We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“grand retreat let down by amateur service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“grand retreat let down by amateur service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

weekend away with my family... grand entrance, (though not well-signposted) and quirky makeover of the old NatWest conference centre. Quiet room with small window onto nice view of trees. Would not return until they train their staff properly. From the front desk to the restaurant and bar, well-intentioned but awkward, uninformed amateurs. (And my Platinum Priority Club status, which usually means an upgrade and a couple of goodies, got me only a big envelope with a map of the grounds!).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freqstayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for your comments, as a Priority Club member your comments are crucial to us, with this in mind, I'd be grateful if you could call me directly on 01608 673333 to discuss your feedback.
Regards
John Angus
Resort Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    427
    263
    97
    59
See reviews for
232
525
14
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

It was my husband business trip, I just accompanied him. We had a one night stay & i loved this place. It was value for money. Lovely & big room, nice interior. Big bathrooms with bath tub as well as shower panel. The hotel surrounding was really scenic.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PChau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments "Loved It" is why we get up in the morning! I had a smile on my face all the way to work.

The team were all delighted to read your feedback and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Heythrop in the near future.
Thanks
John Angus
Resort Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

The Crowne Plaza is situated in the stunning Heythorp country park estate with a combination of well-maintained grounds and rustic woodland walks complete with deer-squirrels and birds. Being near Chipping norton It is a great base for exploring the surrounding Cotswold villages while being conveniently placed to access bicester shopping-the A43 and of course Silverstone race track!

The hotel is modern and has a luxurious feel. The reception team are efficient, welcoming, helpful and well-informed creating a great first impression which was maintained through-out our stay- an asset to the Crowne plaza group.

Our well equipped room was spacious with contemporary decor and furniture-a fabulous large comfy bed and crisp linen sheets!
A high spec bathroom with a walk-in shower and bath was immaculate- well stocked with complimentary good quality toiletries, fluffy bathrobes and lots of towels. House-keeping was efficient and thorough-a request to replenish our tea-making tray was carried out immediately even though staff were busy cleaning other rooms!
To compliment the quality of the room the view was outstanding & benefitted from a small private outside terrace--I wish the temperature had been higher than minus10 degrees to utilise this lovely space -but hopefully next time.

The modern bar with well priced drinks and bar food menu makes a good alternative to formal dining and is a great place to relax with views overlooking the grounds and golf course-a special mention here for 2 members of staff who were outstanding in their service during our stay-Aj the bar manager-friendly,always smiling-very efficient and displays a real interest in his guest needs and Cameron who not only remembered us from a previous visit last year but also our drinks order!-a great way to make guests feel extra special-thanks

Dining in Brassey restaurant was a real pleasure- a varied menu with well presented good quality food-represented good value for money. Excellent,friendly but efficient staff plus the surroundings made it feel like a special occasion.
A fantastic buffet breakfast-one of the best I have had! with a wide choice of continental and traditional cooked english items-again friendly staff were quick to seat guests -clear tables and replenish serving trays-A great plus if you are in a hurry plus the lovely breakfast kept us feeling satisfied through most of the day.

The facilities available at the hotel- great golf course & club house-seperate modern spa & pool plus grounds for walks & wildelife hunts ensures it is perfectly suited for a wide choice of travellers-families-single groups-young/mature couples. It can be as relaxing or energetic as you wish!
The overall guest experience was exceptional-well organised,efficient, friendly trained staff- stunning location-top quality room and service through-out our stay.
Even when there was a burst pipe due to severe weather conditions staff dealt with the situation with confidence and professionalism despite what must have been a very long and trying day- A credit to the management team!
Having stayed in other hotels in the area previously we felt the plaza represented good value-great service together with a quality product. We are planning to return with other members of the family for a golf/spa stay in summer-can't wait.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
What a wonderful review, as I have said before, these reviews give the team great pleasure!

You'll be delighted to know that Cameron was nominated for Employee of Month, with many great comments including yours.

We all appreciate the time you have taken, as wonderful comments take extra effort and time, we all look forward to welcoming you back to Heythrop, hopefully for the Grand Prix weekend.
Thanks
John Angus
Resort Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts,
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed for two nights over half term with two children in a double double room on the dinner bed and breakfast package.
The sense of arrival is great with access through the grounds of the original Heythrop Park. The Crowne Plaza is very modern and quite contemporary and I could not fault the room.
We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was really excellent. The only slight niggle was that I tried to go off the set menu on to a la carte (for which dbb diners are allowed about £24) and this seemed to confuse the team. Breakfast, similarly very good.
The swimming pool and spa/gym is a 5 minute walk from the Crowne Plaza the other side of the main Heythrop House hotel (we got taken there on the golf buggy by Alan who was very knowledgable and friendly). Again a modern building doubling as the golf club house and with very good facilities. We didn't use the spa or the golf course but looked good.
We walked through the main house a couple of times. It looks impressive from the outside but I could imagine the bedrooms would be a bit tired and dusty (I think it used to be a training centre). I'd say you might be better off in the Crowne Plaza.
Only real downer of the stay was that the fire alarm sounder went off on the second night and woke up the kids. It was a false alarm from fireworks at the end of a function but we still had to traipse downstairs at midnight and the staff seemed a little unsure of what was happening

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJCWAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments, they have been passed onto the team.

Apologies for the Fire Alarm, I do hope it did not cause to much distruption and we all look forward to welcoming your family back to Heythrop in the near future.
Regards
John Angus
Resort Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We went to this hotel for one night as a brief getaway from the city, with our two children. The drive up to the hotel is magnificent countryside. We loved the hike, the pool and leisure centre, the grounds are beautiful - and this is in February. I would love to come back here in the summer and see the place in full bloom, and all the crops in the nearby fields.
We drove to the Cotswolds, an area of outstanding natural beauty, 5 minutes drive fro the hotel. It's very rural.
Staff are all friendly and helpful. Room was new, modern, and really nice. Loved the decor, and the way it was almost a suite, and the really big bathroom. We also liked the numerous couches and comfy seats all over.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CK25774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for your comments, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park.

Why not take advantage of our many family packages on your next visit and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Regards
John Angus
Resort Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 km away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#6 of 7 in Chipping Norton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
29.8 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
36.7 km away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 km away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
14.5 km away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
39.0 km away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford

Property: Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Address: | Heythrop Park Enstone, Chipping Norton OX7 5UF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing