We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A hidden gem

This college was once a medieval hospital for "unlucky wretches", then a lunatic asylum. It now has... read more

Reviewed 2 April 2017
34Doris
,
Oxford, United Kingdom
good food

this has a good standard of food serving students & guests. There is a large range of choices at a... read more

Reviewed 9 October 2013
rosemary s
,
Oxford, United Kingdom
Read all 10 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Oxford
from US$15.06
More Info
from US$129.69
More Info
from US$64.19
More Info
from US$19.64
More Info
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
5
3
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
3
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2017

This college was once a medieval hospital for "unlucky wretches", then a lunatic asylum. It now has some attractive architecture, but is often overlooked. The staff are lovely and it's definitely worth a visit. Especially attractive is the sunken pond and natural spring, in the fellows' garden. Old Boys include Geoffrey Claggsworth (notoriously unsuccessful Victorian playwright) and Sydney Bone, the first Englishman to drown in Antarctica.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank 34Doris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016

I came to St Peter's while attending a conference in Oxford, and chose the College from the organisers' website. My room, however, turned out not to be at St Peter's main premises at New Inn Hall Street, but at a remote Annexe, and by the time I'd lugged my luggage there, I was feeling fairly worn. There was absolutely no signage in the street to identify the Annexe. The room was fairly startling too. No fridge of any kind, no electric kettle, not even a cup or glass. And no guide in the rooms to any of the facilities in the building. Fortunately, I'd brought a plastic mug with me, but I had to go out to buy a kettle at Debenhams. The fun started when I came back from dinner. The electronic key I'd received from the Porter, while it was still opening the gate, would not open the door to the building, and I had to traipse back to the Lodge to seek assistance. A porter came back with me, verified that his master key would not work, and went back to seek an over-ride tool. That did not work either, but another resident heard our knocking and opened the door manually from the inside. Clearly some systemic issues to address here. In the meantime, St Peter's is probably a College better avoided.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015

A beautiful and typical Oxford College. Choir sings in chapel each night at about 6pm. Formal Dinner in the dining hall is a great experience. Students in academic robes, grace said in Latin, Master of the College at the head table and a great three course meal. Vegetarians no problem, alternative menu deliver with a minimum of fuss.

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank Christine U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

this has a good standard of food serving students & guests. There is a large range of choices at a reasonable price. The staff are very helpful & attentive to the peoples needs.There are bed & breakfast options during the summer vacations which is convienent while visiting the city as it is in the city centre.

Date of experience: September 2013
1  Thank rosemary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Not as famous as the Magdalens or Mertons but much more inviting and on a personal scale. Try and go when you can hear the choir or an event in the chapel.

Date of experience: March 2013
1  Thank bigbadbob77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews