We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,301)
Filter reviews
1,301 results
Traveller rating
864
332
75
21
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
864
332
75
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quod restaurant high street car park radcliffe camera modern art magpie university church perfect location lovely hotel bodleian library separate shower dreaming spires sister hotel boutique hotel reception staff fresh milk old parsonage
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,301 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2018

This hotel is a real gem. From the moment you arrive outside, you can tell you are somewhere special. The decor is very tasteful and the place has a serene feel, and also a lovely atmosphere. From the library to our bedroom, we loved the fabrics, colours and artwork. Diana, on reception, was really friendly, offered lots of advice of what to see and where to go in the city, and even organised a complimentary bottle of champagne in our room on arrival for my husband's bday. We didn't get to sample the restaurant but would love to come back and try it out - it must be good as it was always full of people! Breakfast was very good, especially the homemade granola! We wish we could have stayed longer and hope to return again one day.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy_haddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby A, Front Office Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, your appreciation of the hotel, its decor and ambience. I know Diana will be thrilled to see her name 'in lights' and that we contributed to your husband's birthday celebrations.

Quod's popularity is testament to its quality and atmosphere and we do hope you have a chance to visit us again soon and sample it for yourselves?

Best wishes, Toby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Great location, welcoming reception staff, named parking space, comfortable clean room. Dodgy artwork. Food at breakfast was good apart from the cold toast but the service was paralysingly slow. Also £3.50 for a very small latte was too much

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 739gilesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby A, Front Office Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you were warmly welcomed and you found our recently refurbished rooms to be so comfortable. I am sorry to hear of the uncharacteristically slow service in Quod - I have passed your comments to restaurant management, who offer their apologies.

We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Old Bank, in future?

Kind regards, Toby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

The Old Bank hotel is a great location in Oxford - centrally located, lovely bar and really outstanding restaurant. A local told us it is one of his favorite special dinner places. The hotel is fascinating with different levels and twists and turns. The remodel is excellent especially the bathroom. There are different size rooms so check it out if you want something specific. The hotel is right on the high street with easy walking to many things. It is across the street from University Church of St. Mary the Virgin that is very beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby A, Front Office Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you for your 5 star review - much appreciated. We are delighted you found Quod restaurant to be so enjoyable. The historic nature of the Old Bank does provide plenty of character and we have been careful to preserve its identity, while providing a modern and stylish update.

We look forward to seeing you on another occasion.

Kind regards, Toby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

The Old Bank Hotel is in many ways the ideal place to stay. The hotel is perfectly located for all your Oxford excursions and local trips, the hotel is historic and beautifully restored with exceptional bathroom facilities, and Wi-Fi capability that exceeds anything we saw in Paris or other cities on the "continent". This is "must stay" location for any trip to Oxford!!! The bathrooms are gorgeous and feature both hand-held or overhead shower options.

Room Tip: Our room #36 wad quiet and very comfortable, not to mention the INCREDIBLE bathroom facilities.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clay Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby A, Front Office Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review. Delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your visit to Oxford.

We have received many favourable comments about our redesigned bathrooms - it is gratifying to hear how much these are appreciated.

We hope to see you again?

Kind regards, Toby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

The Old Bank Hotel offers Exceptionally helpful and friendly staff, a convenient location, an excellent restaurant serving from early morning to late at night, and clean comfortable rooms with large and nicely appointed bath. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Oxford.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby A, Front Office Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you very much Ellen. A perfectly concise summary of what makes the Old Bank so popular!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards, Toby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews