We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
23
28
23
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
28
23
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city centre iffley road excellent bus off street parking minute walk biscuits stayed for two nights oxford area full english breakfast tea coffee comfortable stay within walking distance comfortable room other hotels would definitely stay here again the bus visit oxford
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2017

This property whilst a little (perhaps one or two miles) outside the city heart is on an excellent bus line with frequent departures from only a few metres from the lodge. The bus fare was reasonable, from memory about 1pound 60 pence. The room was generous size and well appointed. The owner was very helpful in providing city map and information. The off street parking was generous and probably adequate for a full house, unlike some where only limited parking is available. The breakfast was prepared to order and very good. Wifi was available in the rooms and worked well. Good ensuite facilities. Overall great value.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colbar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

This booking was made very late on the 15 June and we stayed on the 17 June for one night. Good free car parking at the back of the property with a lovely neat and tidy garden. The hotel has just been refurbished and is immaculate. Easy check in, with helpful staff. My booking was for a twin ensuite room. However, when we went to the room, it was very small and had no windows that could be opened, only a sky light. This was not a problem in itself, but I should have been made aware that this was the case when I booked. The bathroom was tiny, so small in fact, that the sink was located in the bedroom. From the back and front of the hotel, you could see the other rooms all had windows, and I think that this room is somehow sandwiched between the others. Please just state the type of room it is with no window, and it would have been 5 stars. Having said all that, it was spotless, and very clean. Breakfast was fantastic, fresh fruit, a variety of cereals, yoghurt, and biscuits. A superb full English breakfast with tea/coffee, toast and a variety of preserves, which arrived in very quickly. This was cooked to perfectionn and delicious.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank susan0588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

Balkan Lodge is located on a busy junction on the Iffley Road, which means that some noise is inevitable. The bedrooms are small, too, but, that said, it offers good value for money and everything is clean and well maintained. The Wi-Fi works and the breakfast is good with cooked food served fresh to your table. There is a decent gastropub, The Magdalen Arms, within walking distance.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank uglboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed here 10th June, close to pubs and restaurants. Room smell a tad musty but not off putting, shower was over a bath so not good for people we knee issues to kneel up in the bath. Breakfast was good with a good selection. Could have done with some veggie sausage and dairy free alternatives. I would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank sandgrown09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

We had a very brief visit to Oxford and chose the Balkan lodge as it was close to where we needed to b.the owner was really freindly and very helpful.the hotel itself was very clean ,the bedrooms although basic were very comfortable and had everything you needed.breakfast was good and all in all I would recommend this hotel especially for short breaks.we visit Oxford regularly and some the other hotels are very expensive and not as good

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fairway15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews