We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a meal but wouldn't recommend to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Duke of Marlborough
Ranked #1 of 13 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We wanted a night away with our 6 month old but ended up driving home after about an hour in bed!

We checked in at lunch time and even under the bed cover the bed looked uncomfortable. But we headed straight to the restaurant to have lunch. Good hearty meal with good service - nothing to fault there.

We headed back to the room to get ready to head into Woodstock and turned back the bed for our daughter to play on while we got ready...and discovered hair (not head) from probably the previous occupant. They came and changed the bed for us immediately although we also had a chance to notice how stained and holey the blankets were too.

The hotel is a drive from Woodstock but we had no trouble finding parking and had a lovely cream tea before heading back to the hotel.

Things went downhill from there. We got our daughter ready for bed (yes the plumbing is incredibly noisy as another guest has mentioned) and I got into bed to feed her. The bed was the most uncomfortable I have ever seen (and we've travelled around the world on a tight budget) as there was no bed on top of the springs. After a couple of hours we gave up and decided to drive home!

We may have obviously got a bad room, but it certainly wasn't worth the £110 b&b we paid without using the b or having the b....! If you do book here avoid room 105 at all costs!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FECush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 328 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2010

We stayed for 1 night on the NOTW offer.

Location right next to main road very rural !
The accomodation is of a poor standard, plumbing noisy

Service Service Service - It was poor by any stretch of imagniation, the bar person was friendly and helpful yet the owner/ manager was an arrogant imbecile - slow service and ignoring us.

It took so long to order breakfast or get service that we walked out

Will never stay again, thank god i did not pay full price for the room !!

Stay away stay away

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beaker121974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

We stayed two nights on a "Times" Escape break, and were happy with the deal. The website gives an over-optimistic view of the 'rural charm' - it's on the main road, next to a Total garage - but the place is clean, the management and staff are friendly and the rooms [a modern annexe set back from the road] have efficient heaters, modern plumbing, a comfortable bed, TV that works and double-glazing. Traffic noise is peceptible with the window ajar, but the road quietens at night. Food was plain but good - a 'special', venison fillet, was excellent - and portion control right. We'd go again for a short break.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancophileHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

This hotel was not worth the price! Bright, gaudy decor plus loudest and longest toilet flush ever heard! It's also a long way out of town - need to take a bus to get to Blenheim Palace. Many better hotels in town within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cassady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

This is a great little inn, which has had some rooms built at the back. The rooms themselves are dark due to small windows and dark furnishings but very comfortable and well furnished and very clean. At the end of the day you only sleep in it. The bathrooms need a little updating but were large and very clean.
Good service from owner and staff. The food is very good and very reasonably priced. Small cosy restaurant. Very good breakfast too.
Excellent parking. We just left our car there and jumped on the bus which is opposite side of the road to the inn and went into Oxford and Woodstock. About 30 mins to Oxford. If you are going to Blenheim Palace its only about a 5 min drive or so.
Woodstock is a lovely little town to visit but parking is horrendous so I'd leave my car at the hotel and jump on the bus.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetochill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
2.8 km away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,674 reviews
2.9 km away
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
2.9 km away
Feathers Hotel
Feathers Hotel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,370 reviews
2.9 km away
Marlborough Arms
Marlborough Arms
#2 of 13 in Woodstock
378 reviews
2.8 km away
The Blenheim Buttery
The Blenheim Buttery
#4 of 13 in Woodstock
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Marlborough

Address: Woodleys, Woodstock OX20 1HT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range: €108 - €144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke of Marlborough 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Marlborough is a 13 bedroomed historic coaching inn situated just outside the well known town of Woodstock and a stone's throw from Blenheim Palace, the birthplace of Sir Winston Churchill. The hotel features a bar, restaurant and large function room serving a wide selection of traditional English food with many ingredients locally-sourced. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available in public areas and free parking is available for all guests. Recently refurbished the bedrooms at the Duke of Marlborough are well appointed and spacious, situated over two floors overlooking the grounds of the hotel. Located just 2 miles from Woodstock, the Duke offers easy access to the historic city of Oxford, which is just a 25-minute drive away. Blenheim Palace is only a 5-minute journey by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Duke of Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Marlborough Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing