We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive cooking”
Review of Brasserie Blanc

Brasserie Blanc
Ranked #31 of 703 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$53
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: This was our first Brasserie Blanc which opened over 21 years ago when Raymond Blanc was just a boy! Now with a truly beautiful new look, we are open every day from breakfast right through to dinner, and everything in between. We love it here in the heart of the Jericho area of Oxford where we serve real French food in our relaxed and welcoming, light filled space. The restaurant is always buzzing with our many regulars, new faces and the many tourists visiting this charming part of the city. Ask about our private dining room if you have a special occasion in mind or if you want a meeting space with great French coffee on tap.
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Excellent lunch yesterday. Very impressed by the soufflés in particular. Both the savoury cheese one and the pistachio & choc. It was light as a feather and so tasty! The bread was also delicious. Our waitress was sweet and service was swift. This is the best food we have had in oxford.

Only one minor suggestion to improve service: The gentleman who greeted us failed to take my coat (or anyone else’s he seated) and he didn’t pull the chair out for me he just pointed to the table and walked off. Was professional but not that welcoming or friendly. Appreciate he was busy but only takes a second to pull a chair out and to at least tell people where they can hang their coats. Otherwise it feels like you are in a pub not a restaurant.

The food was the real highlight here. Talented chefs and a good menu.

Thank donnakebab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrasserieBlancOxford, Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Dear Donna,

Thank you very much for taking time to leave a review about your recent experience.

We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your meal especially that our souffles are the most popular dishes on the menu. I have passed your comments to our kitchen team they will be delighted to hear such great comments.
We appreciate your constructive criticism as it helps us improve in the future.

We would love to see you again soon!
Kind Regards,

BB - Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 81 of 1,292 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

Visited BB on Valentines day with my wife and both enjoyed the attentive and professional service from restaurant staff and good food. Best steak tartare in the county

Thank gunarsh2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrasserieBlancOxford, Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Dear gunarsh2017,

Thank you very much for such a wonderful review and for choosing BB - Oxford for Valentine's.

We are really glad you and your wife enjoyed our dishes as well as the service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you both again soon.

Kind Regards,

BB - Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

For a restaurant that seems in the same vein as Cote or Cafe Rouge we were a little disappointed. The food was slightly lacklustre and lacking much panache. Our starters were good, but Moules Mariniere and French Onion Soup are not overly complex. The steak was quite good but the belly pork was underwhelming. The Normandy Apple Pie was clearly sliced out of a box and sprinkled with icing sugar.

Too pricey for this quality of food.

1  Thank Philjacques1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrasserieBlancOxford, Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Dear Philjacques1,

Thank you very much for coming to BB - Oxford and taking the time to leave your thoughts. Of course the last thing we want to hear is our guests leaving unhappy and would have loved this comments to be brought to our attention so we could have replaced a dish that was not of your liking.

All our food is freshly made on a daily basis, including all the desserts. We will pass your comments into our kitchen team to discuss.

We hope to see you again soon as we are certain your experience will be much better on your next visit.

Regards,

BB - Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

Visited in a large group (5 adults, 3 children) and had a lovely big table, not squashed at all. Good wine list, food (a la carte) had lovely choices, and there was enough to suit meat eaters and vegetarians. They also produced a dairy free menu for 2 of our party, which was great as it was almost the same menu with the dairy left out (so still lots of choice - which doesn't always happen!). Nice children's menu for our youngest child, which was brought at the same time as our starters, as we requested. My food was delicious (excellent cheese souffle), and the atmosphere was lovely. Service a bit slow but only a couple of staff working, so to be expected. Would visit again!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shmaggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrasserieBlancOxford, Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Dear Shmaggle,

Thank you very much for coming to BB - Oxford and for taking the time to leave a review.

It is very rewarding when our guests appreciate little things such as our Gf & DF Menu and our delicious kid's menu for our little guests.

Once again, thanks s much for your lovely comments!. Accept our apology if the service was on the slow side on this occasion, however we are very happy you will come back soon.

Regards,

BB - Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

Lovely little restaurant serving good food at a reasonable price. Service left a little to be desired as we had to wait for long periods between courses. Wine a bit expensive. Facilities very clean and tidy.

Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrasserieBlancOxford, Manager at Brasserie Blanc, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Dear Joe,

Thank you very much for coming to BB - Oxford and letting us know your thoughts about your recent experience.

Please accept our apology if the food took a little longer than normal, not the norm in our site and something we would look into.

We hope we can see you again soon as we are certain this was a one off.

Best wishes,

BB - Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie Blanc also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Brasserie Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing