We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,101)
Filter reviews
2,101 results
Traveller rating
592
857
453
147
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
592
857
453
147
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eastwyke house four pillars leisure facilities walk along the river tow path leisure club plenty of parking large hotel minute walk good size deluxe room steam room lovely hotel weekend break abingdon road town centre buffet style
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 2,101 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2018

A very enjoyable stay at this hotel. All the staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and beds very comfortable. We had dinner one night in the restaurant and breakfast both mornings and the food was delicious and plentiful (particularly the breakfast). The location of the hotel is great - away from the noise of the city but only a 15 minute walk along the pretty river path to the centre of town.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maps40975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindseyW1250, Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Dear Maps,

I am delighted to read such a wonderful review and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is wonderful that the team looked after you well, the room and location suited you and that dinner and breakfast were delicious. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

Location: Excellent. No need for a car. 15 min walk to the city centre, first 10 mins can be on the riverside path. Many buses stop at the end of the drive going to/from city centre. £1.10 in either direction.
Sleep Quality: Mattress comfy, one pillow lumpy but easily remedied as 2 spare pillows in cupboard. Duvet warm enough for time of year with no heating on. Bedlinen spotless.

Rooms: Really spacious. Nicely furnished. Well-provisioned - drinks-making supplies, biscuits (on arrival day), hairdryer, TV, fan, ironing board, iron, safe. Clean. Great view over lawn & water meadow beyond.
Bathroom: Adequate, if a little narrow, & tired. Shower over bath. Huge mirror which cleared quickly after showering. Efficient extractor. Toiletries good & some replenished daily. V clean.
Service: Excellent housekeeping team. Receptionists welcoming, efficient, helpful. Waiting staff in restaurant a bit haphazard & man on desk confused by our not having inclusive breakfast & being in 2 different rooms.
Food: 
Buffet breakfast excellent. Great range of foodstuffs, hot & cold. Space to move around & make choices without congestion. Only had one dinner, also excellent, especially with £5 voucher supplied when we booked table. Some tables arranged too close together & guests shown to adjoining tables even when few patrons to be accommodated.
Value: Food a bit pricey, rooms might also be considered pricey in a less popular city & location but, in the circumstances, good value provided.
Would happily return.

Room Tip: 25 & 27 - saw green w'peckers, jay, squirrels, & muntjac, horses in the field beyond. Rooms quiet, no cars outside.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filisur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindseyW1250, Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Dear Filisur,

Thank you very much for your review and for sharing your experience with us. I am delighted that on the whole you had a very positive experience. I can see you enjoyed the location, the rooms, the service and the food but with a few areas for improvement in the restaurant which we will take into consideration. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for one night for a weekend getaway and to visit some friends in Oxford.

The reception looks great, modern and clean. Check in was quick and the staff were all very friendly. But from that point on, everything was a little bit of a let down. The rooms are dated, and nowhere near as modern as the reception. The rooms are hot and stuffy, with no air conditioning, however they are clean. The walls are paper thin, I could hear every word of the conversation between 2 girls about their life dramas, and they weren't even talking that loudly.

The gym is adequate, but several pieces of equipment were missing. The swimming pool is tiny, but nice and warm so it's good for kids.

On the plus side, breakfast is very very good, and the location of the hotel is excellent. You come out of the grounds, turn right, walk straight for 10 minutes and you are in the town centre. If you turn left out of the hotel you have a great pub/restaurant called "Home". Also, my wife said her spa treatment, massage and facial, was very good at a reasonable price.

Parking is £7.50 per day/night which I thought was a bit annoying seeing as there is lots of parking on the hotel grounds. Instead, I parked on the road opposite the hotel which is free.

This hotel could be very good, but with all the niggles it isn't quite a 4 star hotel, but that wouldn't stop me from staying here again because the location is excellent.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Porkychop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey W, Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear guest,

I am incredibly sorry to hear about the disruptions to your stay with us despite the team working well to offer good service. We are working on a project to refurbish our rooms and gym and are looking into the issues mentioned in your review, we hope to have an update on this soon. I hope you chose to return and that we have been able to rectify the issues you raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

The rooms are large with a good ensuite,
however the standard double bed is rather small for two people.The Hotel was very accomodating and moved us to a room with a larger bed.
The staff were excellent and very friendly.The meals in the restaurant were outstanding and the Maître d Damian was very professional and attentive.Our stay was a very pleasant experience.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey W, Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear Jennifer,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and for your kind comments about our team. I will ensure that Damian is personally thanked for his hard work. We are working on a project to refurbish our bedrooms and the beds is something we are looking into. Hopefully we can have some action soon and welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

The husband and I booked a superior room for a mini break. Our room was spacious and modern (recently refurbished apparently) and very clean. Breakfast buffet was wonderful - so much choice. Setting was nice. Very peaceful and about a 15 minute walk to the edge of town along the river path.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey W, Manager at Oxford Spires Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear Jen,

Thank you so much for such a lovely review regarding your recent stay with us. The work into the city along the footpath is wonderful, specially in nice weather, and I am delighted you enjoyed our breakfast. We hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews