We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Parsonage deserving of partronage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Parsonage Hotel
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2017

Stayed here for one night, taking my son for an interview at one of the colleges nearby. The hotel has a lovely, relaxed vibe and is quite boutiquey. Chilled in the library for a bit which also was a really nice part of the hotel. Dinner was really good, both the food and ambiance. Didn't have such a great room (room 1 was a bit noisy and near the restaurant and overlooking the car park), but that was because I booked last minute and needed the room to be a twin. Rooms at the back of the hotel near the library seem the ones to go for. Hopefully - if he gets into Oxford - I'll be coming back here many more times!

Room Tip: Not room 1!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GG1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Front Office Manager at Old Parsonage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your marvellous review!

We are glad you enjoy our lovely library – a quiet retreat! We do have indeed different room categories which may be requested at the time of booking.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

All the best, Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 743 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2017

This place gets rave reviews from many, and in some respects we found that to be well deserved. We booked for one night. The staff were at all times friendly, welcoming and attentive, we loved the fire in the lobby and the decor, the conversion of this old building is sympathetic to its history. Our room had a very comfortable bed, and was warm and quiet. The location is excellent, really handy for central Oxford. Parking on site is available if you're lucky.

However, on the downside, and the reasons for the 3 blob review, we think the owners have tried to cram way too much in whilst still charging a massive premium, almost £400 one night room only. Access to the bedrooms is via the restaurant which I hated both as a guest and as a diner. Dinner was OK but the dining room was crammed with tables, I felt hemmed in, and no room for a drink in the bar. Our bedroom (although an uprated room) was small, there was no bath in the en-suite "bathroom" (but a good shower).

Summary: Disappointing at the price.

Room Tip: Ask for the biggest room you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Front Office Manager at Old Parsonage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and for your constructive feedback.

We are delighted to hear our team looked after you so well. We seek to recruit people who have a genuine passion for hospitality and I’m pleased it shows!

The Old Parsonage has a great location indeed, in the heart of the city centre and amongst all the main attractions. We will always do our very best to reserve a parking space for you ahead of your arrival where requested.

We are sorry to hear you found the room rate expensive, you stayed in a deluxe room with a separate seating area with a very spacious walk-in shower.

Please contact me directly if you wish to discuss further as we’d hope to welcome you back on a future occasion.

All the best, Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

We stayed 1 night. The building is gorgeous, lovely decor, great location and very welcoming staff. However, we found the room to be so small as to be uncomfortable. I would gladly return for lunch or dinner especially in the summer but I don't think I would stay again.

Room Tip: Very small room with minuscule balcony. Don't take large luggage!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thelma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Front Office Manager at Old Parsonage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Dear Thelma,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the hotel décor and our team looked after you so well.

We are sorry to hear you found your room small and uncomfortable, perhaps next time next time we can offer you a higher category that is definitely more spacious and better suited to your needs.

Best Regards,

Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

We spent 3 nights in Oxford at this lovely hotel. Our breakfast was included in our stay and it was wonderful. We stayed at the Old Parsonage after spending 8 nights on a viking cruise and this was our post cruise accommodation. Impeccable service and 24 hr room service. Great restaurant and a nice fire when it is cold. The rooms are very nice with state of the art bathroom facilities. If you have problems going up steps this could be a problem.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nkimperial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Front Office Manager at Old Parsonage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you so much for your fantastic review!
It’s lovely to hear you had a pleasant stay and you found our service impeccable.
We would also like to point out that it is possible to request rooms on our ground floor if required
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
All the best, Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

I was really looking forward to staying in this hotel and while our room was very comfortable I did miss a few simple amenities. There is no lounge unless you count the small area in your bedroom. The hotel is so busy from morning till night with clients for breakfast,afternoon tea ( which looked fantastic though I didn’t partake myself), to dinner that there is no where but your bedroom for you to relax, with a glass of wine or the papers. There is no separate bar. There was no kettle in the bedroom so to make tea you have to ‘pump’ the coffee machine for hot water - and there was no milk either.
On the other hand, the bedroom was very comfortable and the bathroom well designed and equipped. Had the hotel had somewhere I could have escaped to that wasn’t the bedroom I waould have given it a five star rating.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank FamilyofFiveDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Front Office Manager at Old Parsonage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback.
The Old Parsonage Hotel and Parsonage Grill are indeed very popular with residents and locals, and we are therefore very busy at times. We are truly sorry to hear you didn’t have the chance to have a peaceful rest during your stay. Our lovely library is the quietest, most relaxing shared space and is seldom busy. Apologies this was taken up during your stay.
Regarding the kettle in the room, our higher categories of rooms, such as yours provide Nespresso machines which produce hot water at the click of a button for tea, however we are more than happy to provide you with a kettle if it is more suitable for your needs. A jug of fresh milk is always available in our minibar, we are disappointed to hear this was missing on this occasion and we apologise for this.
Thank you so much once again for your constructive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
All the best, Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.9 km away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,226 reviews
0.5 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.9 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
752 reviews
5.5 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
2.9 km away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Parsonage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Parsonage Hotel

Address: 1 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Oxford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: €168 - €421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Parsonage Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked as the best hotel in Oxford, the 17th century Old Parsonage is situated in the heart of this historic city at the end of the beautiful boulevard St Giles. The recently completed restoration combines the original charm and character of the building with the very latest comfort, amenity and technology available today. The Old Parsonage restaurant and bar, famous for its intimate, bohemian, clubby atmosphere, serves classic British food with a modern, light touch. Open every day of the year, breakfast, lunch, dinner and our famous afternoon teas can be enjoyed in the company of Oxford's academic and literary elite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Old Parsonage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Parsonage
Old Parsonage Hotel Oxford, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing