We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blenheim”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Blenheim Palace

Blenheim Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
US$103.55*
and up
Blenheim Palace and the Cotswolds Tour from London
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Home to the 12th Duke and Duchess of Marlborough and birthplace of Sir Winston Churchill,, Blenheim Palace is a masterpiece of Baroque architecture that boasts over 300 years of history to discover. This World Heritage Site is set within more than 2000 acres of Parkland landscaped by 'Capability' Brown, and the Palace itself houses some of the finest collections of antique furniture in Europe.Situated in Woodstock, just 8 miles from Oxford, Blenheim Palace is Britain's Greatest Palace and offers visitors a precious time, every time.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blenheim”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Loved the fact that there's something for everybody. We had beautiful spring weather so it was a pleasure walking the park lands and gardens.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank MichelleLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,774 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,984
    1,176
    349
    169
    96
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middle England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Something for everyone.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Beautiful day out. John Piper exhibition very good , especially with the organ playing in the background. Far too early for the daffodils.Herons nesting on the island in the middle of the lake.Worth a short walk into woodstock to visit the church and the museum(free). Excellent and hands on for kids.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MiddleEnglandCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

A visit mid February with rain and wind outside, but the inside was a great surprise!
We joined the guide tour and she was very knowledgeable and quite gracious. We also visited the Churchill exhibition, and from his letters it turns out that pour guy was very lonely as a child/teenager due to living mainly in boardig schools.
Beautiful styles inside, and a good history lesson for a foreigner who wants to learn about British aristocracy.
We were able to transform our tickets into annual passes and are already planning a return visit in the summer to enjoy the park and gardens.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandybel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The Jewel of England - stunning!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This place blows me away every time I go through the gates - speak to the people that work there and every day they go to work they see something different and something magnificent.
It was SO beautiful. Yes, it was expensive, but no more so than other UK attractions.
We also attended the wedding fair - I would LOVE to get married here (need to save!).
The grounds are stunning, kept SO well
Well done everyone there. It is wonderful. I will be back SOON!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great for overseas visitors”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

If you come from a country that has a shorter history than ours and no Monarchy that bestows honours and privileges upon upper class twerps then you may well find this a fascinating experience. The Churchill exhibition was good and in spring and summer you could spend hours in the grounds and around the water enjoying the views created by Capability Brown. (but just remember that it is a false landscape that was created by the hard manual labours of working men and women for the benefit of the Landed Gentry....and that one of the reasons you are allowed in at a cost of £20 quid is to keep the ancestors of the original owners in the style to which they have been accustomed)

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blenheim Palace also viewed

 

Been to Blenheim Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing