We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
87
25
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
25
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self catering cottage homemade bread comfortable bed set in beautiful countryside happily stay again home cooked home grown fruit long weekend three nights enjoyed our stay excellent breakfast a lovely stay excellent location next morning short drive night stay evening meal
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Just a few miles away from Hexham, this well-run B & B was both welcoming and peaceful despite the weather. My first storey room was clean and comfortable with a hot shower/bath, fluffy towels and a comfortable bed. Tea and coffee, TV and free WiFi were provided.
Breakfast was substantial, with fruit from Elizabeth's own garden and fresh eggs from her own hens. The fried bread was outstanding!

Room tip: First floor rooms are accessed by steep stairs, so age or disability could be a problem.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RosalindLoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryehill, Owner at Rye Hill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

I am a bit of a traditionalist as far as food is concerned and enjoy producing things from the raw product especially if I have managed to grow it myself!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

Rooms and bath small but well appointed, very clean, good breakfast. Peaceful and quiet. Gardens spectacular. Disappointed with limited interaction with animals-was expecting more of a farm experience.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank jzberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryehill, Owner at Rye Hill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Sorry you were not able to have more interaction with our farm livestock but at this time of year the sheep are all out in the fields grazing as you could see from the drive way into the farm. You were able to bottle feed the one pet lamb we still have beeing hand fed at the moment buut even Belle will soon be out in the field with others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

Mrs Courage was a very welcoming host, who looked after our American cousins exceptionally well. They were highly impressed by the location and facilities & enjoyed a hearty breakfast to boot. Unfortunately we weren't able to stay with them - and even then Mrs C assisted by suggesting a couple of alternative nearby places with good accommodation to stay in. As well as giving advice as to best places to fulfill Sean's bucket list wish of seeing Hadrian's Wall. Thank you from them, and we'll be looking to stay here on another occasion.

Room tip: Good sized en-suite room with facilities to make the weary traveler nice and comfortable.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryehill, Owner at Rye Hill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

So glad to hear that your trip to Northumberland was such a sucess and we look forward to a return trip there is so much to see on Hadrians Wall and all the forts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

The farm is lovely and so are the people that run it, they are happy to help with anything. The breakfast was really nice with proper thick bacon and you could have whatever you wanted. The room was lovely, very clean and fresh. We would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to anyone. There is a pub called the Rose and Crown about a mile away, nice food reasonable prices and it is community owned so would appreciate the support of the tourists- A bottle of wine £14 very good for a pub. Vindolanda and Housteads roman fort and Hadrians wall easily accessible from Rye Hill farm.

Room tip: I would imagine all rooms are quiet as it is on the farm
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goonerrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryehill, Owner at Rye Hill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Thank you for your kind review.

Not only do we have the Rose and Crown pub in the village we also have the Traveller's Rest pub just below us, both very good and slightly different from each other.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Approx. 5 miles from Hexham in the hamlet of Slaley this is a lovely spot for cottage, guest house, camping. I spent two nights as a guest and wished my stay could have been longer.
My room was tastefully furnished with everything necessary to hand. The bed (double) was comfortable. The shower and toiletries were of a high standard. The whole premises were clean throughout. There was an extensive quantity of literature about the area and its attractions.
The breakfast room has a pleasant prospect onto a garden area. The cooking was to a good standard.

All in all I would recommend this guest house to anyone who values a friendly welcome and peaceful surroundings. I extend every credit to the owners.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryehill, Owner at Rye Hill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

What a lovely review, thank you and I do hope you will be able to make a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews