We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Oxford area delight”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The White House

Kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen
Lounge Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Kitchen
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Dining room
Dining room with view through kitchen to lounge
Kitchen
Ensuite bathroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
shower room
single bedroom - top floor
single bedroom - top floor
top floor
single bedroom
The White House
The path to town through the park
The River Cherwell, half way to town center across the park
Horses grazing 200m from the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Oxford, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
CRMilliga...
PARRSBORO
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Oxford area delight”
Reviewed 4 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked with fairly short notice but we really lucked out with the White House! My husband and I, along with our daughter and her fiancé and another friend all traveled to Oxford for a long weekend. The White House provided us with lots of bedrooms and a large comfortable living area and kitchen. The large master bedroom ensuite had a tub, perfect for soaking in to get rid of the London grime. Another bathroom with a shower was also on the second floor and a toilet on the ground floor. On the top level were two more bedrooms, perfect for young children, for a total of 5 bedrooms.

We had taken the train from London, so took a taxi the night we arrived but after that walked each day into Oxford, approx. 20-25 minutes and even walked to the train station on the day we left, a bit of a longer walk but doable.

Oxford is an amazing place to visit and the White House a great place to stay while visiting.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotti...
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The White House”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed with six in the house, plenty room for everyone. It's a very clean and light house. We all enjoyed our stay, in a very quiet environment but very close to the city center. A nice 10 minute walk trough a park will guide you to the lively city. Our next stay in Oxford will definitely be here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great dining room
Liked least: shower a little small
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DesleyEli...
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013

I stayed in The White House, Oxford for two months in the summer of 2013. The two double and o e single bedrooms were perfect for when my sisters came for short stays. There are also two attic bedrooms suitable for children.
The house is very well appointed including a good kitchen with everything you would need. An ensuite and a main bathroom is perfect.
But, it's the location of the house that was the standout feature for me. Bus stop just 100 metres down the road, a great convenience store nearby, and a fabulous easy walk into the city centre passing through fields (with cows) and a running weir. The house has a rear garden that could be lovely with a little attention and a separate dining room for great informal dining.
British free to air television is quite poor so connection to a basic pay TV package and a bigger TV would put this holiday let into the excellent range.
Owners are very helpful and friendly, they went out of their way for me.
I loved my stay at The White House and plan a revisit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The rear garden
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
León, Leon, Nicaragua
Reviewed 20 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and rooms and den for children on the top floor.
Liked least: Lack of a few things (hooks on backs of doors, extra towels)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing