We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Parsonage Hotel
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

To find such a stylish hotel and restaurant in central Oxford is rare.
This is beautifully designed, sumptuously furnished and with a unique vibe.
The restaurant, where we enjoyed lunch was extremely comfortable, relaxed and clubby.
The menu, although a bit limited, was just what we wanted and the service was exceptional.
Definitely somewhere for a return visit.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrewmpbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Front Office Manager at Old Parsonage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Andrew,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review!

It’s really nice to hear you had a nice experience at the Old Parsonage!

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

All the best, Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

We will be checking out soon, just enjoying the last hour or so of our lovely room (32). Having read that the rooms were small, we were a bit apprehensive but were pleasantly surprised as our room is quite spacious. It is quiet, has a very comfortable bed and lovely bathroom.

We had dinner here on Monday evening and were very impressed. Staff throughout the hotel are professional, informative and friendly (important as we have stayed in some hotels where staff are not approachable).

The bar with the open fire (you'd never know it was gas) was fabulous and, again, staff extremely competent and knowledgeable.

Yes, I would thoroughly recommend and would return without hesitation.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 421MaryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Front Office Manager at Old Parsonage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Mary,

Thank you very taking the time to write your fantastic review.

We particularly appreciate your praise for our staff, it’s really important for us our guest to feel at home and our main goal is their satisfaction.

We are delighted you were impressed with the gas fire, it looks a real one indeed!

We really look forward to welcoming you back!

All the best, Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Loved our stay, we spent 9 nights at this great hotel, although we had to change rooms in the middle of our stay it was as seamless as it could be, staff are very friendly and professional, very clean although the mattress could be a little softer.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Yama Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Front Office Manager at Old Parsonage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Yama,

Thank you so much for your review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and you found our staff friendly and professional, we try to select always people who have a genuine passion for hospitality. The Parsonage is a lovely boutique hotel and it has 35 rooms, and as its really popular it can get fully booked really quickly for this reason you had to move rooms during your stay. We always suggest our guests whenever they can to book in advance in order to guarantee the same room for all the stay.

We wish to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards, Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

My wife and I visited Oxford for 2 nights to take our son up to Oxford for the first time.

I attempted to book the Old Parsonage for both nights, but unfortunately it was booked for the Saturday evening so we had to have 1 night at The Randolph and 1 night at The Old Parsonage.

The contrast could not be starker - The Randolph, faded grandeur on a large scale with small uninspiring rooms and The Old Parsonage with such wonderful character, fabulous rooms and great service.

Both places are not cheap but the experience at The Old Parsonage was wonderful - and it feels like a really special experience.

Our room had been recently refurbished and had a stunning bathroom, extremely comfortable bed and was very well equipped.

The bar / dining room is really cosy and served a wonderful tasty breakfast.

It will certainly be our first choice to stay in Oxford if we are visiting again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank dewgenenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Front Office Manager at Old Parsonage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

We would like to thank you so much for your marvellous review.

It fills us with joy to hear you had a wonderful experience at the Old Parsonage, we truly appreciate your words and we all look forward to have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the future!

All the best, Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

There is so much to say about this hotel - I made a list and it went on for quite a while. So instead - here are some of the highlights that will stand out in my memory. The beauty of the ivy-covered building - fits right in with the Oxford Colleges around it. The log fire burning in the entry area - all the time! Friendly staff - goes without saying. Modern, comfortable decor in the room - with a small balcony as a bonus. One of the best bathrooms I've experienced in a hotel - overhead shower, feels spacious, and incredibly thick, huge bath sheets. The bed is the "European king" - 2 single mattresses - but still comfortable (unless you like to lie in the middle like I do). I asked for different pillows and they were there when I got back from my sightseeing (I really dislike down pillows). Quiet - no traffic or guest noise! And yet a short walk to the Natural History Museum, and into the city centre itself. I recommend Browns and Carluccios restaurants - a two minute walk tops. I also ate at the hotel restaurant - I'll save that for another review. I could have stayed happily for another month - if I had the time. Four nights wasn't enough. Oops - nearly forgot the Library - a real asset. Not that I had time to read too much but the fact it is there is a huge plus for me. I've probably forgotten something - but this place is worth every penny and I'm so glad I discovered it.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Front Office Manager at Old Parsonage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Dawn,

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience at the Old Parsonage.

The building has stood on the present site since 1660, it has undergone a complete refurbishment recently but it has kept the original features and the door entrance and fire place you mentioned are the original ones.

The location is indeed one of the best, close to reach the main attractions in town but in the same time far from the crowded main roads.

The Library is indeed a real peaceful place to read, relax or enjoy a lovely afternoon tea, we are pleased you like it.

We really look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

All the best, Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.9 km away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,226 reviews
0.5 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.9 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
753 reviews
5.5 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
2.9 km away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Parsonage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Parsonage Hotel

Address: 1 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Oxford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: €169 - €423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Parsonage Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked as the best hotel in Oxford, the 17th century Old Parsonage is situated in the heart of this historic city at the end of the beautiful boulevard St Giles. The recently completed restoration combines the original charm and character of the building with the very latest comfort, amenity and technology available today. The Old Parsonage restaurant and bar, famous for its intimate, bohemian, clubby atmosphere, serves classic British food with a modern, light touch. Open every day of the year, breakfast, lunch, dinner and our famous afternoon teas can be enjoyed in the company of Oxford's academic and literary elite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Old Parsonage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Parsonage
Old Parsonage Hotel Oxford, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing