We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An offer I wouldnt want to refuse”
Review of The Rickety Press

The Rickety Press
Ranked #51 of 729 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Recently received a place in the good food guide 2013 after only 18 months. Thank you to everyone who has supported us along the way.Propped up a stones throw from the city center, the Rickety Press has fast become one of the go too foodie destinations in Oxford. Boasting a menu packed with locally sourced ingredients and top-notch suppliers, their kitchen has planted its refined, yet simple offering firmly on the map; whatever the Kitchen decides to cook, you can rest assured the dishes will be super tasty and highly accessible. Established favorites include its superb sharing steaks & their homemade made ice-creams set alongside an ever-changing choice of seasonal dishes. Behind the bar you will also find a refreshing variety of craft beers, cask marked ales, considered wines and house cocktails, drafted into a drinks list offering the perfect choice of tipples for every stage of your meal.
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Pub type ambiance in that style that has repurposed palettes and school chairs, but worked very well - being busy but just full.
We both had the "al capone" (?) burger + side of fries, both of which were delicious.
A bit of a wait at the bar was compensated for more than adequatley by friendly and helpful bar staff.
I'm told the beer was nice, but so was the fizzy water for the designated driver.
Definately on my list to go back to

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DavidUhlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at The Rickety Press, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you David, we're really happy you enjoyed your visit to The Rickety!

Put us as first on your list to come back to and we'll see you soon.

The Rickety

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

The pizza I orderd came out quick and hot with was good but when the waitress came over to se if everything was ok I started to tell her about it by by that time she had walked away. And there was a slight problem with my drink at the bar when I asked for a splash of Pepsi with my spirit the lad I was served by didn’t know quite what to do so the duty manager on shift tried to sort it out which ended up in me being skipped and someone Els being server instead. not a good start to my dinner it eventually got sorted out apart from that the atmosphere it good. That’s about it.

Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at The Rickety Press, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Sorry to hear about this dsimmonz29, this is not what we like to hear!

I know you told a a member of staff about your experience during your food, did you also mention it to a manager on shift? We would have been more than happy to accommodate and of your needs. We hope to see you again soon to get those stars up and more importantly for you to have a pleasant experience with us.

Take care,

The Rickety

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

We loved our lunch at Rickety Press. It is a slightly quirky fun place and It was my teenage daughter’s request to have lunch there as she had been twice before. The burger was delicious as were the cheese and truffle fries. The Kale Caesar with Chicken was also very good. Service was fine and the bar tender was very friendly. My only word of caution is it is quite hard to find parking near the restaurant so plan accordingly.

Thank PB0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at The Rickety Press, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Thank you so much for joining us Philippe B, we welcome you to come back for brunch very soon! Hopefully you can find a parking space easily next time.

The Rickety

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

We found this place on trip advisor and are so pleased we did! Great service, fab & quirky setting and really good food. Definitely worth a visit

Thank VRWills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Manager at The Rickety Press, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018
Google Translation

<3

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Took our granddaughter to try out the delights. She absolutely loved the mac and cheese perfect for her as she’s only 19 months old. Felt really welcome with her, high chairs are available and easy access to water.

Been back since for an after work treat. I had the best salad I have ever eaten and it was so filling I actually couldn’t finish it. My beer was also great and really cheap.

I am not sure what else I can ask for I love this place!

Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rickety Press also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Rickety Press? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing