note of the points raised by yourself and have passed the details to the staff concerned. The maintenance issues should have been picked up and rectified before your arrival, and we can therefore only apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused.

We do not have a bar in the hotel, however if a guest wishes to have a glass of wine or something similar that they have brought with them, then they are welcome to. The garden is at the back of the hotel, and is normally shown to guests on their arrival, unfortunately this did not happen for which once again we can only apologise.

We highly appreciate your recommendation, and trust we will see you again on your next visit to Reading where hopefully you will have time to spend in the lovely garden.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2019

We stayed in room 9. We did not like the fact our ensuite was not infact within the bedroom but outside the bedroom door at the top of the landing. Other than that we had great night's sleep in a huge bed. Breakfast was great and everyone we dealt with was friendly,efficient and welcoming. There is no bar or restaurant in this hotel though there is a beefeater pub just across the road. Plenty of off street parking in the hotel grounds, close to a bus stop to central Reading. Would stay again but only in a room with genuine ensuite.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank thebriggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BeechHouseReading, Manager at Beech House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2019

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned, Room 9 has a different layout to the rest of the rooms and is more of a small suite layout. We have however noted your preference and will be happy to accommodate you in a different room on your next visit.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2019

wow that a fantastic hotel we had bedroom with one extra large double bed bath and shower room and a separate toilet and wash basin the hotel was so quiet and peaceful the breakfast was above standard I would recommend two everyone thank you for a lovely stay

Room tip: fantastic would recommend
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BeechHouseReading, Manager at Beech House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2019

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, and for your recommendation. It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Beech House in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2019 via mobile

I stayed here 5 nights. There was plenty of room for parking and someone was there to welcome me as soon as I arrived. The proprietor and staff could not have been more helpful and friendly, without being intrusive, and my special requests were met straightaway. The free wi fi worked well and everything else you would expect was there. There is also a lounge and a beautiful garden. A walk to the right will take you to a lovely local park and a Tesco Express but directly opposite is a Beefeater.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank travellerkMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BeechHouseReading, Manager at Beech House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and your lovely comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff were on hand to look after you. We hope to see you back at the Beech House on your next visit to Reading.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews