We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for quick lunch or tea time treat”

The Alternative Tuck Shop
Ranked #310 of 742 Restaurants in Oxford
Restaurant details
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Popped in for lunch during visit to Oxford. Extremely friendly staff who were charming but up for a bit of banter. One especially really knew how to keep things moving and ensured speedy service for all. Very obvious that he recognised regulars and remembered their orders.
Great selection of fillings - all the usual lunch suspects - but done to high standard and on a selection of great fresh bread. Also huge selection of cakes and buns to round off your meal.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank CaptHaddock83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2018

Always friendly service in here. It's clean and the sandwiches cost less than most places in town. The coffee is nice too. Good place to go for sweet snacks. Watch out for the lunch time rush, there is always a long queue during term time.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank aliali47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

We did not have a lot of time before going to University church of St Mary the Virgin.
It was early afternoon and had a really long line. Shortly after getting in line, we were asked what we wanted and by the time we reached the cashier the sandwich and drinks were ready. Very good food, cheap eats and a local favorite.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Cosy casual dining experience. Plenty of outdoor seating if you don't mind squatting on the street. The fact I was greeted as "young lady" just a few months after my sex change was deeply appreciated!!

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank MixF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

This place is an institution amongst students. They do an incredible selection of sandwiches and the best paninis I have ever had. All at an a very reasonable price. However, they are not open at the weekend and be prepared for a queue at peak lunch time.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Little-baker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Alternative Tuck Shop also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Headington, Oxford
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Alternative Tuck Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing