We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food”
Review of Monsoon

Monsoon
Ranked #357 of 740 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: US$10 - US$38
Description: We are a family-run restaurant, located inside the Chequers Inn at Horspath, offering Indian, Sunday Cavery and will soon serve tradional pub food. We take pride in serving delicious food with quality ingriedents. We do take-away and delivery services seven days a week (including bank holidays). Our high quality food includes specialties such as balti, tandoori and vegetarian dishes.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a family-run restaurant, located inside the Chequers Inn at Horspath, offering Indian, Sunday Cavery and will soon serve tradional pub food. We take pride in serving delicious food with quality ingriedents. We do take-away and delivery services seven days a week (including bank holidays). Our high quality food includes specialties such as balti, tandoori and vegetarian dishes.
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Great fresh Indian food. Went with a group of people and restaurant provided a range of dishes to suit all tastes.
Starters brilliant, fresh and tasty.
Visited this restaurant when it was run by the previous owners and meal was average.
New owners have really improved the menu and food.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank HolidaySeptember2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Visited Monsoon for a meal with a friend, as I do regularly! The food was excellent & the service was very good; attentive, friendly & cheerful. Lovely atmosphere throughout the restaurant & the bar as per usual. Highly recommend to everyone!

Date of visit: December 2016
1  Thank Kiah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Staff are keen to please. The menu is varied and has standard favourites as well as some unusual dishes. We had a very nice evening

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sue0646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

Won't be eating from here again. Shame as I live locally and ordered a delivery. 2 of our dishes didn't arrive, some were completely different to what we ordered. Manager was then called and he asked what He could do to make us happy. Plenty of better locally to the area

Date of visit: October 2016
2  Thank BillJohnson411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Aside from the friendly staff and well presented surroundings with beautiful ethnic touches, the food itself was no less than glorious. We tried the onion bhaji and king prawn patia puri for starters (could carry on eating the prawn puri as the whole meal - it was so good). For mains the mixed grill (loved the tandoori spice) and the absolutely delicious Monsoon special rezalla chicken which is especially great if you like something on the mild side without getting too sweet. I also loved that you could literally taste how fresh the popadums and naan were - much better than all the other Asians.

Also, the restaurant is at the back of the inn so you can enjoy drinks at the bar before heading in for a relaxed meal. Will definitely be visiting again.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank jasvinder k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monsoon also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Monsoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing