We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
9
17
15
25
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
17
15
25
61
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2018

The other reviews say it all really. Best to avoid this place if you possible can. Walls and paint work dirty, the bed was clean (I think and I hope) although the sheets were very old. Towels old and small, no mirrors in the bedroom, chair and stool in the bedroom were badly stained, door to bathroom was very low height with no warning on it. Window in bedroom had to be forced shut. Didn't stay for breakfast..........

Room Tip: I doubt there is a good room
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

It is the dirtiest building I’ve ever stayed in. Mud in the bath tub. Every piece of metal in the room had rust. Spider webs everywhere. Dirty bed sheets. Staff had a horrible attitude. Wouldn’t stay again under any circumstances. Also the previous reviews regarding surcharges sound very odd. Will be checking my account.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

We arrived slightly earlier than check in so decided to see if it would be ok to at least leave bags there. Instead what we got was the owner shouting at us through the intercom. She then turned up five minutes later showed us where our room in the bungalow behind the main building and left.
The room was dated and filthy. The duvet covers were dirty! Mine had an old tomato seed on and the other bed had a questionable stain on that we hoped was make up. There were spider webs everywhere. The bathroom was dirty. The towels were grubby and not enough for all of us. There was no one about to complain to. When we left someone opened the front door stuck their head out and took the key off us. No asking how our trip had been.

I have never stayed anywhere so disgusting. I understand it is a low star rating but I still expect the basic standards of cleanliness.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank dizzyair89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Having paid £180 for 2 nights, I expected a lot more! We checked in 30 minutes earlier than we had asked for which didn't seem to go down well with the host. We were offered a choice of 2 rooms which was nice, but the rooms are incredibly basic and quite strangely decorated with a mix of framed pictures that are not hung on the wall, rather placed on the floor/any available space.

There were only 2 very small bottles of shampoo/shower gel in the room, which were barely sufficient for one person. There was a hole/cigarette burn in the duvet and no mirror in the room!

On the second night we heard a very loud disagreement between the host and one of the guests, which resulted in slammed doors and a lot of swearing. Breakfast is surplus and charged at £5 per head, and the tea/coffee facilities in the room were unclean and did not look as if they had been refreshed since the last guest.

Overall would not recommend or stay again. There are plenty of fab guest houses/b&b's in Oxford, but sadly this is not one of them!!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katrina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

We booked this place, which wasn't cheap, because it was a busy season and other places in Oxford were not available. It's a 40 m walk from the city centre or a £10 cab ride. The rooms were musty and dirty and the bedsheets were stained. The heating was operated intermittently and the room was quite cold at night. There seemed to be a single person trying to manage the set up an the place overall was shabby. Would not recommend

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank Ramdas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews