We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (678)
Filter reviews
678 results
Traveller rating
252
215
103
64
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
215
103
64
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a quiet residential area small kitchen underfloor heating city centre fridge and microwave minute walk christ church the hotel manager continental breakfast parking space small hotel great room home from home a lovely stay leave the car biscuits park and ride
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 678 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018

The room has a nice size, the bathroom as well, and both are clean. The property is quite central with approximately 10 mins walking to city center. It was a quiet area so we got to rest up. Welcome drinks upon arrival was a nice touch :) A little small for two unfolded suitcases though.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Katja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
review-responder, Manager at Ethos Hotel Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Katja,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Ethos and for taking the time to share your kind words with us. We are happy you enjoyed your welcome drinks and had a good stay. We also love the fact that we are situated in a quiet neighborhood, yet only a ten-minute walk from the city centre. We hope you choose to visit us again in the future. You might want to check out our Executive and Premium Suites, which offer a spacious living environment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Comfortable rooms, lovely breakfast, accommodating staff, free parking. Comfortable beds, great bathrooms, offered a welcome drink. Definitely would stay there again. Booked on Booking.com which was not fully communicative with the hotel but we sorted it out upon arrival.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gfrhode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
review-responder, Manager at Ethos Hotel Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest:

It is lovely for us to read your kind words about our hotel. We are very happy to hear the staff was accommodating and able to sort out any miscommunication that may have resulted from booking.com. Please feel free to book directly with us if you come to Oxford again. We are glad your stay was enjoyable throughout, starting with the welcome drinks all the way through to your room and breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Completely lacking in hygiene and cleanliness. Toilet did not flush properly, dirt on shower wall, loose taps, loose toilet seat, dirty dish cloth in kitchenette, blood stains on pillow, window screwed shut. Manager was indifferent to our complaints. On our second day we asked for our bathroom to be cleaned but it still wasn't. A most unpleasant experience and health risk.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Noelinemw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

It is not cheap to stay in Oxford but if you want a clean hotel with good breakfast and a parking lot, then this is it. Make sure to reserve parking space beforehand! They will, however, charge you extra for that.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elc1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

Lovely hotel, room very spacious and airy. The room was well equipped and bed very comfortable for well needed sleep. Priced reasonably. Staff were friendly and check out was very simple. I had a great stay.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank neild19702018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
review-responder, Manager at Ethos Hotel Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Neil:

Thank you for taking the time to review Ethos. We are very happy you chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed your visit. As you noted, we pride ourselves on our staff making every guest’s stay as pleasant as can be. We hope you choose to return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews