We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,144)
Filter reviews
1,144 results
Traveller rating
460
418
172
54
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
460
418
172
54
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the club lounge river view executive room secure parking caversham bridge spa facilities duty manager health club town centre steam room car park lovely hotel weekend break reception staff hotel is situated sunday morning breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1,144 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

Spent 1 night a stopover on way to Bournemouth. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable Free parking in a secure car park. The service and breakfast was excellent. Overlooking the Thames river.
A great hotel

Could have been warned that the festival was on though

Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
Thank carolsholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear carolsholiday,
Thank you so much for your glowing review of Crowne Plaza Reading ! Great to read you had such positive experiences relating to our lovely team, food, service and location ! Hope to see you again very soon - perhaps on the way back from Bournemouth ! Thank you.
Best wishes,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

Firstly we had to complain about breakfast on our first morning. Ran out of food. Short staffed. Cold food as there was no food there at the same time. 20 mins wait for anything. We complained in writing and got a reply from the IHG service team that and then the receptionist at the front desk Coleen would sort it out when we left. She tried to negotiate and only give a partial refund for the breakfasts we could not eat that day. After telling her no we go the full breakfast money back. Could not believe it when we should have had compensation really on top of that but as there was a long queue behind us (and only her on front desk) we let it go. What a cheek and a liberty to try and deal with us that way.

On a positive note this is a good quality hotel. Beds were comfortable but they need new pillows (ours were lumpy and not comfortable). The bar area is good and we found the bar service excellent.

Their after sales service from the IHG Service who wrote a good game telling us we would be contacted by the managers (never happened) to the receptionist trying to "do a deal" left a very very sour taste.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank stevegoodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Dear stevegoodwin,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review about your stay with us at Crowne Plaza Reading.
Great to see some really strong positives to your stay but I am so sorry that we let you down with regards breakfast and how we dealt with your concerns following this. We truly experienced a complete one-off in terms of sheer volume of breakfasts diners for a number of highly exceptional reasons. Needless to say we have put in comprehensive, robust measures to ever avoid this happening again. We pride ourselves on our exceptional service and high quality food in a beautiful Thames-side location and this is our consistent standard. Team empowerment training has also been immediately re-implemented.
I would kindly urge you to contact me via email directly on gm@cp-reading.co.uk so I can resolve your concerns to your complete satisfaction.
Thank you again for the review and looking forward to hearing from you.
Very best wishes,
James Gardiner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Upon arrival there was only one receptionist with at least 6 people waiting to check in. After a few minutes a second receptionist arrived. Check in then went smoothly. Checked in to a Club Room on Friday evening which gave access to the Club Lounge with Happy 2 hours between 5pm & 7pm. There were very limited drinks included in the Happy 2 hours & no spirits at all. We were a party of 6 guests with 3 being G&T drinkers. The snacks disappeared very quickly but were not replenished very quickly. There was no staff member in the Lounge to see what was needing to be replaced.
At breakfast on the Saturday morning myself & my wife asked if it was possible to have a table for 6 as we had all arranged to meet at 9am. We were told that it was not possible to book tables at breakfast. It was pointed out that we were not asking to book a table but to have a table for 6. Again we were told that it was not possible. It was approx. 8:45am when we asked. Then a waiter walked to the desk & said to the restaurant greeter that it was possible to move 2 tables together that were close to the buffet & were not being used. Andrei moved the tables & came to tell us that we now had a table for 6. Thank you Andrei.... We met Andrei a few more times after this & he was by far the best waiter in the restaurant.
Late Saturday afternoon we returned to the hotel after a day spent walking the Thames Path. The women went into the toilets outside the Club Lounge & discovered that they were less than clean. The condition of the toilets were pointed out to the receptionist & after approx. 1/2 an hour they were cleaned....
Once again when we entered the Club Lounge there were no snacks available. Biscuits/cakes completely empty & only one packet of crisps....
The room was very clean & comfortable. The noise cancelling windows were wonderful to stop the noise from the swans & the air conditioning was good.
The location of this hotel is wonderful with superb access to the city & the Thames path.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilnDebs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear PhilnDebs11,

Thank you very much for the review of your stay Crowne Plaza Reading. Your feedback really is very much appreciated. I was sorry to see that there were certain elements of your experience where we could have done much better and I do apologise for us not meeting your expectations in these areas.
Your comments have absolutely been noted and I am reviewing them with the management team to ensure immediate measures are put in place in response to the areas we could have improved on from your experience.
Thank you for your lovely feedback about Andrei - we will make sure we share this with him.
I very much hope we can welcome you back again in the future and am sure that you will have a perfect time with us. I would also love to connect with you directly if you would like to email me on gm@cp-reading.co.uk. I very much hope to hear from you and thank you again for your feedback.

Best wishes,
James Gardiner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza at Caversham Bridge,we were in Reading for the football on Friday night and stayed till Sunday.The hotel is right on the Thames,we had a club room with a balcony overlooking the river.The club lounge includes free alcoholic drinks and nibbles between 5 and 7 o'clock .There is a really good gym and indoor swimming pool with sauna steam room and jacuzzi .Good restaurants and pubs within a short walk.We took a cruise on the river from the Getty right at the hotel.

Stayed: August 2018
1  Thank raymondpeel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Dear raymondpeel22,
Thanks for posting your lovely review ! Great to see you enjoyed our hotel and it's fabulous location ! Hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Very mediocre, rooms could do with a bit of a refurb as they were a bit dated although the bed was very comfy.
Bar was very expensive but you kind of expect that at a hotel.
Gym, pool, Sauna etc we were very happy with.
Didn’t spent a lot of time in the hotel as we were just up for the weekend but it served its purpose and the staff were friendly.
Would recommend for anyone looking for a cheap nights stay near Reading city centre as just a 10 minute walk away.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Harriet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations C, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Dear Harriet B,
Thank you for your review. Lot's of lovely positives about your stay - thank you very much for sharing in your post.
We do carefully bench-mark our pricing to remain competitive in our market and offer an outstanding selection of food and drinks to suit all tastes and budgets. Please try our new menu which has just been launched with many tasty new dishes !
Hope you get to spend some more time with us on your next visit.
Very best wishes,
James Gardiner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews