We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of Sasi's Thai

Sasi's Thai
Ranked #43 of 740 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Description: Sasi cooks delicious fresh thai, lao and isan food upstairs daily, every Monday to Saturday (9.30 to 5.30Pm). At lunchtime choose from what's just been cooked, but at other times special requests can be met. Thai food ingredients (in case you want to do Thai cooking at home) all available downstairs, in Oxford's beautiful old (1857) covered market.
Restaurant details
Description: Sasi cooks delicious fresh thai, lao and isan food upstairs daily, every Monday to Saturday (9.30 to 5.30Pm). At lunchtime choose from what's just been cooked, but at other times special requests can be met. Thai food ingredients (in case you want to do Thai cooking at home) all available downstairs, in Oxford's beautiful old (1857) covered market.
Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

Small, unfussy little restaurant in the Covered Market. The food is the absolute star of the show, so delicious and great value. I had the veggie Pad Thai and the red fish curry and would strongly recommend both. I wish I lived in Oxford so I could go more regularly!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank rachel_moran1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2018 via mobile

With so much choice in the market it was hard to decide on what to have for lunch.. That was until we smelt Sasi’s

Thai food couldn’t have been further from my mind but the combination authentic Asian spices and the sign outside saying Veggie Pad Thai changed that in an instant..

Despite hitting lunchtime rush hour they didn’t flinch at the fact that we were vegan either and brought us out a specially made Tofu Pad Thai within minutes.. A dish that was so fabulous it lasted even less time on our plates! Possibly the best lunch £7.50 can buy!

The seating arrangements are special too.. It’s just long benches and large tables where any Tom, Dick and Harry can pitch up next to you to scoff down their lunch before bopping off back to their day job.. It was almost like being back at school except with suits and soy sauce :)

A truly unique dining experience that one hopes to have the pleasure of enjoying again!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank BloHame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

My quest for Oxford's best value lunch continued at Sasi's Thai in the covered market. This is a no nonsense cafe selling steaming plates of Thai dishes - a mixture of daily specials and your standard curries. Fast service, cramped eating areas but at £15 plus drinks for two this is very good value. Go early.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JRobinF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

Not much to say except good Thai food and exceptional value (£15 to fill 2 people!)
Very busy which is obviously a good sign but can be difficult to get a table as you queue for food then have to find a table and there just aren’t enough for the quantity of people.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank AlpacaMyBagsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

Great for a week day lunch: fast service, ok prices, tasty food! I had green curry and it was good. I would recommend it.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sasi's Thai also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Sasi's Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing