We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Stay in Oxford”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Parsonage Hotel
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel couples historic charm with today’s conveniences. Everything was great about our overnight stay. Inadvertently a passport was left in our room. The front desk collected the passport, hailed a tax, and had the passport delivered to us at Heathrow in 65 minutes. Thank you to the reception staff for efficiently handling this special assignment.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jack N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Front Office Manager at Old Parsonage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Jack,

Thank you so much for your marvellous review.

Our team have been more than happy to assist you and thank you so much for your praise.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Old Parsonage!

All the best, Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017

Arrived into Oxford for a four day conference nearby. I don't think my company could have chosen a nicer hotel. Only drawback, perhaps a little costlier than expected. Maybe peak season in September.

I would recommend this hotel for leisure or business and the food is great.

The building itself is delightful and the name gives it away. Nearby restaurants, bars and short distance from the shops.

Unsure if this hotel is suitable for wheelchair accessibility. They do have WiFi and limited parking and take credit cards.

I would recommend using own taxi number as the hotel cars charge set fare of £10 even though black cabs are charging £4 into the city centre.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jamesaskew1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Front Office Manager at Old Parsonage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear James,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and for your feedback.

The location is definitely one of the most convenient, within the city centre and amongst all the main attractions and historic architecture.

The Old Parsonage does indeed cater to wheelchair users, with accessible deluxe rooms located on our ground floor.

We are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with the local taxi firm recommended, please contact me directly if you wish to discuss further and I will be more than happy to do it.

All the best, Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Beautiful old hotel. Rooms extremely well appointed and very comfortable. Bathrooms to a very high standard and very good nights sleep. Staff very attentive and aware of the guests. Would come here again and the restaurant was good for all meals.

Room Tip: rooms at the side and back are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LDGK90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Front Office Manager at Old Parsonage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

We would like to thank you for your review.

We are really pleased you liked our rooms and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

All the best, Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

To find such a stylish hotel and restaurant in central Oxford is rare.
This is beautifully designed, sumptuously furnished and with a unique vibe.
The restaurant, where we enjoyed lunch was extremely comfortable, relaxed and clubby.
The menu, although a bit limited, was just what we wanted and the service was exceptional.
Definitely somewhere for a return visit.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrewmpbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Front Office Manager at Old Parsonage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Andrew,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review!

It’s really nice to hear you had a nice experience at the Old Parsonage!

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

All the best, Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

We will be checking out soon, just enjoying the last hour or so of our lovely room (32). Having read that the rooms were small, we were a bit apprehensive but were pleasantly surprised as our room is quite spacious. It is quiet, has a very comfortable bed and lovely bathroom.

We had dinner here on Monday evening and were very impressed. Staff throughout the hotel are professional, informative and friendly (important as we have stayed in some hotels where staff are not approachable).

The bar with the open fire (you'd never know it was gas) was fabulous and, again, staff extremely competent and knowledgeable.

Yes, I would thoroughly recommend and would return without hesitation.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 421MaryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Front Office Manager at Old Parsonage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Mary,

Thank you very taking the time to write your fantastic review.

We particularly appreciate your praise for our staff, it’s really important for us our guest to feel at home and our main goal is their satisfaction.

We are delighted you were impressed with the gas fire, it looks a real one indeed!

We really look forward to welcoming you back!

All the best, Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.9 km away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,226 reviews
0.5 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.9 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
752 reviews
5.5 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
2.9 km away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Parsonage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Parsonage Hotel

Address: 1 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Oxford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: €169 - €423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Parsonage Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked as the best hotel in Oxford, the 17th century Old Parsonage is situated in the heart of this historic city at the end of the beautiful boulevard St Giles. The recently completed restoration combines the original charm and character of the building with the very latest comfort, amenity and technology available today. The Old Parsonage restaurant and bar, famous for its intimate, bohemian, clubby atmosphere, serves classic British food with a modern, light touch. Open every day of the year, breakfast, lunch, dinner and our famous afternoon teas can be enjoyed in the company of Oxford's academic and literary elite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Old Parsonage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Parsonage
Old Parsonage Hotel Oxford, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing