We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (640)
Filter reviews
641 results
Traveller rating
108
152
127
130
124
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
108
152
127
130
124
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster wedding reception wedding breakfast sunday lunch lovely room thames character venue beams
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 641 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018

What a wonderful chance to do something really wonderful with this place. But what a huge disappointment. There is little one can praise here. The towels were dirty, the breakfast terrible. The waiter hanging over us making us feel very uncomfortable as he made it obvious he wanted us up and out. The place is run down and dirty. We had to wait hours for our room although we had arrived after three in the afternoon. Lets hope management bucks up their ideas soon and turn this into something special it certainly has the potential for this to be done.

Stayed: July 2018
5  Thank 1amBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Bad room very noisy no bulb in bedside light asked for another pillow nothing happened barman not very friendly felt like I was taken advantage of I realise when I got there wedding on but we were not important but payed a lot of money

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Caroline_andy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

We, a family of 4 took 2 rooms at the Red Lion. The situation was excellent on the Main Street and just near the Thames. Unfortunately we didn’t realize that the rooms are situated next to the brewery and the smell and general feel was that we were staying in a factory.
The rooms were full of appliances with wires running everywhere which looked a bit unprofessionally finished and the bath leaked water all over the floor. Beds were comfortable but we felt that the finish was lacking. Shame - great potential.

Room Tip: ground floor was a bit noisy and not altogether private..try upstairs
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

I booked afternoon tea for my husband, myself and four friends. When we arrived there was only one other car in the car park. Inside there were no other guests to be seen. We were shown to a room with just one round table in the centre laid up for six people. We had passed a large dining-room with lots of tables in but no people. We were told that they had given us a room to ourselves as there were no tables for six in the dining-room. It seemed very strange and lacked atmosphere.The afternoon tea was ok but nothing to get excited about; the sandwiches were fresh with nice fillings but some cakes were quite dry and the scones probably a day or two old. What a shame that such a lovely looking hotel in such a prime position is not offering a better service; they must be missing out on a lot of potential business. I will not be rushing back.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank BarbaraAnn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Just returned home after a one night stay thank goodness it wasn't any longer the hotel is completely run down the staff very rude terrible breakfast the bathroom was filthy wardrobe door held closed with toilet paper no air conditioning so had to keep windows opened all night and our room was right on the front beside the junction so very noisy all night both the staff at breakfast just stood watching us the whole time tea and coffee cold uncooked eggs worst breakfast ever and at 155 pounds a night a complete disgrace Henley is a beautiful place will definetly go back but not to this hovel stay away at all costs

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews