We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great 'camping'with a roof!”

Review of Hesleyside Huts

Hesleyside Huts
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hesleyside Huts
Private and secluded King size bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Hesleyside Huts
Private and secluded
King size bed
small but perfectly formed!
breakfast
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Northumberland National Park, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Dave G
Bulawayo
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“great 'camping'with a roof!”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed in'Bramble' the largest of 3 Shepherds huts. Have to recommend this one for couples as it is in a paddock by itself, also the only one to have 2 'bedrooms' and an attached deck to sit outside. Very compact, may be an idea to take pre prepared or easy to prepare food. Well equiped with large shower, basin and flushing loo in a smallish space. A peaful location.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: location!
Liked least: after 4pm check in.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2015
So glad that you had a great time and thank you for your comments. I'm sorry that you felt that there wasn't enough kitchen equipment. We aim to fit in as much as possible into a tiny camping space, fridge, oven, grill, sink with hot water, plates, knives, forks, plates, bowls, tea pot, salt and pepper, tea, coffee, pans, etc
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I_and_B_B...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Rustic with touches of real class!!”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I spent 2 nights in Bracken hut as part of our 30th wedding anniversary celebrations.
The setting is beautiful - in the Northumberland national park, within a 15 minute drive of Kielder Water.
The huts are beautifully crafted and fitted - the photographs on the website don't lie.
What the photos don't show, however, is the quality of the 'finishing touches' - 'Le Creuset' cookware and 'Feather & Black' duvet for example (the snuggliest I've ever slept under!!).
We toasted marshmallows 'under the light of a thousand stars' to quote Ed Sheeran..altogether an unforgettable experience - definitely to be recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2015
ah thank you - we're so glad you enjoyed yourselves and that you noticed the touches that we think are so very important. Really glad you got a clear night to see the amazing stars too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuberider
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Peaceful perfection. ”
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We (two adults and a 5 year old) booked the Bramble for 5 nights.

If like being close to nature but not actually "in it" then the Hesleyside Huts might be for you.

If you would like to go camping but don't like the thought of being cold, wet, uncomfortable at night, not having a shower or proper toilet handy then the Hesleyside Huts are definitely for you!

Don't assuming the huts are like an outdoor hotel room though. You still need to be able to look after yourself - cook meals in a compact environment with limited utilities, light a wood burner to stave off the chill (in the colder months) etc etc. but compared to actually camping in a tent, even a big posh one the Hesleyside huts are sooo much better.

Comfy proper beds, en-suite shower and proper flushing toilet, running (drinkable) water, [limited] electricity, indoor cooking, pans, plates and cutlery all contribute to making the outdoor experience that bit more enjoyable.

You'll be surrounded by birds and live stock (dozens of lovely lambs in the spring). On a clear night you'll have an incredible star filled sky to gaze at. Lovely walks on your doorstep and plenty of places nearby to visit and activities to enjoy.

All the huts are compact but the Bramble is large enough for two adults and one small child to co-exist for a few days without going crazy even if the weather limits leaving the hut.

Pack light (there isn't much storage for clothing/coats) but appropriate outdoor gear for the time of year and you'll be fine.

If you're after a quiet romantic get-away or a (small) family holiday break with a difference then you should definitely consider booking yourself a hut!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_S_2011
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 14 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed during December (stayed in Bracken) as part of our wedding anniversary celebrations. The Shepherds hut are a pure delight. Beautifully appointed and very cosy even with snow and frost on the ground.

The little treats were a great surprise (marshmallows and a bag of sweets) and everything has been thought about. The pre-ordered breakfast basket was fantastic and amazingly good value. Fruit juice, milk, muesli, croissants, bread, butter, marmalade, bacon sausages and eggs all for £15. Then you get the added joy of cooking it on the wood burner. Fantastic.

The suggested walks around the estate are great and we saw birds of prey and a couple of deer running through the woods.

We went to Kielder Observatory on our first night and witnessed the fantastic dark skies of Kielder on a very clear and starry night. You must try to book an event at the Observatory if you can. The second evening was overcast so we did not manage to get the most from the telescope that was kindly left for us in the hut.

We would thoroughly recommend staying if you can. We hope to return at some point in the not too distant future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing Shepherds Hut
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2014
So glad that you had a lovely stay with the added bonus of a dark starry night - Happy Christmas !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurakane
newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat!”
Reviewed 28 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Just returned from an amazing stay at Hesleyside, the huts are a work of art with all of the amenities for a perfect getaway in the country! The stove and campfire were our favourite - keeping us nice and cosy! Not a bad drive from the North East and surprisingly easy to find (even in pitch black!) The treats on arrival were an added bonus and the tips on getting out about about were particularly helpful. We couldn't reccommend these enough... Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2014
So glad that you had a lovely stay thank you for the feedback and hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$148
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing