We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Sunday lunch!”
Review of The Blue Boar

The Blue Boar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A 17th century pub brought back to life with contempary lighting and soft furnishings that bring out the beauty of the original Oxford stone. The front bar holds the key to your welcome with a fully functional wood burner,the stable room restaurant, an original stable with its wooden rafters help you relax and enjoy the Great British menu on offer alongside the fine ales and extensive wine list. The warm welcome by the staff make this a perfect destination for drinks, a quick meal or an excuse to sit and dine in the cosy atmosphere with friends and family
Reviewed 7 February 2018

Great restaurant with a lot of character! Attentive service with a smile from a knowledgable staff. Sunday lunch was very well presented and was one of the best I have had...anywhere! Will be returning!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank philipmontoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 February 2018

Hi Philip,
We believe we serve an amazing Sunday roast and great to hear its appreciated. All the staff take pride in looking after the customers and I will be sure to pass on your great comments.
Many thanks and see you again soon.
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 78 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2018

We ate here almost every night for three weeks while on a film shoot in Chipping Norton. The food is always good and reasonably priced the back room is a great venue for dining and drinking. the staff are very friendly and knowledgable about what they serve.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AliAsad1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 February 2018

Hi Guys.
It was an absolute pleasure looking after you all. Thanks for the kind words and we hope when you are film around the area again you do pop in and say hi.
Regards
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

Called in on spec early on a Friday lunchtime. Pub was quiet and we were served by friendly staff. Decor is beautiful - very contemporary yet retaining a traditional bar area so felt like a proper pub, albeit with lots of tables for eating to one side and towards the rear. We ate in the bar with the sun streaming in through the windows. Nice quality paper napkins, cutlery and condiments were brought before the food. Food came quickly - sandwiches (BLT & fish-finger) with triple cooked chips. Food was good - triple cooked chips truly excellent. The battered fish (not fish fingers) was a little oily but still very good. We shared a treacle tart for pudding with generous portion of clotted cream - delicious.

Bar being L shaped meant staff could not see us so we had to go round to order more drinks and they forgot to bring us a pudding menu - not big issues but easily rectified with a little more attention on their part.

Loved the up-cycled horse-themed toilet roll holders in the Ladies' toilet - along with the handcream. Great touches.

We would certainly return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ukmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 February 2018

Hi ya,
Thanks for the lovely review. Nice to see you appreciated the little touches that we feel make the difference.
Have to agree the chips are amazing.
Kinds regards
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

Visited this restaurant twice whilst on a weekend visit to Chipping Norton. Food was excellent both nights the pies were excellent. Would definitely recommend. The restaurant at the back is very nice. Staff were also very friendly.

Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 January 2018

Hi David,
Thanks so much for this lovely review. Always great to here when customers return on a weekend away. Pleasure to look after you and hope to see you again.
Regards
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

Refurbished just over a year ago the interior is inviting. There’s a big log fire and dogs are welcome. The food is good with a reasonable choice. Personally I don’t like having to add vegetables or salad at an extra price . This way it’s not a meal but more like a dish. £16 becomes £20 or more for a main course. Staff are efficient and polite.

Thank honesthelen2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 January 2018

Hi Helen,

Thanks for choosing to visit the Blue boar we are delighted to here you enjoyed the decor, our big warm inviting log fire and most importantly the food.

We do feel portion size is plentiful here at the Blue and all dishes come with the necessary sides and ingredients to compliment a well thought out dish, the additional sides at at £3 each consisting of Roasted Cauliflower and sweet potato, Avocado and pomegranate salad or braised chicory and hazelnuts are more there to be added as an addition for someone with a bigger appetite and are still a great deal at only £3.

Once again thank you for visiting and for leaving a review.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes

Christian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blue Boar also viewed

Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire
Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire
 
Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire
Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire
 
Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Blue Boar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing