We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Oxford food truck period.”
Review of Ahmed's Bar B-Q

Ahmed's Bar B-Q
Ranked #422 of 742 Restaurants in Oxford
Restaurant details
Reviewed 29 January 2017

I'm gonna be honest, I don't normally write reviews. But Ahmed's incredibly low score is a tragedy, and is in no way an honest reflection of the quality of food and staff. On a quiet evening, there are maybe 2 or 3 people queueing, on a busy night it can hit 30. Sure, it doesn't have the rep or the location of Hassans, but the food is on another plane. I must've tried everything on the menu, and still haven't found a single dish I dislike. The doner tastes like real meat for gods sake, what more could you ask for?!? The hummus and coleslaw are fresh, the meat is beautifully prepared teppanyaki style before your eyes, and the chips are, well, I have no words. Gonna throw some shade here, but it seems strange that the only negative review is from a bloke called Hasan. Hmm. Either way, if you live in Oxford, and you haven't had an Ahmeds (sober or drunk) YOU HAVE NOT LIVED. Personally, I've converted 4 friends in the last week along, and more are coming round to the #AHMEDS>HASSANS #AHMEDS4LYF

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hanmas417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2015

The worst ever kebab i have ever tried. A mate suggested that it was on of the great kebab he had. Unfortunately, the worst meat mix kebab none of us could finish despite being super hungary. All binned at the end , shame{{{{

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Hasan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2015

Ahmed's kebab van is as valuable a resource to me as my college library and costs markedly less than £9000 per year. It opens not long after the end of informal hall, standing stalwart and resolute on the High Street as a glimmer of hope in the darkness of essay crises and drunken homeward stumbles. The quality of glorious artery-filling food is incomprehensible to the human mind. I would thoroughly recommend this restaurant to people on student budgets and recovering vegetarians from near and far.

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Reynald_de_Chatillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2014

Basically this was the best culinary experience of my life, Ahmed is an epic lad would definitely recommend you forget every other kebab van or fine dining institution in the country including hassans, and come to where its at,

Date of visit: November 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank true-runescapian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Best kebab van in Oxford, by far, step aside Hassan. Great food, great prices and great service. 10/10

Date of visit: March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank BenjaminWallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ahmed's Bar B-Q also viewed

 
Headington, Oxford
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Ahmed's Bar B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing