We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (817)
Filter reviews
817 results
Traveller rating
511
213
59
23
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
511
213
59
23
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister restaurant charming hotel junior suite guest rooms parking space up to date central oxford luxury hotel first floor breakfast and dinner small hotel walk in shower comfortable rooms banbury road reception area reception staff the ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 817 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

We will be checking out soon, just enjoying the last hour or so of our lovely room (32). Having read that the rooms were small, we were a bit apprehensive but were pleasantly surprised as our room is quite spacious. It is quiet, has a very comfortable bed and lovely bathroom.

We had dinner here on Monday evening and were very impressed. Staff throughout the hotel are professional, informative and friendly (important as we have stayed in some hotels where staff are not approachable).

The bar with the open fire (you'd never know it was gas) was fabulous and, again, staff extremely competent and knowledgeable.

Yes, I would thoroughly recommend and would return without hesitation.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 421MaryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Front Office Manager at Old Parsonage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Mary,

Thank you very taking the time to write your fantastic review.

We particularly appreciate your praise for our staff, it’s really important for us our guest to feel at home and our main goal is their satisfaction.

We are delighted you were impressed with the gas fire, it looks a real one indeed!

We really look forward to welcoming you back!

All the best, Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Loved our stay, we spent 9 nights at this great hotel, although we had to change rooms in the middle of our stay it was as seamless as it could be, staff are very friendly and professional, very clean although the mattress could be a little softer.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Yama Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Front Office Manager at Old Parsonage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Yama,

Thank you so much for your review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and you found our staff friendly and professional, we try to select always people who have a genuine passion for hospitality. The Parsonage is a lovely boutique hotel and it has 35 rooms, and as its really popular it can get fully booked really quickly for this reason you had to move rooms during your stay. We always suggest our guests whenever they can to book in advance in order to guarantee the same room for all the stay.

We wish to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards, Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

My wife and I visited Oxford for 2 nights to take our son up to Oxford for the first time.

I attempted to book the Old Parsonage for both nights, but unfortunately it was booked for the Saturday evening so we had to have 1 night at The Randolph and 1 night at The Old Parsonage.

The contrast could not be starker - The Randolph, faded grandeur on a large scale with small uninspiring rooms and The Old Parsonage with such wonderful character, fabulous rooms and great service.

Both places are not cheap but the experience at The Old Parsonage was wonderful - and it feels like a really special experience.

Our room had been recently refurbished and had a stunning bathroom, extremely comfortable bed and was very well equipped.

The bar / dining room is really cosy and served a wonderful tasty breakfast.

It will certainly be our first choice to stay in Oxford if we are visiting again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank dewgenenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Front Office Manager at Old Parsonage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

We would like to thank you so much for your marvellous review.

It fills us with joy to hear you had a wonderful experience at the Old Parsonage, we truly appreciate your words and we all look forward to have the pleasure to welcoming you back in the future!

All the best, Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

There is so much to say about this hotel - I made a list and it went on for quite a while. So instead - here are some of the highlights that will stand out in my memory. The beauty of the ivy-covered building - fits right in with the Oxford Colleges around it. The log fire burning in the entry area - all the time! Friendly staff - goes without saying. Modern, comfortable decor in the room - with a small balcony as a bonus. One of the best bathrooms I've experienced in a hotel - overhead shower, feels spacious, and incredibly thick, huge bath sheets. The bed is the "European king" - 2 single mattresses - but still comfortable (unless you like to lie in the middle like I do). I asked for different pillows and they were there when I got back from my sightseeing (I really dislike down pillows). Quiet - no traffic or guest noise! And yet a short walk to the Natural History Museum, and into the city centre itself. I recommend Browns and Carluccios restaurants - a two minute walk tops. I also ate at the hotel restaurant - I'll save that for another review. I could have stayed happily for another month - if I had the time. Four nights wasn't enough. Oops - nearly forgot the Library - a real asset. Not that I had time to read too much but the fact it is there is a huge plus for me. I've probably forgotten something - but this place is worth every penny and I'm so glad I discovered it.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank dawnmB4452YJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Front Office Manager at Old Parsonage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Dawn,

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience at the Old Parsonage.

The building has stood on the present site since 1660, it has undergone a complete refurbishment recently but it has kept the original features and the door entrance and fire place you mentioned are the original ones.

The location is indeed one of the best, close to reach the main attractions in town but in the same time far from the crowded main roads.

The Library is indeed a real peaceful place to read, relax or enjoy a lovely afternoon tea, we are pleased you like it.

We really look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

All the best, Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Our room was a standard one for the hotel, which was rather small. We had two large pieces of luggage and two hand-carrying items. We found that we had to constantly dodged these while walking around in our room. There were also many narrow staircases that we had to navigate when waking to and from our room. The bathroom floor was heated, which was rather nice. The restaurant was nice for lunch. We especially enjoyed the fish soup. The breakfast menu was somewhat restricted. We literally ran out of choices after three days. This was a reasonably nice hotel but expensive for what one gets.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank YMDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M, Front Office Manager at Old Parsonage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review and for your feedback.

Sorry to hear you weren’t impressed with the Old Parsonage in terms of rooms size and building features, our hotel is 300 years old and it still keeps the original structure that make it one of the most fascinating building of Oxford for most of our visitors.

We are really glad you enjoyed our fish soup and we do apologise if you found the breakfast menu restricted.

We are sorry the experience at the Old Parsonage has not been one of the best for you.

Please contact me directly if you wish to discuss further.

All the best, Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews