We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Isis Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$125
US$119
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$189
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$220
US$208
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Oxford(Oxford)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$96
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$140
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$126
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel(Oxford)(Great Value!)
US$95
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$356
US$324
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$398
US$369
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
8
26
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
26
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull englishthe ground floorstudent accommodationroom was cleanperfect locationbreakfast was excellenthigh streetreception stafftoiletriesensuitewifibuses
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

We had a twin room with an ensuite on the ground floor. The room was clean, well equipped and certainly large enough for the two of us. The bathroom was a little bit dated but it was all good. All I care about is a good hot shower and that the rest of the plumbing works. A nice touch was the pack of toiletries given to each guest.

The location is excellent and although we could have walked to the high street, we chose to take the bus. Both Iffley and Cowley Roads are well serviced by buses. We saved our legs for the walks around Oxford.

Breakfast was very good and staff attentive. Reception staff were also friendly and helpful recommending nearby places for dinner. The pub down the road on the corner has great fish and chips by the way.

The only suggestion I could make is to put some sort of marking on the bathroom step. I nearly tripped down this a few times as it's dark brown and well camouflaged when there is minimal lighting. Mind you after a couple of trips, you soon learn to step over it.

This was our first time at Oxford and we both loved it. It's on our list for a return visit and hopefully the Isis will be available to book.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Tripper2Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
69Stephen69, Manager at Isis Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Hi
Many thanks for your review, we're so pleased you enjoyed your first visit to Oxford. I've noted your commented ref the step into the ensuite and will speak to our maintenance guys about finding a fix for that. Hope to see you again in Oxford sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

We stayed here for the convenience---short walk to Oxford center, easy bus ride to the train to London, and free parking. The rooms are advertised as student rooms, so you know in advance what to expect. Small very clean standard rooms.
The receptionist was very helpful getting us on WiFi.
Breakfast was white-tablecloth with individual selection from rolls and coffee to full English. Service was prompt and very courteous.
If you want a convenient standard accommodation, this is the right place.

Room Tip: There is no lift.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BobKonecny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
69Stephen69, Manager at Isis Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Many thanks for your kind review. We hope to see you in Oxford again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Stayed 4 nights Monday to Friday. Were welcomed by a friendly young lady on reception, who checked us in efficiently. (She was very helpful in getting me logged onto the Wi-Fi, as the passwords had been changed round).
The room on the first floor (no lift) at the front was spacious, well equipped with drawers/cupboards, and clean. Plenty of tea/coffee, and two welcoming bags of toiletries. The en-suite bathroom was an adequate size, with a good shower over the bath.( Not all rooms are en-suite).
The breakfasts were plentiful, with a choice of basic tea & toast up to the "full English". The young ladies in the breakfast room were efficient, polite & helpful.
To some the building may look a little "dated", but it seemed to have recently had a "lick of paint" inside, which shows you cant judge a book by its cover.
Overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: No lifts, so if travelling with heavy luggage, wouldn"t want a room higher than first floor.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
69Stephen69, Manager at Isis Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Many thanks for your review. it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team looked after you so well. Hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

It's a charming hotel with a very polite personnel. The food is respectably good with a complete typical English breakfast. Nonetheless the rooms are small (especially the twin ones) and the bathrooms are located out of the rooms which is quite inconvenient if you have to go there during the night. Also, the showers are extremely small. In conclusion, it is a nice hotel for a short stay.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank LuZhou666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
69Stephen69, Manager at Isis Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Many thanks for your kind review. We hope you'll consider staying with us again. We can't do much about the size of the rooms we have, but we will of course offer the same generous amount of charm and personal service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

This is my preferred place to stay in Oxford. It's in a quiet area just outside city center, but you can walk to High Street within 5 minutes. It's owned by one of the Oxford colleges, and in the summer they rent the rooms to guests. And unlike many of the college dorm rentals, these rooms are large, bright, and well kept. Each one has a kettle and lots of tea and coffee packets for waking up in the morning.

The staff are always friendly and ready to help. Breakfast is ample, and the servers are always attentive and pleasant. There's a nice pub about 2 minutes' walk away if you are too tired from touring to go very far for supper.

Do be aware, there is no elevator; so if your room is above the ground floor you will need to use stairs to get to it. Also some of the floors can be a bit creaky. But all in all, great value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelloWorld58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
69Stephen69, Manager at Isis Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Many thanks for your kind review. The team work hard to attain ever improving standards and it's always a pleasure to pass on compliments and reviews that show them it's all appreciated. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews