We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Red Lion(Newbrough)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Anchor(Haydon Bridge)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$112
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
80
24
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
24
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself catering cottagecomfortable bedhomemade breadset in beautiful countrysidehappily stay againrose and crownhome grown fruitlong weekendthree nightsenjoyed our stayexcellent breakfastwonderful stayon arrivalan overnight stayevening mealhadrian's wallslaley hall
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Was recommended this site by Under Canvas FB group. What a great site! Only one EHU point I could see but we were not paying to use so not a problem. Small and quiet. Only downside was dogs off lead from some other campers/B&B customers so didn't appreciate a dog off lead and out of site from owner sniffing around our tent - not site fault though, just inconsiderate owner.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryehill, Owner at Rye Hill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

I am sorry you were troubled by a dog being off the lead, we do ask that all dogs are kept on leads because of the livestock as well as the well being of other guests who might not apprieciate dogs around. We do in fact have 5 electric hook ups on the campsite. I have not heard of the facebook site you mention, I must have a look at it, thank you for mentioning it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

Stayed for three nights and was looked after very well. Clean, comfortable room with all usual facilities inc free wi-fi. Good bathroom. Breakfast was excellent with home grown fruits, home made bread and fresh eggs from their own hens. Elizabeth couldn't be more attentive. This is a working farm so don't expect interaction with animals although there are plenty of sheep to look at as you drive in and out!
Cannot recommend this b&b highly enough, good value too.
I would also recommend the nearby Rose & Crown for dinner. A community pub with really good food at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vintageATCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryehill, Owner at Rye Hill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Thank you for such a glowing review we do try to do our best for guests! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and will be able to return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Just a few miles away from Hexham, this well-run B & B was both welcoming and peaceful despite the weather. My first storey room was clean and comfortable with a hot shower/bath, fluffy towels and a comfortable bed. Tea and coffee, TV and free WiFi were provided.
Breakfast was substantial, with fruit from Elizabeth's own garden and fresh eggs from her own hens. The fried bread was outstanding!

Room Tip: First floor rooms are accessed by steep stairs, so age or disability could be a problem.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RosalindLoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryehill, Owner at Rye Hill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

I am a bit of a traditionalist as far as food is concerned and enjoy producing things from the raw product especially if I have managed to grow it myself!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

Rooms and bath small but well appointed, very clean, good breakfast. Peaceful and quiet. Gardens spectacular. Disappointed with limited interaction with animals-was expecting more of a farm experience.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank jzberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryehill, Owner at Rye Hill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Sorry you were not able to have more interaction with our farm livestock but at this time of year the sheep are all out in the fields grazing as you could see from the drive way into the farm. You were able to bottle feed the one pet lamb we still have beeing hand fed at the moment buut even Belle will soon be out in the field with others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

Mrs Courage was a very welcoming host, who looked after our American cousins exceptionally well. They were highly impressed by the location and facilities & enjoyed a hearty breakfast to boot. Unfortunately we weren't able to stay with them - and even then Mrs C assisted by suggesting a couple of alternative nearby places with good accommodation to stay in. As well as giving advice as to best places to fulfill Sean's bucket list wish of seeing Hadrian's Wall. Thank you from them, and we'll be looking to stay here on another occasion.

Room Tip: Good sized en-suite room with facilities to make the weary traveler nice and comfortable.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryehill, Owner at Rye Hill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

So glad to hear that your trip to Northumberland was such a sucess and we look forward to a return trip there is so much to see on Hadrians Wall and all the forts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews